We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Na Balam Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Na Balam Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Na Balam Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Zazil Ha 118 | Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 35 hotels in Isla Mujeres
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It's ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My title sums it up, just ok. We stayed on the pool side our room was clean, the beds were a little hard but not uncomfortable. The room key was completely irritating! It worked if you jiggled it just right, a couple of times the first day we just gave up. As others have stated the beach towels for pool side are brown and thin while beachside towels are striped and thicker. Why have two different types if it is all one hotel?!?
But you don't stay here for the towels you stay for the location which you just can't beat.
The service at the restaurant was good, only once did someone point out that tips weren't included. We ate lunch beachside most days from the restaurant. Not the cheapest way to go but super easy when you are in lazy vacation mode with two kids !!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    136
    72
    44
    45
See reviews for
78
205
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for 4 nights here, it was alright. Great location on the island and would recommend that. No wifi except for the lobby where you get eaten by Mosquitos at night. The restaurant is overpriced and pretty poor really. I'm happy to tip people when they do a good job but when they do nothing and ask for tips I find that a bit rude, especially when you have an abundance of staff working doing nothing. Wouldn't bother with the eggs they are really oily. Other then that the food is decent. Our room was comfortable and clean. With a hammock in the room which was cool. Would stay there again if the price was right. And would recommend to others too. I'm sure that there are better places in the area though.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Nice beach, nice rooms. I am up at 12:41 am writing this review thanks to the fist pumping jersey shore ghetto club music pounding from zazil ha bar and restauarant in here. Have already asked to have it turned down once as it woke up my two and four year olds from a dead sleep an hour ago. Sucks sucks sucks. If you don't mind that, then find out the construction schedule before booking your stay. Starts REAL early, people. No naps for the toddler, thanks. Without the kids, I'd say the continental brekky was fine, the beach and services were good, and Israel at the reception is great (the ladies seem serious and/or jaded). Mind you. . . .i like a quiet place to relax and this has, for three days, not been it.

Room Tip: Don't take rooms with streetlights pouring into them. Look outside the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our second visit to Na Balam and this time we brought my wife’s bother and his family. What was supposed to be a one night visit turned into a two nights because quite frankly it is hard to drag one’s self away from this bit of paradise. Located on the picturesque Play del Norte, Na Balam is a boutique hotel catering to those that want a quiet and relaxing Mexican vacation….however if you are looking for the Ritz, party life or a Four Star resort, them may I suggest staying over in Cancun. This is after all rural Mexico on a Caribbean Island with the main transportation is a golf cart.

This is a place that you want to spend the whole day on the beach reading a book and sipping your favorite adult beverage under the palm trees. The waters in front of the hotel are probably the best you will find on the island.

As for the rooms, large, minimalist, with firm beds. The first night we were over on the beach side and the second night we had to move over to the poolside – if staying over on the poolside, make certain you get a room on the second floor as the thatched roofs give a more open feeling and during the hot summer months, will help displace the heat buildup in the rooms…even though there is air conditioning. Word of warning for those that are squeamish with large lizards, I had the opportunity to share the shower with one of the local iguanas. He hung out on the top near the thatched roof and slept / observed my showering activity. If you are squeamish, Cancun is right over there…..

We did rent a golf cart to tour the island, and the front desk arranged for it and it was dropped off right at the hotel…so if this is your first trip to Isla Mujeres, do take advantage of the gold carts and spend the day touring the island.

If you have read these reviews you will see that they are pretty much polarized between people who expect the very best….and those that realize that this is a taste of “Old Mexico” which is the charm of Na Balam. Quite frankly, take a few days and sit on the beach and in the water and just chill….who cares about showering with iguanas and warm watered showers or if the hotel is under construction.

