We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, yummy, great people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barlito

Barlito
At Marina Paraiso | Avenue Rueda Medina Prolongacion Aeropuerto No.49, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
+52 998 877 0252
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 152 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: Seafood, Eclectic, Healthy, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
Description: Barlito Marino Paraiso offers daily outdoor dining with fresh made to order entrees highlighting the incredible fresh produce, locally caught fish & meats of the Yucatan with our wonderful homemade baked goods. An incredible setting on the bay with tree covered dining areas, beautiful views & lots of natural wildlife. Our menu options include homemade bagels, salads, nachos, pizzas, fun fresh fish entrees like our famous stuffed grouper roll as well as some classics like fish n chips, fajitas & pasta. Lots of vegetarian options as well as some gluten free options. Open daily at Marina Paraiso, breakfast,lunch & dinner from 8am to 9:30pm.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful, yummy, great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

One of the best on the island. The food was to die for. I almost walked from one side of the island to get some cinnamon rolls, delicious!!!! We had paninis for lunch, chicken and sun dried tomato, yum. Coleslaw was yummy. Coffee to go, yes!!! The staff is what makes the place though. All of the wait staff were soooo nice and greeted you with smiles. So helpful and friendly. Did I say friendly???? VERY!! I was lucky to meet the owner, Tiffany, and her children. Tiffany is the sweetest of people. We enjoyed our conversations with her. Can't wait to go back in July. I'm taking my daughter, who will LOVE the cinnamon rolls. Don't miss out! Go to Barlito! You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany-WolrabRoil, Owner at Barlito, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
It was so wonderful meeting you!! Thank you for taking the time to post a review for Barlito! We are so glad you enjoyed your meals with us. We have some serious playmates for your daughter on your next visit, By then, we will have Club Islenos open. The kids can swim & play all day long! We really appreciate your support & look forward to seeing you this summer!

Fondly,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    79
    27
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great place to spend the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

In the two months that we spent on Isla this year, we went to Barlitos several times and were always very satisfied. There new location is beautiful. We usually got there mid morning and had lunch and used the pool for a few hours. The wait staff is very nice and of course the food is great. We tried many things, from breakfast bagels to nachos, burgers, salads and a stuffed chicken breast that was so good. Brad and Tiffany are wonderful hosts and we wish them well in their new endeavors.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany-WolrabRoil, Owner at Barlito, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We so appreciate you taking the time to post a review for Barlito Marina Paraiso. We are really glad that over your two months on the Island that you enjoyed your time & meals with us.

By the time you come back, we will have some great changes! Next month, we are opening up a new pool, bar & grill area called Club Islenos on the North side of our property. This pool will be for visitors & locals. (Our infinity pool will be for our guests only.) There will be no minimum for food & beverage only a $20 peso (kids) or $40 peso (adults) entrance fee to swim & hang out. The menu at Club Islenos will have ceviche, burgers, quasadillas, nachos, hot dogs & snacks. You can also eat in the upper deck or lower deck dining areas with the Barlito menu.

We will also have added new menu items by your next visit on our Barlito menus. Our executive chef & our chefs have been having fun introducing new specials for everyone to try to see which ones will be on our menu.

We thank you again for your review & for supporting us in our new adventure! We look forward to your next visit!

My best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“everything bagels gives you everything :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Everything Bagels toasted with butter and cream chesse with a hot cup of coffee is my way of saying good morning to me:-) this is the best bagel this side of New York
Brad you are an outstanding baker.
Fresh homemade bread,cinnamon rolls :-) so yummy!:-)
Tiffany and Brad you have done a fantastic job in such a short time.
The staff the restaurant,marina,hotel:-)
Can't wait to see whats next!
Thanks for taking care of the locals

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany-WolrabRoil, Owner at Barlito, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for Barlito Marina Paraiso! We so appreciate the support of those that live on the Island & have been with us from the beginning on Hidalgo & now at Marina Paraiso. It really means the world to us.

We too love our bagels. Having grown up in NY & being spoiled with a bagelry around the corner from my house, I was deprived of homemade bagels for 6 of my 12 years here. Finally, I talked Brad into baking them. Which quickly he realized they were a labor of love, they are very time consuming. No wonder no one else makes them on the Island!! What really makes our everything memorable is that they are seeded on both sides. You do not get ripped off if you share a bagel!!! That was always one of my pet peeves....an everything side & a plain side. Do you eat the seeded side first or save the best for last? Now you don't have to worry about that!!

We don't have our bagels on our dinner menu but we do serve bagel chips with our spinach artichoke dip, our chorizo chipotle dip & our bruschetta. The crunch of the bagel chip is a great alternative to a tortilla chip!

