We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rooster Cafe

Rooster Cafe
Mz 16 Av. Hidalgo y Guerrero Local 25, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
9982740152
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 166 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stopped here for breakfast after a night of partying. We weren't disappointed! I had the eggs benedict with a piece of steak.. very good!

We had to sit outside, as the inside is a little small. It wasn't too bad, we found a spot in the shade.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    142
    30
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fresh juice, great cinnamon rolls, awesome staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast was the bomb! Potatoes with breakfast were great. Fresh bread was very tasty. Bacon yum! Homemade jam. Staff way friendly!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“We went back for thirds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had breakfast here one morning. And then we kept coming back. We tried many items on the menu and they were all delicious. Service was good and the food was delicious. I thought it was priced about the same as the other restaurants on the island.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We're back again and again and again with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We've come here so many times I've lost count over three trips to the isla. My husband and I are proud owners of a Rooster t-shirt and a Rooster mug that I drink out of at my office in the USA, drinking coffee while I am not there and lamenting that I was. My husband is addicted to their Caribbean eggs benedict, which is "Caribbean" in that it is served with a spiny lobster tail. We've also come to samplel and really love their chicken tacos, one of the best gazpachos I've ever had (spicy and sweet and perfect for the hot weather), a curry chicken salad, and some kind of a grilled flat bread sandwich. We keep repeating our favorites there, so sorry we haven't reviewed more menu items, but we stick with what we love. Oh, our friends had their smoothies, which were also thick and excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Love the Rooster!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My sister recommended we go here for breakfast. We ended up not going until lunchtime but they didn't give me any grief about ordering from the breakfast menu like many American restaurants would have. That was a good start. Our server was very friendly and was all smiles. Her favorite thing on the menu is the Caribbean Benedict, which is like a regular Benedict but with a lobster tail and on their own homemade bread rather than English muffin. It was rich and decadent, exactly what I was expecting. Yum! Hubby ordered fish tacos with a cup of gazpacho. The soup was really nice. It was delicate but flavorful. It is the perfect warm weather food. If I wasn't so full, I would have gotten my own bowl of gazpacho. Next time we are here, we will for sure be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rooster Cafe also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Rooster Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rooster Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.