We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Joya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Joya to your Saves list
Hotel La Joya
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Carretera al Garrafon, Km. 5 | Punta Sur, Isla Mujeres 00000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 28 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for a rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here for three nights, and had a lovely time. We’d been travelling a bit, and wanted a place a bit more secluded to catch our breath and wind down, and for that it was perfect. We received a warm welcome and a room with a gorgeous ocean view. The hotel has a nice pool, and a good beach. (We managed fine without bathing shoes or sandals, but there are a few stones etc., so you might want to bring some.) Rooms were clean and nice, we especially loved our hammock on our own terrace. The free WiFi also worked perfectly.

The hotel is a bit off from the main areas of activity on the island. If you want to do more than kick back and relax I recommend renting a golf cart. It’s fairly inexpensive, and Eric will arrange it for you, so you can have it delivered at the hotel and return it there. (Though the few times we wanted a taxi we had no issue just walking up to the road and within a few minutes catching one driving by.)

The restaurant is also good. But do note that it is run separately, and (at least when we visited in the off season) closed rather early. So you may want to do some shopping for extra drinks etc.

Room Tip: It's worth the small add on to upgrade your room. Some of the ordinary rooms don't seem to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    24
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
98
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We liked it so much we went back again, started our trip to Mexico here as it was close to airport but offshore, away from the madness of the hotel zone in cancun and away from the kids in hostels at the other end of Isla Mujeres. Not many shops about so think ahead about supplies. Snorkelling possible, nice private pool, iguana we called Clarence

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We just returned from a 5 night stay at this wonderful Hotel and enjoyed every minute of it!
We stayed in room 12 and the view from our private balconey was just wonderful!
The room had a little kitchenette area with a coffee maker and 2 burner stove.
The separate bedroom had a king size bed with a great working air conditioner with a sliding door to the balconey.
Eric and Paula were 2 of the most friendly hosts ever!
I had a medical issue that popped up and Eric made the call to see Dr Salas and even drove us to his office in the late evening! He even showed us the right pharmacias to get my script filled.
The Hotel is on the southern part of the island with a great view of Cancun and the bay.
They have a kitchen you can use if you wish in the back of the onsite restaraunt.
We did not eat here but other guests said the food was really good!
There are stone steps that lead down to the pool area then some more stone steps that lead down to the beach.
It is a small rocky beach area that is great for wading and some really nice pictures!
If you want to snorkel you have to wade out into deeper water which a few guests did and they said they saw many fish.The breakfast was some coffee with a small fruit bowl and some toast and jam.
It was perfect for a fast bite to eat.
We were not expecting a full spread of eggs and bacon like some other reviewers so it was just fine with us!
We rented a golf cart for the week so getting around the island was no problem at all!
unlike others we knew where the Hotel was located so we KNEW that in order to get around you needed a golf cart or taxi.
The Hotel is not a 5 star place and we knew this going in and we got exactly what we were looking for!
A nice little Mexican Hotel with great hosts and the peace and quiet we needed to recharge ourselves.
If you want big breakfasts served every morning in bed maybe some of the bigger hotels next to the throngs of tourists on the north end is your thing.
If you want peace and quiet with just the right Isla vibe and mexican feel the Hotel La Joya is for you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed one night during a 3 night Cancun vacation for her 40th birthday. This was our first trip to Cancun or La Isla, so we relied heavily on Trip Advisor for making our plans. La Joya lived up to its great Trip Advisor reviews, and Eric the proprietor was incredibly nice. It was very quiet and peaceful, which is definitely what we wanted for our first nite. Our one concern when we booked was what to do for dinner, being some distance from the center of town. But there was no need to worry - Eric recommended Casa de los Suenos ("turn left and walk 3 minutes"), and it was great. Quiet, down by the water, great food. Back at the hotel, we enjoyed our balcony with hammock, our great room, the pool, and a tasty continental breakfast served in our room. An added perk was complimentary wi-fi. We were very happy with our choice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This place is simple/ rustic, clean as can be and in a beautiful location. The rooms have a/c, really good free wifi and the daily breakfast is toast and fresh squeezed juice delivered to your beautiful private balcony which has a hammock overlooking the turquoise waters…

Located on the southern part of the island, this wonderful hotel is far enough from the tacky touristy aspect of Isla. The host Eric, greeted us warmly and was enormously helpful throughout our stay. He helped us rent a golf cart, and every night we took it into town for dinner (10minutes).

