We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minino's Cocteleria

Minino's Cocteleria
Av. Rueda Medina | Next door to Velazquez, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 152 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

If it were not for some Isla Mujeres regulars that know the island like the back of their hand, we would not have ever thought to eat here. It's in a prime location, right by the ferry dock and right on the beach. The first impression of the building is that it's a little run down, maybe a little scary. The staff was so sweet, and the food was delicious. We choose the table right in the sand where the waves touch the beach. It what you imagine when your in a small island town. Open air seating, right in the sand. While dining there, the fish boats were coming in with their fresh fish of the day. We got to see the fisherman filleting and cleaning the fresh fish right in front of us. Those fish were then sent to the restaurant and were cooked to perfection for our dinner! Now that is fresh fish! Would highly recommend this restaurant and when we are back in Isla we will for sure stop by again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    66
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood straight from the ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Minino's is an open air beach restaurant where the seafood couldn't be fresher. Our party had conch, seafood fajitas (calamari, octopus and fish) and red snapper in a Veracruz sauce. Plus chips and excellent guacamole (so good we got more). My friend fulfilled his dream of have a drink served in a coconut and the beer selection pleased our beer drinkers. Definitely worth a stop if you need a break from diving, shopping and touring the lovely Isla Mujeres.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Ceviche with your feet in the sand...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Ate lunch here 7 out of the 9 days in Isla Mujeres. The ceviche, the chips n' salsa, guacamole, shrimp tacos, whole cooked fish, the "back to life" soup are all delicious! It's nothing fancy but who cares... The little guys playing the wooden xylophone only add to the atmosphere. This place is a must while on the island :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien,Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“very fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

w usually don't eat downtown, but when a pregnant Mexican woman tells you she wants fish you go where she tells you. Minino served extremely fresh ceviche mixo, fish tacos and grilled fish all that were wonderful. The service was friendly and quick. We will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“The best fish i ever eat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This is spectacular. I appreciate their style, no so luxury, not so interresting for the turist as a place.its the second time when i come back here. If i come in Isla Mujeres and i dont eat there isnt a splendid trip. First time 2 years ago we was with 2 friends that was before at Minino and knew about it. So first time we was affraid to eat there, plastic red and table, with the foot in the sand?? nothing so develop!! Its was fantastic! It is fantastic!!is a traditional location, nice music, fresh food. I eat the best red snapper fish ever! Its a fisherman there prepare the food very tasty. They give you for free tacos and spicy tomate salade! I drink normal Magarita and they give you a big big cup!!Every time when i come back at home i think at this place. For myself and my friends is a special place, special waiters, special food! Is the best way to finalise the trip in Isla MuJeres!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minino's Cocteleria also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Minino's Cocteleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minino's Cocteleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.