We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for honeymoon location...think we found it!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Rolandi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Rolandi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Rolandi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   racc. Laguna Mar SM. 7 Mza. 75 Lotes 15 y 16 | Carretera Sac-Bajo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 35 hotels in Isla Mujeres
Tacoma, Washington, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Looking for honeymoon location...think we found it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at Villa Rolandi after researching hotels for a possible honeymoon location next year. We decided Villa Rolandi was the one because of the small number of rooms, adult-only place, and less people than on Cancun. The entire staff were wonderful. Victor gave us great restaurant places. They were out of the way places with extraordinary flavor!
Did the Dolphin Discovery and went for last show and less crowded than earlier shows! We were treated to VIP service as we were guests of V. Rolandi. Golf cart was fun (just watch for the topes..speed bumps!) Only bad thing was the heavy rain that came while at Playa Norte..humid and wet was no bueno! But it was the season...Overall, the place was wonderful, spacious rooms, free breakfasts, and staff made ALL the difference!!! Thank you!

Room Tip: Top floor was great for viewing and getting great photos during sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    468
    111
    29
    8
    9
See reviews for
35
423
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was our first time to both Isla Mujeres and the Villa Rolandi hotel. We found this place from an amazing Living Social deal, and immediately booked it for 2 weeks later. The hotel offers a private pick up service from the airport in Cancun, and the driver, Augustine, was very nice. Normally the hotel has a private yacht that picks you up from the embarcadero, but 2 days before we flew out, I was notified that their yacht "Cocoon' was under repair and we would have to take the public Ferry 'Ultramar', and we would be fully reimbursed. The Ultramar was nice, there was a guy singing and playing guitar for tips on the roof top seating area, and it was a quick ride over to the island. Once there, we took a taxi to the hotel.
ARRIVAL:
The lobby is a beautiful open setting, with local artists' work on display. We were immediately greeted with mimosas and cold towels during check in. The elevator was broken so we had to take the stairs to our room on the 3rd floor (the elevator was fixed by the next day).
ROOM:
We were in a Junior Suite with a beautiful view of the Ocean. The room was large with a good seating area (where the hide-a-bed is in the couch), and there are a lot of beautiful touches through out the room. Stained glass on the door to the bathroom, as well as above the full wall of sliding glass doors leading to the balcony. Our balcony had a jacuzzi on it. The bell man gave us a tour of the room and showed us how to work everything, and where everything was. The jets weren't initially working in the jacuzzi, but someone came up within 5 minutes and fixed it. The bathroom was very nice, it had a telephone in it, which I think is fun. The shower was amazing. It was large with two shower heads on opposite sides, and 4 body jet sprays (2 on each side). It also can be turned into a sauna. There was a window that overlooked the room from the shower which was fun. The closet area was just outside the bathroom where the sinks were.
AMENITIES:
The hotel has a lot to offer if you don't want to leave it for the entire trip. They have 3 pools. The main one, just outside the lobby was the most popular, right next to it was a large hot tub type of pool, and the 3rd was just a few steps from that, that for some reason no one went to. They have pool staff that take drink and food orders. One of the days, a crab snuck into the pool from the beach, so that was fun to see them fish it out.
There is a Spa on site as well. We got a couples massage that was very relaxing, and the main guy running the spa was very nice. The gym is located through the spa.
RESTAURANT:
The food there was pretty good! The best part of the restaurant was the framed photos of the staff with Chuck Norris and Paul Newman. You know this place is good if they have been there.
Breakfast was giant! They bring you juice, coffee, a basket of bread/pastries, a plate of fruit, and a side portion of either french toast or waffle all BEFORE you get your main breakfast. They have everything from Bacon and Eggs & Cereal to Mexican breakfast fare.
The dinner menu is much more extensive than what the website has on it. Everything from Steaks to pizza to salads and desserts.
STAFF/EXCURSIONS:
Everyone on the staff was always so nice! From check in to check out, so helpful. Victor helped us set up or "Swim with the Dolphins" excursion which was so amazing. We recommend the Royal Swim, most bang for your buck. And the Dolphin swim place was literally 2 properties away. We could see where the people swam from our breakfast table, as well as walk there in under 2 minutes. We also rented a golf cart for a day and drove around the island.
CONS (small list):
Beware of the beach mosquitoes at night!!!! We don't have many mosquitoes on the beach where I am from, so I didn't even think about it. My legs were a buffet for them, it was terrible (but it didn't ruin the vacation!). So make sure, if you decide to do a night beach stroll, cover up your body and use bug spray (we were never warned till after the fact).
On our last night, our ceiling in the bathroom in front of the closet started leaking a lot of water. It was around 10pm, so they didn't have anyone who could do anything about it till the next day, so I just put a bucket to catch the water. And it must have been related to the air conditioner because once that leak started, the room progressively got less cool. Then it started pouring rain early in the morning, and the entry way where the door was was flooded with water, so I had to put towels down. That's the only reason why this place didn't get 5 stars from me. But like I said, it was our last day anyway when we were checking out, so no big deal.

