We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Arlene Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Francis Arlene Hotel to your Saves list
Francis Arlene Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Guerrero No. 7, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Charming and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We just returned from a 3 week stay at the Francis Arlene hotel. The owners, Geraldo and Manuela do everything possible to see that you have a wonderful stay. The hotel has an inner courtyard with a lovely garden and it is quiet and peaceful. Nice little balconies and many rooms have views of the water. The cleaning staff work hard to keep things spotless. While we were there the building behind was being torn down which meant lots of dust so the staff and Manuela were cleaning sometimes twice a day to keep up. There are many people who stay at the Francis Arlene year after year and I can see why. Great value, great people and we hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    44
    10
    9
    6
See reviews for
10
47
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Just stayed two weeks at the Francis Arlene, a very friendly hotel the owners Gerry & Manuela are wonderful people, it was a pleasure to get to know them and I hope we return next year!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york,maine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

This is the sort of hotel in short supply on Isla these days. Personal, pretty, unpretentious.
The owner is a gracious man, very pleasant and helpful.
This is a sweet place. Yes, the room decor is outdated but the cleanliness and views of the water and village make up for the tired, drab bedspreads!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Francis Arlene for five nights while visiting Isla Mujeres in mid August, and it was an absolutely relaxing stay. At $50 US a night for a clean room with an A/C and a balcony view of the downtown area, it was a great deal. The owner was helpful and friendly. The hotel has a security guard that arrives at his post at 10pm, so I always felt safe. Also, there is a parking lot right next to the hotel, which made it extremely convenient for parking the golf carts and scooters that we rented while on the island.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We travelled to Isla with my brother & sister in law. The owners & their staff/family were wonderful!!!!!!! I highly recommend a relaxing stay here! We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

I moved to the Francis Arlene after 2 disastrous weeks at El Caracol. My new room was bright, sunny, with a balcony and view of the beach. What more could you ask for? Everyone (staff and other guests) were friendly and helpful. Most of the guests were repeat visitors and knew the Island and where to go. I'd return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness, ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

the place and staff are pleasant but burdened by cheap management which makes the hotel undesirable. spotty maid service, no TV, air conditioning in only some rooms, smelly toilets, no beach towels. IF YOU BOOK HERE DO IT BY THE NIGHT BECAUSE THEY REQUIRE FULL PAYMENT FOR THE WHOLE STAY AND WILL NOT ALLOW YOU LEAVE FOR ANOTHER HOTEL WITHOUT FULL FORFEITURE. there are several nicer hotels in the area at less price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Francis Arlene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Arlene Hotel

Address: Avenida Guerrero No. 7, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Francis Arlene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Francis Arlene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Francis Arlene
Francis Arlene Isla Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Arlene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.