We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel and a Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bahia Chac Chi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bahia Chac Chi to your Saves list
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lote 12, Mza 8, Smza 01, Avenida Rueda Medina, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel and a Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I love this hotel! For a few dollars more per night, grab the bay view side. You face one of the main drags of the island, but traffic noise isn't bad with the sliding doors closed. In exchange for traffic noises, you get an amazing view of the bay and of the Cancun skyline.

Best thing about this hotel? The staff, hands down, are some of the friendliest folks on the island. They did everything possible to make us comfortable. They are the main reason I will be staying with them again for next year's visit. And the rooms are clean and comfortable. I can rarely sleep in hotel beds, but slept wonderfully in my room here.

Amenities include a basic breakfast, a bar for a drink after dinner, towels for the beach, and a very lovely pool for cooling off.

The ONLY suggestion I would make to the management is to look into installing ceiling fans. A lovely fan breeze would cut down on us having to use the A/C.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the south are a bit quieter than those facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    91
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
122
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here with a friend in August, and we spent somewhere between $40-$50/night, I believe. The front desk staff were all incredibly friendly and accomodating. The breakfast is very light - yogurt, fruit, toast, coffee, juice, so if you're looking for something substantial you'll have to go out for breakfast, but this was perfect for my friend (who doesn't eat breakfast) and me. The housekeepers did such a great job - every afternoon when we came back, our room was immaculate. Forewarning: in the US, housekeepers generally don't touch or move your stuff for fear of liability, but our housekeepers here moved our stuff of the beds in order to make them, which didn't bother us in the least. They also made some very cute animals out of the clean towels, which was very fun, and would be even more fun for little kids. As others have noted, we did leave a card in our electricity slot when we left the room so that we could keep the AC on. If you don't want to do this, the rooms cool off very quickly once you turn the AC back on. Overall, we would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruita, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have to be honest in my review of this hotel and have to say that I was a little disappointed with my stay. The reason I say this that the air conditioning unit in my room was on the fritz, which really is not a big deal in November. However, the hotel is on the main drag and leaving hour balcony door open to the street noise can make for a fitful night of sleep. The other issue is that there is no ceiling fan to circulate the air. This may sound trivial, but try to sleep in Mexico without a ceiling fan, not so nice. I had to grab the floor fan behind the front counter desk so that I could get some sleep. Changing my room was not an option as the hotel was full. That ends my complaints.
The positives are that the staff is very friendly and warm. The room and the hotel are immaculate. The location can not be be beat if you like to stay near or in town, and the price per night is very good.
So the short of this is that make sure you A/C is working if you stay at the Bahia, other than that its all good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Only a short stroll from the ferry landing to the Bahia Chac Chi makes this wonderful small hotel a great place to stay at while in on this island. The rooms are large and the beds are wonderfully comfortable. The elevator took us to the top and we stayed on the fourth floor and had a wonderful view of the bay towards Cancun. The front desk staff of Manuel Ordaz and Luis Flores worked very hard to make sure we had a wonderful time and gave us lots of tips and ideas for our time on the island.
Yes the breakfast is basic but it was enough to get us going for the day and it was served in a wonderfully clean kitchen/dining room.
Yes the pool is tiny and cooler but great after the hot day in the sun and on the beach.
The beach is only 5 minute walk away and it is very clean and beautiful. The water was fabulous. We ate at the Mama's since great well known, Olivia's was closed until November. We spent lots of time on the deck at Jax's (right in front of the beach Norte). We rented a Golf Cart and spent one day checking out this delightful island. We spent the afternoon lunching and swimming/lounging at the Captain Dulche. Their food was fantastic and the staff were very attentive.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room up on the top floor and towards the water even though the road is busy..the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I normally dont even look into this kind of hotels as we are always looking forsmall hotels, hostels or B&B. I think it is not worth at all to spend more than the necessary money in a good bed and shower. But this hotel gives you this bit more with no too much more of money, besides its unbeatable location. Right across from the ferry pier from Puerto Juarez (Cancun) and in the heart of downtown, I will add the great ocean view it has from the upper levels, very mice way to wake up and see that breathtaking scene. Good service, very affordable prices, clean, friendly, etc. I defenitely will come here again.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view rooms, I guess they have the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The Bahia Chac Chi was a very good hotel and I would recommend staying here. It is right across from the ferry terminal so easy to find and not far to take your bags. The beach is a short walk away, not much more than five minutes. The room was large, the bed was enormous and comfortable. We had a balcony and there is a small pool though it doesn't get any sun. The breakfast was included but very basic - cereal or toast with jam and in need of improvement.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I just stayed at Bahia for our anniversary Oct 30-Nov 3. Our experience was amazing to say the least! To start, the ferry dock is about a block away (when you get out of port turn to your right and it's the taller white hotel).
The front desk staff (Juan Karlo & Ademar (spelling?)) were incredibly cheerful as well as helpful. Both of these gentlemen has tons of tips on what to do, where to eat as well as cheap airport transfers (we only paid $8.50 pp to shuttle from Ultramar ferry port to airport SO CHEAP).
The rooms were clean and smelled normal (no sewage type smell) when we first arrived. We booked a bay room and i'm fairly certain we had the best view in the house (fourth floor, middle room). If you had the sliding doors to the balcony open, it can get a bit noisy but it was no bother and when closed the noise was very, very minimal!
The breakfast was very basic, yet ESSENTIAL. Almost no other hotels offered any sort of complimentary breakfast, so my husband and i definitely took advantage of this (cereals, fruits, yogurts, breads, jams, coffee, juice, etc).
We were so close to Playa Norte beach that we did not even take a dip in the pool, although we peeked and it looked like a relaxing, peaceful place!
Although we came during the low season and only stayed four nights, we fell in love and will most definitely be returning to Isla Mujeres as well as Bahia Chac Chi!

Cons:
-Bathroom counter had ants (but no other place in room).
-Shower curtain very light, water leaked by toilet during shower.
-No refrigerator.
-No fitness center.

Room Tip: Lights and air conditioner do not turn on unless the key is inserted in a slot on the wall (i have i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Bahia Chac Chi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia Chac Chi

Address: Lote 12, Mza 8, Smza 01, Avenida Rueda Medina, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bahia Chac Chi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia Chac Chi is set in the heart of Isla Mujeres, just steps away from downtown restaurants, shopping & entertainment, the main ferry port and the powder white sands of Isla Mujeres' North Beach. Boasting a contemporary architectonic design, Bahia Chac Chi invites its distinguished guests to enjoy its modern facilities, top of the line amenities and the magnificent views of The Mujeres Bay, the Turquoise blue waters of the Caribbean and Cancun's famous Hotel Zone skyline. The property features 25 superbly appointed Deluxe Rooms featuring flat screen TVs with cable, digital security box, complimentary in room wi-fi and fridge. A pool solarium and lobby bar. Friendly Staff to fulfill your needs and make your stay the most pleasant and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Bahia Chac Chi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bahia Chac Chi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.