The beach in front of La Joya is beautiful to look at but I didn't think it was the best for swimming, it is mostly reef that has been grown by seagrass. BRING WATERSHOES if you want to use the beach as there are many sea urchins on the rocks, the clarity and the colour of the water is amazing though. I did not snorkel here but some people were and said it was really good from out front.
The pool is really nice/clean.

The vibe here was tranquil, friendly and warm. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We can't review this hotel highly enough. The location is in a quiet area of IM, directly above a small beach, which is great for snorkelling. The pool is great, and the rooms are large, with every one providing a spectacular ocean view, across to Cancun. Isla Mujeres is NOT Cancun, it has a slower, relaxed pace. The host, Eric and Paula, go out of their way to make you feel like family. I had my baggage lost by my airline, and Eric was extremely helpful to me. The small restaurant is great, the location and rooms are great, and the welcome from the hosts was top-notch. Stay here!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed at Hotel La Joya for two nights in early February. Loved every minute of it. It was so quiet at the hotel, yet there are plenty of hotels/restaurant/bar establishments nearby. Even a reef park with snorkeling and kayaking within walking distance (3-4 bks). There is also a yummy restaurant at La Joya, and a Raggae bar/grill (highly recommend) called The Joint only a few blocks away. Delicious blended drinks at The Joint.
The private beach is tiny, and while we were there the tide was high most of the morning, but the weather was so great we just hopped right into the water and scrambled/swam to another area nearby between some docks that was wonderful...and private! When the tide is low, there was plenty of room on the sand for us and a family of 6 nearby. lots of old reef and rocks to explore....beware pointy SEA
URCHINS! Several species of fish swimming around our feet (little baby ones).
The pool was clean and since there are so few rooms, we rarely had to share it with anyone. Spacious enough for privacy, but close enough to chat with other guests if interested. The grounds are beautiful, the views from our room (#10) were amazing...pool and ocean views. Breakfast brought right to our patio and despite what other reviewers have stated, was very filling (fruit, toast, fresh juice and coffee work for me!).
Snorkeling at the reef park (Garrafon Natural Reef Park) will set you back $65/person, but it's all inclusive (lunch, kayaks, snorkel equip., beverages). Between La Joya and reef park is Garrafon Castilla, which costs ~$5/person entrance (another $5-10 in snorkel gear). Here the fish are the same (snorkeled here, not reef park), but the reef was all artificial, and I suspect that's not the case at Garrafon NATURALReef Park.
Even the walk to the southern tip (Punta Sur) was short and enjoyable! Can walk a few hundred feet to the Eastern side of the island for sunrise, while enjoying the sunset at Hotel La Joya.
Entirely wonderful experience and Eric and his staff were great! Wouldn't have changed a thing!
We spent 2 nights here, then moved to North beach for another 2 nights. We did not rent a golf cart, but if I would have been at La Joya for 3+ nights, I would've done a 24-hour rental. Golf carts can be brought to the hotel for you, contact Eric and he'll get you one. I had no need as we were already scheduled to hit up North Beach during our stay, so we stuck to the southern tip both nights and was totally worth it. Even shopped for wine and beer at a nearby town grocery...were out wandering, looking for a convenience store, and a nice local gave us a ride to the store...no charge, dropped us right at the door. After our stop at the store, we picked up a taxi right outside back to the hotel (60 pesos). What a fabulous time. All the locals were so friendly and helpul (Hablo Espanol muy pequito).

Room Tip: Our room was great (#10), with a great view of the ocean, but I think all rooms faced the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Joya

Address: Carretera al Garrafon, Km. 5 | Punta Sur, Isla Mujeres 00000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Joya 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is the perfect place to escape from the world. We have 11 rooms all with spectacular views of the crystal clear blue waters that lie just steps below the hotel leading to our secluded beach. Each room is uniquely decorated and has a private terrace with a hammock where you can waste the afternoon away. Take advantage of our free breakfast and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Regatta Hotels, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Joya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.