All in all, I highly recommend this hotel and Island to anyone who wants a beautiful tropical vacation. The prices were decent, the island was paradise, and everyone was so nice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My 4th stay here, this time I brought friends to celebrate a birthday the weather was awesome, we got an upgrade to a master suite but decided to stay in a regular suite since the view is nicer, Delia was helpful with everything, Victor greeted us at the dock and took a good care of us during our stay, Ariel at the pool any time we needed anything was there for us.
THE DOWN SIDE
For first time the service at dinner was not close to what used to be, our waiter left us for more than 15 min never came back, we had to ask another waiter for dessert menus and when we finally got again this other guy 30 minutes had past, we asked for our desserts and after some more time he came back to us saying they didn't have what we had asked for, by that time we were tired and angry (really a bad experience for a dinner celebration) so we left without our dessert that was already paid for.

Room Tip: ground level is nice but better view higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent a week here, recently, and really liked the place. I can see why it's called the best or nicest hotel on the island. Really the only down side is the location -- which can be a plus, if you don't want to be around the other action centers on the island.

The island is small, so if you get tired of eating north italian cuisine at the hotel restaurant (it is quite good, but has limited vegetarian options, you can head in to town for 80 pesos by taxi, and get there is about 15 mins.

The beach is nice, exclusive to the hotel, and the pools are quality. Service is friendly and satisfactory throughout.

A few things to be aware of: renting anything via the hotel entails the usual "premium" of such places, but it's a bit more than you might think, eg, 30% adder to rent a golf cart for 24 hours from the hotel, versus any of the places in town. Heck for $75USD plus the 11% hotel charge, you can almost rent a golf cart for twice as long from a place in town. And of course, since a taxi ride between the two most distant points on the island is just 100 pesos or less, you an do 8 taxi rides per day for cheaper than renting a golf car at the hotel, including tips.

They DO have a nice water taxi yacht to take you to and from the mainland, but it's not always functional. We reserved space to and from the airport via their handy transfers service... but on the check out day, the yacht was not working, so they sent us in a taxi to the public ferry, which was a little disconcerting -- they covered the cost, but of course it's cheaper that the private service, there is less help with your luggage, etc.

Breakfasts are included and were consistently good -- and they were able and willing to make small modifications (regular toast instead of french toast, cappucino instead of coffee, etc) without much fuss. Exchange rates, if you have US dollars cash, at the hotel are competitive, which was refreshing, but if you need an ATM, you have to go down the street to the dolphin prison, with a special pass from the hotel. Not a deal breaker, but something to be aware of if you happen to be in a hurry.

We would return.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the sea. The larger suites are on the ground floor. Convenient for walking out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at Villa Rolandi for five nights. We have planned to stay only for 3 nights but decided to extend our stay for additional two nights since we've got in love with the place. Its a small luxury hotel with a beautiful private beach. We also loved the pool wich was only few meters from the ocean surrounded by beautiful trees and flowers. Very romantic! The hotel is very quite, mostly couples. The only negative was the restaurant. Though located on a balcony with breathtaking view , we found it overpriced. The hotel is located relatively far from the downtown where most of the restaurants and bars are located, so you can enjoy a quite atmosphere and privacy. We have rented a golf cart for 3 days and used it both during the day time exploring the island and also in the evening to drive to the center. The service at the hotel was great. The room, Junior suite was big and spacious with the most comfortable bed ! It had a beautiful ocean view and a jacuzzi at the balcony. Beautiful hotel, good service, great place for a romantic vacation!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

If you want sun, tranquility, a caring staff and fabulous food that's all you'll get at this 35 room hotel. Your home away from home. Intimate and sophisticated. Suite was spacious and comfortable.Bring a power strip for all your devices. The view from your suite is of the turquoise ocean and Cancun a thankful 40 minutes away by boat. I don't like to go back to a place twice but this place is an exception. Will definitely return and next time I will swim with the whale sharks and visit Contoy. You can rent golf carts. We did not preferring to an A/C taxi to the Mayan temple ruin at Punt Sur and see Punte Norte.

Room Tip: there is no bad room as all face the ocean depends if you want first floor access, second or third
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our second visit to Villa Rolandi was even better than the first! It is truly an oasis of tranquility. The hotel is spotless. The staff is always eager to please with a smile! Our suite was bright, airy and very spacious. Comfortable beds, state of the art showers and private jacuzzi on the balcony, all add to your relaxation. The food was always amazing. The best Eggs Benny you will ever taste! and they made them gluten-free for me to accommodate my dietary restrictions. Drip coffee is included in your breakfast, but if you order cappuccino or latte, they charge extra :(
A trip to Contoy, the island of the birds, is a must! the hotel has arranged private and unforgettable tour for us. Thank you all for giving us wonderful memories.
.

Room Tip: Top floor offers the best view. The suites have very high ceiling making rooms airy and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Rolandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rolandi

Address: racc. Laguna Mar SM. 7 Mza. 75 Lotes 15 y 16 | Carretera Sac-Bajo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Villa Rolandi 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted Isla Mujeres small luxury beach hotel featuring only 35 beautiful ocean view Suites; award-wining cuisine at Casa Rolandi Restaurant; a private beach, world class service & amenities, a 5-star Thalasso Spa & its own 42-ft private luxury Yacht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Villa Rolandi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolandi Hotel Isla Mujeres
Villa Rolandi
Rolandi Isla Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Rolandi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.