We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy little French cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Francais

Bistro Francais
Matamoros 29 | entre Juarez and Hildago, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 152 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Cosy little French cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stopped in for dinner our first night back in Isla. The promise of coq au vin drew me in, my husband had the shrimp special. We got salads, bread, and a beverage with our entrees. Coq au vin was delicious, service was attentive. This restaurant affects good value for their customers. Most reviewers visited for breakfast, but we haven't tried that yet.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    24
    8
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Franconia, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“crepes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Went here for breakfast a few times. Split the banana crepes with chocolate sauce both times. Very good...nice service. They added ceiling fans since we were here about 8 years ago and it makes a big difference when the sun starts coming up in the morning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“AN OLD FAVORITE STAND BY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The French Bistro has been serving up great food for as long as we have been coming to Isla, almost 10 years. French toast to die for and delicious omelets. Victor is always very friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsmouth, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fresh fruit crepes with maple cream sauce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This adorable restaurant serves wonderful sophisticated food with outstanding service. We went for breakfast and ordered the fresh fruit crepes with maple cream sauce. The crepe was light and delicate and filled with perfectly ripe fresh fruit. The maple creme sauce is to die for. I had hoped to make it back for dinner as their dinner menu looks amazing but I ran out of time and meals. As we were leaving the owner (Victor) and our waiter approached us and shook our hands and thanked us for coming. How often does that happen?!! We will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3 meals in a week here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

What more can I say from the headline. Victors food is the best. From the drinks to the meal it is all good. He is open for breakfast and dinner so be prepared and come hungry. You must try the French onion soup. This place is a gem. We will keep coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Francais also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Bistro Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Francais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.