Room Tip: Do get a room over on the beachside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a great time at Na Balam when we visited in March 2012 and I wrote a very positive review. This made us want to come back and we stayed at Na Balam again in November this year. As last time, we stayed in a room on the poolside. When we arrived, we realised that the pool was being worked on and when we questioned whether it would be finished during our stay the answer was simply no. Not even a sorry from reception. Not only the pool was being worked on but also the entrance to the hotel. The wonderful quiet area near the entrance where you could sit and go online last time was gone. Again, not a sorry that this might inconvenience the guest. The rooms in the back have a straw roof. This is generally not a problem, but this time around we saw a rat climbing across it, which was not great. After a few days, we asked to move rooms because of a very strong sewage smell, maybe because of the work outside. We were moved to an inferior room without so much as an apology. I also don't think it is appropriate to have separate types of beach towels for guests in the poolside rooms than for the others, it makes one feel like a second class guest. I still feel that the location of the hotel is great and the restaurant is very good. The guys in the restaurant, Ephraim, Romeo and Gabriel were always fantastic. Having said that I would not chose the hotel again. For the price charged, they did not deliver on quality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The room smelled pretty bad and as other commenter said, an iguana crawled on the walls of the Palapa we slept. The staff is is not very friendly and the breakfast is just basic (coffee or tea, toasts and juice, anything else needs to be paid). No wi-fi at the rooms, only near the reception.
I liked the location, since the sunset from the hotel beach is spectacular.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the rooms close to the ocean, never the ones in front of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 8 nights at Na Balam this past week. We chose this hotel based on a few friends who had stayed there, as well as the reviews on TripAdvisor. Also, the location seemed really good, and the hotel looked cute. As for our experience...
A previous review on here mentioned that Na Balam is 2 hotels with 1 name. I hadn't thought of it that way, but it's true (more on that in a moment).
We stayed the first 7 nights in room 29, on the pool (ie. non-beach) side of the hotel. The pool was under construction. Oddly enough when we checked in they didn't mention that, and we only found out when we walked over to our room and saw it completely taped off. My girlfriend was immediately upset as we specifically chose that room because she loves pools. We went back to the front desk and the Italian lady (who is very sweet, honestly) simply tried to convince us that we were not going to care because the beach is so beautiful. Anyway, would've been nice to get a heads up that the pool was not working.
Our room (29) was a thatched roof room (palapa) on the 2nd floor. As mentioned in the previous reviews, they have sort of a funky smell. They're dimly lit, a little dirty, and the shower doesn't really get hot (it does get sort of warm). The bed was insanely hard - didn't bother me but my girlfriend woke up with a sore back most days. We had a serious rainstorm one night, and the roof did leak. We were up at 4AM moving our belongs around so they didn't get damaged. Weather isn't the hotel's fault, but be aware they can leak. Also, there are lizards in your room (it's a thatched roof after all!). That didn't really bother us, but they sometimes "yell" at each other, which is more or less a high pitched sort of "laughing" sound. It's unpleasant at 5AM when you're going diving at 8AM. That only happened once or twice.

That all being said, the grounds are amazing. You're basically in a little jungle. Staff does a good job on keeping the grounds picked up. Also, as you may have guessed, the location is absolutely perfect. You're in playa norte, but you're not on the main streets (in other words, it is very quiet and chill). The hotel's beach is also amazing. Probably the best on the island. Not joking. I'd stay here again just because of the location.

Now on our last night they had to move us to the beach side (room 6). This is where the other reviewer got it right - the rooms are way different. You can tell they've done renovating on the beach side. The bed was soft and comfy, the room had "furniture" (chairs, a couch, coffee table), and the bathroom was way nicer. The shower got hot! These rooms are far more well appointed. If you're considering staying here, seriously consider springing the extra money for a beach side room (I have no idea how much more they are).

Now to the staff - it'd be generous for me to say they were "pleasant." The best way I can describe it is, they seem like they're on auto pilot because they know the tourists will just keep coming. Who knows, that's probably true. Of the 3 front desk staff we dealt with, not one of them ever said, "thank you" or "sorry." One of the girls generally just seemed annoyed to be there, and when I asked her (a few days in a row) if we could get hot water she'd just send a maintenance person over without the slightest concern. Nobody ever asked how we were doing, if we needed anything, or if we had any questions or concerns. We were sort of just there, and they were sort of just dealing with us.

Overall - the location is amazing and the beach side rooms are really nice. Don't expect the pool, or your amenities to generally be working, but do expect that Isla Mujeres is an awesome island with great food and lots of things to do.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Na Balam Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Na Balam Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Na Balam Beach
Na Balam Beach Isla Mujeres
Address: Calle Zazil Ha 118 | Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#6 Romantic Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Na Balam Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The love for nature, an admiration to the Mayan culture and a concern for holistic wellness are reflected in this haven of peace and serenity. Na Balam offers you a place to enjoy the beauty of the Caribbean sea and its sunsets with personalized services and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, HostelWorld, Otel, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Na Balam Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Na Balam Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.