We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for family!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas Maria Del Mar

Save Saved
You added Cabanas Maria Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Carlos Lazo 1, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 35 hotels in Isla Mujeres
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place for family!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for a week with our two kids 5 and 7. Super location! Service rough at first but by the end if the week we were on a first name basis with Buho servers. Highly recommend this hotel tried to book again this year same time period but completely booked in early June. We loved the chill vibe here.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    153
    113
    45
    48
See reviews for
66
179
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the tower block in July 2012 and had the most amazing time there. The hotel room was nothing special but it had a little balcony where we could just about see the sea through the trees that separate the hotel to the beach. It had a fridge in the room which was so handy and it was clean. Reception area is nice. You have breakfast in an outdoor restaurant which is literally on the beach. We had the sand between our toes every morning, literally amazing sipping on juice being on the beach overlooking the sea. There's a little bar there with swing seats which we loved too, barman was friendly! Playa Norte is the best beach on the island, absolutely stunning. Further down the beach is a lot busier and covered in sun beds but the beach just in front of Maria Del Mar is quiet, unspoilt, sun beds are only put as and when people want them. The water is really shallow for a long way out which is nice for a float around. If you come out of the hotel grounds and turn right there are a couple of lovely restaurants right on the beach. Otherwise for eating head out the back of the hotel walk to the end of the street turn right and then turn left and you'll come across a strip of restaurants and bars where we had many nice meals and evenings.

As I said, the hotel is nothing special but it is clean and very cheap, the grounds are pleasant and breakfast and lunch is in a little outdoor restaurant on the beach. Most importantly it's in an amazing location, it is sat right on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Caribbean, it has such a nice relaxing atmosphere. Would love to return.

Room Tip: Tower block are very simple but have fridges, perfect for a cheap holiday in a lovely location. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

So this hotel is right on north beach. We stayed in the castle building which is only 20 paces from the main building but castle is closer to the beach, so we liked it. Nothing swanky about the rooms and a bit basic but good for 55 USA per night. If you book online in advance it's more expensive. The rooms however are cleaned every day and they do a great job.
The breakfast is coffee and bad toast so we gave it a miss, especially since you had to go to reception first to get your voucher.
Which brings me to the next point...the service at reception is INCREDIBLY slow and bad, therefore lining up for anything is absolutely frustrating and ridiculous. Renting gold buggies, swapping beach towels, checking out and in or getting breakfast vouchers takes ages.
My bath towel also dropped off by balcony, so I went to swap it in reception and the lady accused me of taking it to the beach. I explained what had happened and she actually SMELLED my towel! It took ages and an argument to get a new towel, something I think I have the right to as a paying customer, without being interrogated.
Anyways, good location, clean rooms with aircon and a little fridge is worth it if you can tolerate the poor poor service. Oh and wifi is slow and only at the back of the kitchen. Water coolers are nearly always empty and you have to pay over 10 USD per day for a beach chair and umbrella.
I think I'm a reasonable person who is easily pleased - read my other reviews- but this took the cake for paying to be insulted.

Room Tip: Go the castle rooms near the beach in another building. the tower are supposed to be out dated, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

the hotel located in playa norte...the best beach in playa...beside that the place is not clean..the reception guys are not nice at all...tgey dont provide towels for the hands..the tv is 14"......they change the beach towels only every two days

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great location for the price, but the hotel is just ok.

The water coolers around the place were always empty, the walls were thin, and the free continental breakfast was literally just toast.

The bed was comfortable enough, but had some small stains on the comforter. A/C worked fine and had a great view from the balcony. Didn't have a chance to check out the pool.

Stay here for the location, right on north beach, and the price but don't expect much more than very basic accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We arrive after sunset on Isla Mujeres, we ended up at this hotel relatively well-reviewed on trip advisor. Let me share with you the experience. The location is extraordinary. It's next to Playa Norte, a wonderful and most commercial place on the island. The room on the ground level look clean (the bathroom look like brand new) but there's highway of ants on the floor and a hard smell of humidity... We ask for a room on the second floor. No ants this time but the room is older and we agreed that is not so bad. On the internet, we saw the room at 52$ on low season and get it at 48$ if paid cash in mexican pesos (650$) It was a very quiet stay, the hotel was empty, breakfast was basic continental, no smile from the staff, the pool was unclean (too much sunscreen at the surface)
The beach, however, was fantastic, free access (you just bring the towel from your room) If you want sunshade and chair, you have to pay for it but we didn't ask for the price... Playa Norte is the most beautiful beach of the island and the more commercial too... If you want some cheap beverages, get to a small local convenience store (the one on the street, without glass door and hold by an old mexican, you will get the ice and beer you need for your thirsty afternoon :) We believe that is important to encourage small local business!
For the ambiance, the place is not so hot for low season, go to Poc Na Hostel instead! It's cheaper and crowded by young people and the ambiance is perfect for meeting other travellers. And you are 5 minutes of walk from Play del Norte :)
Overall Maria del Mar is a good place but we will not returned at this hotel on Isla Mujeres. On low season, you can get something decent with AC for 350$ pesos. Hope it will help ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Nice little hotel with the perfect location on playa norte. We stayed in room # 1 and had an awesome view out of our balcony. Right next to the beach, there is a nice bar with "swing" seats and curtained beds on the beach. Free water in the hotel, so we filled our water bottles up daily. Can't beat it for the price!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cabanas Maria Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Maria Del Mar

Address: Avenida Carlos Lazo 1, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas Maria Del Mar 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Cabanas Maria Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Maria Del Mar Hotel Isla Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabanas Maria Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.