We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and delicious!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kash Keken Chuc

Kash Keken Chuc
Caretera a el Garrafon, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
9982740107
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 147 restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
SC
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“cheap and delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Those two words are not great together when is about food? This little place was a nice discovery for us. When I saw the locals stopping there for eating, my conclusion was that it must be good. The food is very simple and plain, but it is tasty. If you are in a very casual plan, just returning back from the beach or too lazy to cook, I think this is the perfect food. Everybody in this little restaurant is very nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    67
    22
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“It Was Just Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Over the many years we’ve been going to Isla we’ve driven by this place countless times and the wonderful smells coming from there would drive us crazy. Finally this time we were staying in a place that had a kitchen, so we stopped to get some take-out chicken with all the fixings to have for lunch later. Unfortunately the chicken did not live up to the enticing aromas. It was dry and tough and honestly, I can get better take out BBQ chicken from my local supermarket at home. Maybe we went too early and got the reheated left-overs from the day before, or maybe you have to eat it right there to get the full benefit, but we were totally underwhelmed.

The people running the place are very nice, the prices are more than fair, and maybe the ribs and pork are winners, but the chicken left much to be desired. Aside from the nice charcoal flavor, it had nothing to recommend it. It was disappointing because we really wanted to like this place and were looking forward to finally trying it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“tiny place - awesome chicken - a must eat place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

found this place by accident, driving by on the golf cart and had to stop. the smell was intoxicating. staff extremely friendly and polite. this is a place the locals eat at. its inexpensive, we got two half chicken combos with soft drinks for 160 pesos. many tourists slowed down while passing but not convinced by the tiny restaurant. this place is a real gem.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“REAL comida casera!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Generous portions of meat, perfectly seasoned and grilled . . . nothing but genuine Mexican hospitality! Loved the experience both in house and take away (sides were all packaged in little bags!) Inexpensive and tasty!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delicious chicken, poc chuc and tamales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

So good and so inexpensive. We often take home to our apartment and have a meal and then leftovers for another day. Generous portionsl. This year we went one night and got tamales which were very good. It is great when a place like this is within walking distance of where you are staying.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kash Keken Chuc also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Kash Keken Chuc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kash Keken Chuc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.