We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great chioice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Arlene Hotel

Save Saved
You added Francis Arlene Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Francis Arlene Hotel
Avenida Guerrero No. 7, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 35 hotels in Isla Mujeres
Speonk NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great chioice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 days there this May. The hotel is near everything but on a quiet avenue, owners are friendly and make you feel like one of the family. They keep the place spotless. My only issue was the air conditioner was noisy. Isla Mujeres is a special place to kick back and slow down. Play Norte is beautiful! Specially enjoyed a bucket of beer watching the sun set at the Sunset grill on Playa Norte.

Room Tip: check the air conditioner for excessive noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    39
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
7
36
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

... the place I'll return next time I visit Isla Mujeres. Staff is wonderful,multi-lingual, including English, good for me, since yo habla Espanol muy poquito. The Francis Arlene, on Guerrero, is in the middle of everything, yet far from the night noises just a few blocks away. We had a beautiful patio, good for sitting, reading and relaxing. One room, two doubles, all we needed. Fridge and a fan (sometimes a little too noisy for me). Reasonable prices and don't miss the mani-pedi place across the street. Tell Nelly we sent you. Also, the golf-cart rental just north of the hotel is trustworthy and helpful. And the wonderful breakfast just up on the corner :-) AND you won't want to miss Miguel's, down on Hidalgo. We loved our hot pink cart that we used for a one-day tour of the long island. Otherwise, walking everywhere is completely do-able. Forget that high end hotel - get yourself a piece of life on the island and see some real life.

Room Tip: if you're not a smoker, let them know when you reserve. We were on the third floor; seems like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We just returned from a 3 week stay at the Francis Arlene hotel. The owners, Geraldo and Manuela do everything possible to see that you have a wonderful stay. The hotel has an inner courtyard with a lovely garden and it is quiet and peaceful. Nice little balconies and many rooms have views of the water. The cleaning staff work hard to keep things spotless. While we were there the building behind was being torn down which meant lots of dust so the staff and Manuela were cleaning sometimes twice a day to keep up. There are many people who stay at the Francis Arlene year after year and I can see why. Great value, great people and we hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Just stayed two weeks at the Francis Arlene, a very friendly hotel the owners Gerry & Manuela are wonderful people, it was a pleasure to get to know them and I hope we return next year!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york,maine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

This is the sort of hotel in short supply on Isla these days. Personal, pretty, unpretentious.
The owner is a gracious man, very pleasant and helpful.
This is a sweet place. Yes, the room decor is outdated but the cleanliness and views of the water and village make up for the tired, drab bedspreads!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Francis Arlene for five nights while visiting Isla Mujeres in mid August, and it was an absolutely relaxing stay. At $50 US a night for a clean room with an A/C and a balcony view of the downtown area, it was a great deal. The owner was helpful and friendly. The hotel has a security guard that arrives at his post at 10pm, so I always felt safe. Also, there is a parking lot right next to the hotel, which made it extremely convenient for parking the golf carts and scooters that we rented while on the island.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We travelled to Isla with my brother & sister in law. The owners & their staff/family were wonderful!!!!!!! I highly recommend a relaxing stay here! We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Francis Arlene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Arlene Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Francis Arlene
Francis Arlene Isla Mujeres
Address: Avenida Guerrero No. 7, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Francis Arlene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Arlene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.