We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is good only if you do scuba diving in it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MUSA (Museo Subacuatico de Arte)

MUSA (Museo Subacuatico de Arte)
Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 15.3 Hotel Zone, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
+52 998 848 8312
Website
Improve this listing
Visit MUSA (Museo Subacuatico de Arte) like an insider
Top Rated
$81*
and up
Cancun 2-Tank Reef or Wreck Dive
Ranked #15 of 46 things to do in Isla Mujeres
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: MUSA ( The Underwater Museum of Art) is an underwater museum located in the National Marine Park surrounding the Cancun, Isla Mujeres, and Punta Nizuc area. MUSA contains over 500 sculptures of more than six different artists. The sculptures provide areas for coral growth and contribute to give shelter for fish and other organisms. The museum may be viewed by diving, snorkeling, or glass bottom boat through many local authorized marinas."The Art of Conservation" is the reason this Non Profit Organization was created with an effort of the Mexican Federal Government and Cancun Nautical Association. MUSA continues to grow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“It is good only if you do scuba diving in it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

The statues inside, the fish that come to greet you when you feed them and the coral reefs and the enormous amount of live thriving in it were part of our amazing experience in this place. You must scuba dive in it to have a more aquatic experience and feel like a fish. It was simply awesome!

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    73
    45
    17
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

This is a beautiful museum to see. Middle of the ocean, bunch of figureens at the bottom of the sea. I did Snorkeling and got the view from the top but if you have time, I strongly recommend scuba diving to enjoy the real beautyl

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovley and cool place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

A very nice place for scuba diving or snorkelling, it is interesting to se how the coral and other growth have manifested on the statues.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringoes, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

The sculpture are interesting but for snorkeling you can't see them that well. I think it would be awsome for scuba diving.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“how could snorkeling be "not good"?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We took a guided tour to the lighthouse, a reef, and finally the MUSA. They guys fed the fish and HUNDREDS came from no where. We saw all different kinds of fish as well as a ray and a turtle near the MUSA. The water is totally clear enough to see what you want snorkeling. Fish and corral were all over and around the statues. We had 7 in our party including 3 kids. We all loved it. Great stuff!

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MUSA (Museo Subacuatico de Arte) also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to MUSA (Museo Subacuatico de Arte)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MUSA (Museo Subacuatico de Arte), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.