We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why so quiet?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da Luisa

Da Luisa
Avda. Martinez Ross M98 L5 | Salina Chica | Salina Chica, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
011-52 998-888-0107
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 166 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Wonderful rooftop dining. Great Italian- Mediterranean food; specialize in seafood.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Why so quiet?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Had a great meal here. There were only two other tables taken.
We sat out on the mid level overlooking the sea.
Started with the obligatory guacamole (excellent) followed by pasta with camarones (again excellent but too much!). My wife had a linguini dish with mixed seafood - great.
The service is very good and we're truly astonished that this place isn't busier. Just a 30 peso taxi ride from the downtown hustle and bustle (and at times very average food). This place is great with a good Italian chef and also good Mexican chefs. Give it a try - tou won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    32
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great staff, and gorgeous view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Pretty much the perfect place for a meal. We were lucky to find Da Luisa early in our visit to Isla Mujeres, and we came back as often as we could. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect restaurant on the rooftop of Casa Ixchel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Staying downstairs at the hotel, I had a nice treat upstairs with welcoming service, and a fair priced menu that over delivered. Jubè, my favorite server was very professional and helpful. I had breakfast, lunch and dinner there and I didn't have a bad meal... All fresh, balanced and the most gorgeous view!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Campo, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Went here for dinner one evening. Weather was terrible - rainy and the wind blowing. Did not get to enjoy the view but looks like it would normally be beautiful. Best guacamole we found. Tuna tartar was okay. Grilled shrimp were excellent. Very good wait staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Lovely restaurant with views of the sea. Really friendly and helpful staff and the best mojitos we had on the island. Also great food.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Luisa also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Da Luisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Luisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.