We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people watching and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Terraza

La Terraza
2256 Murfreesboro Pike | Nashville, Isla Mujeres 37217, Mexico
(615) 365-9979
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 167 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Mexican bar and grill.
Minnesota, USA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice people watching and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We wanted to grab a quick dinner while we were downtown, and hadn't tried this restaurant yet, so we made it our choice. It is on an upper level under a palapa and open-air, so there is wonderful people watching from up there. My son had the chicken flautas and they were good - and lots of them. He has a large appetite and was full. I had plantains stuffed with cheese - a local specialty I have not tried before, as I have not seen it offered in the restaurants. It was good, and very filling. We had good service, the food was good, and the prices were very reasonable, and we enjoyed people watching. We didn't stay late, but they have live music and dancing most nights after 9PM. The only negative was the bartender (right across from our table) smoking cigarettes right at the bar. The island has a no-smoking indoors policy now and it is rare that we are bothered with smoke during dinner. It was sad to be bothered by it from an employee. I would have rated them excellent had it not been for that.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    32
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Lured me in for a whole week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

While walking by this place, I heard a Latin jazz/techno fusion version of "Riders on the Storm" coming from this bar. As a huge Morrison fan, I stopped in my tracks on Hildalgo and my boyfriend and I made a beeline to the first open table we could find and were hook on La Terraza from that day!!! The first artist we heard was local performer Jesus Campuzano....who covered "Riders" magnificently, but then BLEW US AWAY with his composed music!!! He has talent like I've never seen!!!!!

We ended up at La Terraza EVERY night we were on the island because the live music that is blaring from this place night after night is like a siren that lures you in and you just can't get enough!!! We heard live music from bands that played a huge variety of music: Cuban, Salsa, Reggae ska, etc...

The music is great and even though the dance floor is small, everyone makes it work. We saw some impressive dancing at this place. The whole place just has a cool, chill vibe that is great to be a part of.

The coconut mojitos are killer. A must have.

Sadly, we were always showing up late in the evening for the music and didn't ever eat here. :( NEXT TIME!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The bands that play here are awesome. Great, fun spot to meet people, listen to live music, enjoy bar food. Recommend as a post dinner spot.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Salsa night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We went here last night and had a awesome time. I got a local girl to dance with me a show me the steps. Lots of fun, will go back again. Different types of music on each night. I really enjoyed the ginger margaritas

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Live music and good people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I went to la Terraza almost every night of my trip. Live music, good drinks, good food and good people. If you head that way give Mario a hug for me. Go meet people, dance, laugh and have a good time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terraza also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Terraza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terraza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.