We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pita Amore Isla Mujeres

Pita Amore Isla Mujeres
Ave Guerrero MZA 21 ( Near Main Square) | Opposite the hospital (Centro de Salud), Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
+52 999 127 1208
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 166 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $6
Cuisines: Mexican, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Pita Amore - A unique fusion of Mediterranean and Mexican cuisine, prepared with love, on a family-secret pita bread. Chino, vegetarian, chicken and beef. Nicely basted with a pesto, grilled to perfection on a plancha. Topped of with the secrets of our French Culinary Institute of New York Graduate Chef Ricardo.This food is addictive - a single visit just doesn't cut it. Unbelievable to find this quality of food in Isla Mujeres near Cancun Quintana Roo Mexico.
Lavonia, Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was a small little sandwich shop, but worth finding it. It was a little hard to find, but we are glad we did! Pitas were great and CHEAP! We had a chicken and a beef and they were only 5 dollars each. The flan for dessert was really tasty too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    59
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pita Amore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

It was highly recommended by family so we gave it a try.
It is tiny, but very worth going to. The food was great and very affordable. The atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Pita's!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We made a new friend on Isla (Trish from Ontario) and she showed us the way to Pita Amore!! We were so happy to find the small restaurant off the strip and was greeted by the owner Ricardo. We were able to bring in our own beer and wine to have with our delicious pita's. The price is so affordable that it makes you want to eat here everyday while in Isla!! I enjoyed the chicken pita and the vegetarian. My boys asked to combine the chicken with the vegetarian and they liked that one just as much! My husband loves mushrooms so the option to add them on top made him very happy! The atmosphere is very casual and has signatures of Pita Amore's guests all over the wall. It was fun for my boys to be able to write on the wall and draw the space needle! Thank you Ricardo for our special evening, we are coming back in a few weeks and hope to see you there again!! Leonardo and Michelle Machado

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Can't say enough about Ricardo and Pita Amor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Unreal! The atmosphere alone disconnected me from everything but a great pita and a hospitable owner. The pita is an ultra affordable, but maybe the tastiest lunch I have had in a very long time. There are only 4 items on the menu. I had the beef with turkey ham. (It's not a pork asked ham. Its turkey based). A pita, basil glaze, tomatoe, beef,ham, the very light but distinct curry sauce, mushrooms, o ions, and the garlic sauce. Wow!!!!!! After chatting with Ricardo for a bit, i learned he is a graduate of ny culinary school. A very educated and well traveled man who operates a very modest but quintessential pita joint in the Mexican Caribbean. You can byod (bri g your own drinks) in the evening, a wonderful gathering place of wonderful people.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
625 helpful votes 625 helpful votes
“that's what friends are for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

On our first night at Isla Mujeres we was there a 10h00 pm and it was colse but i saw Ricky by the window ,we came in just for taking a drink with him and talking about Isla Mujeres,we came back on monday and we're surprised to see his friend Georges because Ricky was sick that day ,georges made it with love too ! See you next time Ricky and thanks again for your hospitality,see you soon!

it was a pleasure to see Georges on the grill : that's what friends are for!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pita Amore Isla Mujeres also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Pita Amore Isla Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pita Amore Isla Mujeres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.