We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cool Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Dulche's Museum

Captain Dulche's Museum
Carretera a Garrafon Km 4.5, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
998 8497589
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Attractions in Isla Mujeres
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Isla Mujeres Museum Capitan Dulche.This Museum is dedicated in loving memory of Captain Ernesto Dulche Escalante, founder or the 5th Naval Region (Isla Mujeres). Captain Dulche´s Maritime Museum treasures a big part of Isla Mujeres history, this is documented in a great photo collection of over 150 that have never been seen before. The Museum also contains an excellent collection of anchors, buoys, chains and lanterns, maritime tools and two projection rooms, showing one video of the famous mexican diver Ramon Bravo and the even more famous Jacques Cousteau. It also has the largest collection of model ships and metates in the whole mexican caribbean.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very Cool Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This place was definately worth a peek. It is visually stunning with that great big ship/bar. It has an actual lawn leading up to the deck and beach.

The drinks were good, well priced and very creative. The beach chairs and palapas were very pretty and they have some that are screened from the back so they feel really secluded. The beach is pretty to look at, but only one draw-back that I noticed was that the sand under the water feels a little "mucky."

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    96
    16
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Plain, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

food was good, prices were a little high, but its worth it for the views, very very clean!! Waitstaff had a language barrier with english, but hey were in Mexico!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great beach and bar - Friendly Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great facility! We did not get a chance to go to the museum, but greatly enjoyed the beach and bar during our visit. The beach was peaceful with beautiful views, and nice umbrellas and chairs, which was perfect for a relaxing morning. The staff was great and did not put on full court pressure to purchase items when we told them "not yet." Later in the day we made our way to the bar and met very friendly bartenders who made delicious, strong Miami Vices! We had a very pleasant day, and I would recommend some time at Captain Dulce's to anyone visiting the island. It is an asset to Isla Mujeres!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This place should be at the top of your list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Beautiful tucked away beach. Makes you feel like you have your own private island. Great bar and restaurant as well - fish tacos were the best I had on the island. Beautiful parrots. Excellent facility overall. Must try!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodworth, Louisiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

There was nothing going on when we went there during the middle of the day. We sat at bar and ordered drink but the place was deserted. Nobody on beach or anything.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Dulche's Museum also viewed

 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Captain Dulche's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Dulche's Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.