We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, clean, basic hotel in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rocamar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rocamar to your Saves list
Hotel Rocamar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Nicolas Bravo y Entre Abasolo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Virginia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great, clean, basic hotel in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Rocamar is a great hotel. Very clean, modern, but also basic. It has a pool and they will provide you with ice, and free wireless internet in the open-air lobby, but other amenities aren't part of the hotel. Currently no TVs in the rooms (although I'm told they're working on it). The ocean view rooms are worth the extra couple of bucks (get main to upper floors to avoid partial blockage by the seawall). While there is no beach, you can't get closer to the ocean and it's beautiful! The main beach is about a 5 to 10 minute walk away, so not bad at all. The reward is you have a hotel outside of the "hotel zone" so traffic noise, etc. is minimal. All the conveniences you need (market, laundry, restaurants, etc) are right at your door. The main drag of downtown is just a block away making it really convenient.

Another review mentioned the open air disco, which is true (he/she probably heard the music if they had a room facing it). But, it's a great place!!! It's called La Luna: A combination lunch/dinner and evening nightclub that has an open air courtyard, great music and on certain nights a live salsa band.

Rocamar makes the grade for a good hotel at a good price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    139
    46
    12
    4
See reviews for
35
162
29
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

We were told that the island is beautiful with great beches and sea - i have to say coming straight from eco, chilled out Tulum it was a shock! best way i can describe the island is that it's like the USA's version of Benidorm! It is a cute little island but it's over crowded with rowdy American's on holiday, make sure you go to the North beach and walk to the right when facing the sea along to a much nicer quieter end of the beach to escape the noise and empty beer bottles. We looked for a while from Tulum on the internet to get a hotel that wasn't in town and horrible or by the sea and decorated like a room from the Golden Girls! we found Rocamar on tripadvisor and we were not dissapointed. It's clean, rooms large and contemporary with quirky design details, like the Sanderson on a budget! our room was large, had a big balcony and a cool glass cube bathroom. The hotel does need some tlc but we only stayed for three nights and it was perfect we paid $100 a night. Hire a golf buggy through reception and you can easily drive round the small island in a few hours taking in all the sights. The North Beach is amazing white sand and clear blue sea that's so shallow you can walk out a long way. A great little island felt bad for the locals that their little paradise has been turned into a tourist mecca but for three nights it was good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Just stayed at the Rocamar and found that a town view room not only looks over the town but it also looks over the local open air dance club/bar. Loud dance music went on until at least 2am every night. (stayed mon-fri.) Probably would have enjoyed hotel more if we were on the beach side. No one seemed to have any complaints from that side. Hotel room was very clean.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setauket, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We booked this without much advance as I suddenly found a great airfare to Cancun and said "let's go"! We had visited Isla 25 years ago and much has changed. it is still beautiful and so laid back it is just what we need. Roca Mar was also just fine. The balcony and the sound of the surf were superb. Beds comfortable and nice linens. Good value. We didn't mind the glass bathroom, I think it made the room feel more spacious. Could have used a little table on the balcony to set my drink down. Also would have been nice to have a place to set the second suitcase, one lived on the frig and the other on a chair. Staff were friendly and helpful. Morning coffee needs improvement as others have said!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

We just returned from Isla Mujeres and had originally booked the Avalon Reef Club, but after seeing some troubling reviews we switched to the Hotel RocaMar, and were thrilled with the outcome. The ocean is litteraly just feet from your balcony, the only thing that seperates you is a beautiful seawall. Out the other side of the hotel you are one block from the town square across wich starts Hidalgo ave, the main street with bustling shops and great open air reasteraunts. The rooms have air conditioning but with the breeze of the ocean it is completely unnesesary . The rooms could not have been cleaner, and the staff was helpfull making check in and check out a breeze. We will be returning to RocaMar and this incredible island.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

I stayed for three nights on the 3rd floor. The moment I walked into the room I knew I made the right choice in accomodations. The room was spotless and the view of the carribean, breathtaking! There is a roomy deck with a hammock large enough for two. We fell asleep each night to the crashing of the waves against the rocky shoreline and woke up to the most spectacular sunrises. The rooms are sparse and do not include a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, or hair dryer, but the view, the privacy and the cleanliness more than made up for it. The bathroom has a glass wall dividing it from the bedroom, which I, because I was travelling with a friend, found a little awkward, but it would be just fine for a couple. The shower was hot and the bed was comfortable. Although it was too cool for a dip in the pool, it was clean and inviting. We were only a block away from the grocery store, two blocks from Maximum coffee shop and a few blocks away from restaurants and all the action on Hildago Street. The walk to North Beach took about 10 minutes. I highly recommend the Roca Mar and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

Our stay at Roca Mar started out very badly. I think we must've opened the hotel or something, because when we arrived, nothing about our room was working. While we sat on the bed, exhausted, hot and jetlagged, they had to fix the lights, the shower, the door, and probably several other things I'm forgetting. Also, we had a room on the ground floor, facing the ocean. I would not recommend taking a ground floor room, because really it is like the basement level. And, unlike the photos on the website, it has no hammock. In general, the room and the hotel lack any ambience or charm. However, what it lacks in charm, it makes up for in location.
Waking up to a view of the caribbean, albeit through a few concrete barriers and a walking path, was spectacular, and listening to the waves lap each night, lulling you to sleep, was pretty incredible. It also was on the edge of the main part of town, making everything completely accessible, while remaining a quiet retreat from the noise of Hildalgo Street. I am not sure this would be my first choice if I was going back to Isla Mujeres, but it would still be a good option.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rocamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rocamar

Address: Calle Nicolas Bravo y Entre Abasolo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rocamar 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable, relaxing escape in Isla Mujeres. Hotel Rocamar in Quintana Roo, Mexico. Reserve our Quintana Roo hotel online and get instant confirmation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Rocamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rocamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.