We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Coco Resort

Save Saved
You added Villas Coco Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villas Coco Resort
2.5 of 5 Villa   |   SM 009 M 053 L 03 Carretera Garrafon, Fracc. Del Sureste | Granada 10-B SM 2 A Cancun, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly Villas Coco Paraiso All Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at Cocos for 5 nights and for us it was a great experience. The staff were friendly and helpful and the property is out of the way and very quiet. View from the roof was great, hammock on the room balcony was relaxing also. There's not a lot within walking distance and It is out of the way a little so keep this in mind unless this is what you're looking for. We rented a scooter for the time we were there so we could get into town and check out the rest of the island easily. This was ideal for us to see what we wanted and also have a peaceful time on Isla Mujeres. The beach club was nice, calm and secluded also. First impressions driving down the rocky road were worrying but it all turned out great. Check out Oscar's for some good pizza too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    3
    3
    7
See reviews for
4
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My two girlfriends and I were very excited to stay here. Our booking stated it was a 4star suite with a jacuzzi and balcony.
We were extremely disappointed with the truth.
First of all, no one was at the residence to greet us. We walked around the small property looking for someone, anyone to let us in! We arrived at 3pm and ended up waiting for 30 minutes until a disgruntled employee arrived. He never said that he was sorry or apologized for our delay. He showed us to our tiny room that we had booked for 3 people. It had one bed and he told us that he would need to charge us $30USD for a pullout cot that he would need to order. The room did not have a jacuzzi. There was no wifi in the room.
The hotel location itself is less than ideal. It is at the far end of the island, off a gravel road, basically in the middle of nowhere. Top it off, it is a ten minute walk to the beach. Not a very nice beach I might add. Breakfast was a joke - cheap bread, cheap coffee and some fruit.
My biggest grievance though is the staff. They were rude, and acted as if we were interrupting them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My fiance & I stayed here after travelling around the Yucatan for a couple of weeks. It was a gorgeous hotel... when we first got there I was a bit wary because it was down a gravel road, but it's just out of the main busy part of Isla Mujeres which is amazing for relaxation. Room was great... we felt spoiled! Giant comfortable bed, mini fridge (with drinks) and microwave, awesome bathrooom with an amazing jacuzzi... balcony had a hammock which was super nice to nap in, at night the geckos come out and you can see so many stars... the golf cart did not take us all the way to town, but it brought us to a beach club a cpl of times with real good food and a nice, empty beach that we got to enjoy totally to ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange City, Iowa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We spent three nights at Villas Coco Paraiso, and really enjoyed ourselves. The staff is friendly though not as attentive as some other places. The grounds are gorgeous and well kept and if you're traveling in the off season you could be the only people staying here. We were the only inhabitants of this hotel for the first two nights we spent there. The area is very secluded, so if you're the type who likes peace and quiet while you relax by the pool or on the beach, this is the place for you. Twice a day the staff will provide you with a ride down to the beach club where you can get a discount at the bar and restaurant through this hotel. All in all, a great place, but a little too quiet for our tastes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Had planned a nice 4 days visit to isla mujeres after a week in Tulum before going back to Europe. The reviews we'd read were more or less very positive and the pictures of the hotel, as well as the location, a few kilometers away from the crowded north beach felt attractive. When we got to the hotel we realized rather quickly that the reviews must have been written by the hotel staff them selves to get more customers.
The hotel is situated at the end of a gravel road where you pass stray dogs and piles of garbage. The staff were not very keen on making a good impression, felt like facebook was more important than actually welcoming the customers. The rooms were quite big, i can give them that, but the storage rooms were absurd. Who needs 20 drawers and 10 various sized closets when you are on vacation? There was no wifi in the rooms, only at the dining area close to the reception. The breakfast was a joke. Looked like a 5-year old kid had sliced some fruit and put it on a plate, put half a spoon of instant coffee in a cup of hot water, and bought the cheapest bread at the supermarket and served it with strawberry jam. Don't expect to get fresh juice although you are in a country where you can get the freshest fruit. No, instead you get the most orange orange juice you've ever seen, straight out of a plastic bottle where you still can feel the wonderful taste of preservatives.

The pool was nice looking (ie the design), of course it's not situated in the sun so you don't have to worry that you might wan't to use it (if you do have one of the three sunbeds) cause I don't think they clean it more than once... or maybe twice a year.

Changed hotel after two nights, should have done it earlier. There are wonderful options on the other side of the main road with views over the ocean, friendly staff and good food and to a far better price than villas coco paraiso.

I warned you!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ste. Rose du Lac, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Ok all it’s Mexico first off......this is a great secret .... real nice rooms and grounds, staff are there to help.
Room clean and made up daily, very private and quite. Been to the Island a lot as this a bit far from town...but worth the trip
for what you get ..... stayed 13 days here..............great deal..........will go back.........
Say hi to Vanessa real great help.........

Wolfgang

Room Tip: Rent a cart....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We just returned, 3/7 - 3/14 from our trip. This is our 7th trip to Mexico and first the the Isla. The hotel was exactly as described with spacious rooms a large bed and lots of storage for your clothes. We had read several reviews compaining about the hot water but we had no issues at all. We were in room 205 on the second floor. The balcony was very nice and you can see the Caribean Sea and a beutiful sun rise every morning. You will find a hamock in one of the drawers and there are ropes on the balcony to hand it. The pool is very nice. The beach club is about a 5 minute golf cart ride, which is provided by the hotel. This was our favorite place as we would get up early and get there before 9:00 AM. We had the entire beach to ourselves for over an hour every day. The beach is free. They make their money selling drinks and food. We would stay there all day and spend about $40.00 on drinks and lunch. They make very good pizza and on the weekends they have a babecue on the deck which was very good.
Only go to this end of the isla if you want to get away from it all. We stayed within 10 minutes walking of the hotel the entire week except for going to the grocery store which is a 10 minute taxi ride, $10 round trip and the taxi waits on you while you shop. This was by far the most relaxing trip we have ever taken. Three different nights we ate dinner at Marias Kin Kan and watched the sun set as we ate. We were the only couple at the resterant each of these nights and the food is excellent. Get the fish it is Black Grouper which is caught locally daily. I don't know if we will ever stay all inclusive again. Not one time did we get hearded into a buffet line to fight with the big crowd or stand in line to make a reservation for a specialty resterant. Overall the hotel was great and the isla was better.

Room Tip: Better view from second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villas Coco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Coco Resort

Address: SM 009 M 053 L 03 Carretera Garrafon, Fracc. Del Sureste | Granada 10-B SM 2 A Cancun, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly Villas Coco Paraiso All Suites)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Specialty lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villas Coco Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villas Coco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Coco Paraiso All Hotel Isla Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Coco Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.