We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food on our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miramar

Miramar
Rueda Medina, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 167 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best food on our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The wife and I wandered in this place on a day trip to Isla Mujeres and were very impressed. I am hesitant to patronize restaurants on tourist trap areas, which MIramar is smack-dab in the middle of, but our gamble paid off. The seafood stuffed fish was ridiculously good and the salsa and chips were awesome after a day on the beach. When you get off the ferry, take a left onto the main street with all the shops/bars/restaurants. it is a few steps down on the beach side with a giant thatch(?) type roof, palapa style.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    13
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gautier, Mississippi
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“The best salsa!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have to come here at least twice during each visit. Most places have good to great salsa but Mirimar is the best. Get the pale green sauce, too but don't let the kids get into it. The lime soup is good and comes in a huge bowl! It's best to eat this in the evening. Not spicy but will make you start sweating again in the middle of the day. The drinks are good and the staff is friendly. Great location with the front open to Medina and the back open to the beach. You have your choice of wood or sand to sit on. Yes, there are "sales reps" that will come to your table but these are the same ones from the beaches. All we've met were polite and my wife, sisters, and friends have bought some pretty cool stuff. It's part of it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Stay Clear”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Although the live music was good we were harrassed by no less than 6 peddlers, including a child who did not understand the word "No", and we were only there to get back on the boat that brought us there.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi Mississippi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to eat! Be sure to get a table on the sand, by the pier!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The coladas are the best on the island! The service is great and the rest rooms are very clean.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DALLAS
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Mango Sauce!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I tried the coconut shrimp that comes with a mango sauce, sadly I was very excited to hear that this was "the best coconut shrimp," It was very large shrimp pieces I think it was actually 8 shrimp that were butterflied and deep fried. I ordered veggies with mine and they were way too undercooked and bland, really just tasted like butter or an oil. I think the Shrimp were 150 pesos but you get several big ones, for that reason it was a decent value. I don't think I would recommend this dish though, the staff was super friendly but it did take a long time and there were not that many tables seated until after we got there.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miramar also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.