We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Friendly Owners!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rene & Renee

Rene & Renee
Madero, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 147 restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Great Food, Friendly Owners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My sister and I happened to stumble upon this place after being overwhelmed by the touristy streets and venders. I was happy to be eating somewhere that locals and workers were also eating. The place has a very homey feel, as if you stepped right into a friend's kitchen! The gentleman that served us was so sweet and made sure we had everything we wanted. I don't remember what we ordered. But I remember commenting that it was the best food we had eaten thus far, and that the overall experience was superb. They even gave us a piece of candy when we left!
If I am able to return, this is the first place I'm going!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    40
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hole in the wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Happened by this place. Looking at the menu on the street and the guy at the door started a freindly conversation, so we decided to give it a try. We are very glad we did, the food was excellent, the staff was very freindly and accomodating.

It is on one of the side streets in centro area. Easy to miss so keep your eyes open.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had breakfast here, a very small restaurant run by husband and wife Rene and Rene. The food was very good and extremely inexpensive. Iralia was having stomach problems from something she ate elsewhere, and when Mr. Rene found out, he made her some special tea, on the house, to help soothe her stomach. Undoubtedly one of the nicest couples you will meet on the island.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This place is very small and a bit hard to find but is the best food you could possibly ask for. The owner and his wife will greet you and you'll sit at one of the 4-5 tables in the place but you'll remember the food even after you leave the Isla...oh, and order Guacamole.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Wonderful people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I was so happy to return and see them again...they are super nice people. I stopped by to say hola and to have breakfast. Coffee, juice, omelet, beans, tomato, crusty bread - butter and jam on the side and the great company of Rene y Renee.

Gracias!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rene & Renee also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Rene & Renee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rene & Renee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.