We thank you again for your continued patronage & posting a review for us! We look forward to your next visit!

My best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla/Madison
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stopped in on a recent rainy Sunday, and it was not busy, so we had great attention from our server, Danny Reyes...an amiable young man with some good stories who also aimed to fulfill, with pleasure, our dining experience. We had yummy guacamole and bagel chips...tasty...and a generous side salad. The 3 of us shared a Pesto y Tomate Pizza, 135P, with added caramelized onions...Excellent! For the price, it was very generous, enough to take extra home with us. We all agreed it was probably the best pizza we've had on the island, and will look forward when 'home delivery' can be added.
On another occasion, my husband & I had bagels, and the Greek Salad--wonderful! Brad and Tiffany are so friendly and attentive; we love the outdoor setting and ambience. Fun place! Look forward to the additional changes coming; always a pleasure to stop in.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany-WolrabRoil, Owner at Barlito, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Rain tends to scare people off on Isla. At least at Marina Paraiso, Barlito doesn't have the flooding we had downtown. That was a nightmare during the rainy season!!

Thank you for stopping by on a dreary day & posting a review about your experience on TA. We are so glad you enjoyed your meal. Brad spent many years perfecting his dough recipes for bagels, bread, cinnamon rolls & pizza There is no better way to use day old bagels then bagel chips! We are so spoiled with bagels baked fresh that when they are yesterdays we make chips. They are a great alternative to tortilla chips if you want something crunchy with guac or one of our other appetizer dips, spinach artichoke, brushetta or chipotle chorizo. The different kinds of bagels: everything, sesame, onion, garlic, plain & cheddar make chips even more tasty. When we were on Hidalgo, we had breakfast pizza & catered with pizza but kept pizzas off our lunch menu because of our old neighbor, Tropical Pomodoro. Now that we are out of town, on our own, we are thrilled to have our pizza back on the menu. We too think it the best pizza on Isla.

We so appreciate you following us to our new location. We just love the bigger kitchen with our bakery in the same location, the outside deck seating, the palapa bar, the views & the birds chirping. We obviously had to expand our staff, we inherited some & hired some new, like Danny. Now that the craziness of high season is over, we look forward to the next 5 months of getting familiar in our new surrounding with our great Barlito Marina Paraiso Team. We thank you again for taking the time to post a review for us & look forward to having you back for rmany more visits!

Fondly,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and service but food just so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Had pretty high expectations for this place since it's in the number 1 spot on tripadvisor. We went around evening. The place is quite nice, situated outdoors close to a pool for Marina Paraiso Hotel. There were iguanas lounging around and a bar down close to the marina you could sit at. They had live music while we were there. Staff were friendly and prompt.

The real let-down of the place was the food. I ordered the Carribean shrimp and my husband the paradise burger. We were informed that the menu was new so perhaps they are still trying out. When the shrimp arrived, there was nothing special about the plating and the sauce was sweet! Too sweet for my taste, it had pineapple and banana with curry. It tasted more like a dessert than an entree, the fried rice that accompanied it was flat and tasteless. The salad was good but it came with a poppy seed sauce that I also found too sweet. I had to put so much hot sauce on the shrimp to balance out the sweetness.

The paradise burger was good with a generous portion of fries, only thing is my husband asked for medium well but the burger came out overcooked and a bit dry. However, the burger itself was big and a good value at 100 pesos.

Perhaps we did not order the right dishes, when the waiter came to ask how was everything; I said the sauce was too sweet but he just smiled at me. Don't think I will ever go there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany-WolrabRoil, Owner at Barlito, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We thank you for posting a review & we feel bad that you had "so so" food. Vacations on Isla usually revolve around food & restaurants & having a meal that does not live up to your expectations is disappointing. We are sorry we disappointed you.

Our dinner menu may be new but that is no excuse for an over done & dry burger. Had we have known we would not have charged you for it. The Caribbean shrimp with fruit & curry is on the sweet side & is not for everyone. I fear that our waiter may not have fully understood your complaint. English is not a first language for any of our staff other than Brad & me.

First impressions are everything & you mentioned you would not be back. If however, you change your mind, please do message me here on TA & when you visit, your dinner will be on us.

If & when you do return to the Island, if we don't get a second chance as you know you will not go hungry, there are so many wonderful restaurants on the Island. Even living here, we don't have time to try them all. Thank you again for your honest review, it lets us know where we can improve. Our goal is to do the best we can do for our clients & guests.

My best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barlito also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Barlito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barlito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.