We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queso fundido” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taqueria Medina

Taqueria Medina
Avenue Hidalgo, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 147 restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Ontario
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Queso fundido”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I liked this place and I thought the queso fundido here was ok (Don Chepo had my favourite).

For sure I would return here to try other items from their menu. The found the prices to be ridiculously inexpensive.

Queso fundido and a beer cost 70 pesos which is $5. Great deal!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    29
    20
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Carbon, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Best tacos in Isla Mujeres! Get their al pastor tacos, you won't regret it! Sadly, they're only open late nights (no lunch), but it's worth it!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great veggie quesadillas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This might sound weird since this place is a pretty meat-heavy tacos pastor type place but if you're looking for a great vegetarian snack, they have the BEST quesadillas there. They have mushrooms and great herbs in the cheese and the salsas they server with them are delicious. The green habanero sauce is my favorite but the others are also good. Caution on the beans, though, they are cooked with pork. Highly recommended for a late snack (they seem to be one of the later-night places on the restaurant strip) and they have saved us many evenings when our plans put us outside normal dinner hours.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, KS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Didn't care for the meat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I've eaten there a few times. The queso fundido is very good but I've tried a few different meats and was not impressed with the quality. I do not like fat in my meat. The prices are very low so if you want to give it a shot just pick up a taco sometime and see what you think.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina Lake, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a family to find a great, reasonably priced meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

They have a huge menu, the prices are very low, and the food is great! My kids LOVE the Tacos, Nachos, and Barritas! I loved the fact that they have a variety of vegetarian food on the menu, and my husband loves the fact that its so cheap he can order a bunch of things to try!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria Medina also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Taqueria Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taqueria Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.