We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern, nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rocamar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rocamar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rocamar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Nicolas Bravo y Entre Abasolo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 35 hotels in Isla Mujeres
Seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean, modern, nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stay at this hotel every year when visiting the island. The rooms are small, but they recently renovated everything to a very modern, minimal look. It is clean and the staff is great. The hotel is right on the water, but the beach is rocky so it's not a beach where you can hang out. It's a 5 minute walk from the hotel to any nice sandy beach you want to go to.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    97
    35
    6
    4
See reviews for
29
111
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Pros:

Rocamar is an inexpensive option for Isla that would be a perfect destination for a young person or someone who was cost-conscious. Views of the Caribbean along the sea wall are breathtaking and you can enjoy a coffee on your balcony in the morning. It is near the downtown "square" which has free wifi access which is really nice. There's also a small grocery store within a block that is very convenient. Rooms are basic but clean. We had five rooms in our group and most of these were sufficient. One room had no air conditioner working so we needed to move. There is a mini refrigerator that stays cool but don't expect to store items very cold. The church is right across the street so you may hear bells periodically. Hidalgo street is very near so it's a short walk to restaurants/shops.

Cons:

Since Rocamar is on the Caribbean side of Isla, the winds can be very gusty. Depending on your room, you may hear this at night. Be sure to lock your doors securely - not because of safety, but because doors can literally open up if not secured. You may also want to double check that the supply closet doors (if applicable) outside your room are locked. One of these opened up from the wind one night and totally freaked us out because it sounded like a gunshot in the middle of the night. The main issue we had during our stay was inconsistent water. We're not sure if it was a construction issue or what but there were times when the water to the hotel was completely turned off - that includes sinks, toilets and showers. This happened without warning or notice which was frustrating.

Room Tip: Rocamar does not have hair dryers in the rooms, so be sure to pack yours if you like having one. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We booked the Hotel online.
The rooms are very bright and the bathroom has enough space for two people. We would recommand to pay the extra 5 dollars for a room with seaview, it's definitly worth it.
Every day the room was cleaned very good.
There was a small fridge inside, all you need.
Only thing that could be negative, WIFI is only available at the reception and it's not very fast, no problem to just checking e-mails and normal surfing, though.
Staff is very friendly and helpful and they speak some english.
We would come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you want something with budget pricing, some boutique feel, and none of the Disneyland feel of a typical hotel in a Mexican resort town, consider the Rocamar. A refurbished hotel from the 60's with great views of the water right outside the room window (be sure to ask for ocean view), AC, and a small pool and lounge area. Does not have TV in the room (there is one in a common area), but who needs that - read a book, go to the beach! The rooms were not as luxurious as a full on 'Boutique Hotel', but they're comfortable, and half the price. I preferred that the hotels was on the edge of town next to the plaza in front of the main church, as it made eating and strolling through town very easy. I preferred that it was not near the other tourist hotels on the Playa Norte, yet was only an easy 5 - 10 minute walk away.

Again, if you're looking for luxury, maybe go elsewhere. Rocamar has great value and pleasant rooms with good design.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view, on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hotel offers modern ensuite rooms with sea views at a great price. Travelling in Mexico can be very expensive but Rocamar was awesome value for what it is. It has a lovely little pool, wifi, and sun loungers, with such a nice vibe. It is a short walk from everything and really worth the time!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plumsteadville, PA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at Rocamar for about 5 days. We had a King Suite on the top floor of the Hotel, facing the sea. I'm not sure, but I think all the rooms are ocean view....at least on the 2nd and 3rd floors? The balcony outside the sliding glass doors was large, and had a "spa tub" which, due to the overcast weather, we didn't use every day. The breeze coming off the ocean is strong...hold onto your hat.

These King Suites are larger than the King Rooms. The advantage of the King Suite is that it is not only a larger room, but a larger balcony and expansive view...and it has the "spa tub" which looks like a small bathtub sitting on the balcony. It did take a long time to fill up the spa tub with hot water so once we had it filled, we just left the water in it and topped it off occasionally with hot water.

The renovations to Rocamar are visually pleasing. The pool was very nice and the view of the sea is non-stop. Plenty of places to sit by the pool, and also away from the pool. You can get pool/beach towels at the front desk. But in order to actually go to the beach, you'll want to walk down to North Beach (Playa Norte) which is several blocks away. Taxis are available day and night on this road, so if you didn't feel like walking to or from the beach, grab a taxi. They're cheap.

The location of the Hotel is just off the main plaza. Very convenient to all manner of shopping, groceries, local food vendors, and plenty of restaurants.

There are no TVs in the rooms but there is one that sits in an "outdoor lobby" near the front desk. Seating there is minimal, and since we don't watch TV we didn't really care. In that same area, they have a coffee/tea station available in the morning. There is no other food available at the hotel. There is, however, a mini-fridge in the room so you can keep snacks and beverages close at hand. Supermarket is a block away.

Staff was very nice and very respectful. We pay in cash/pesos, so we got the discounted rate. We thought the price was fair for Isla, for the accommodations, and the time of year...high season.

There were some other adjacent rooms that were separate from the main hotel...maybe they're called cabanas, not sure. I took a peak and they looked okay too, but not much of a view from the room...these would be good for people who cannot do too many steps.

Which brings me to the steps. I know it might be really cool and contemporary to have no handrails, but for safety sake they really need to install handrails to go up the steps to the 2nd and 3rd floor rooms. I guess it's not "code" in Mexico to provide handrails, but they were sorely missed...especially since the steps are fairly steep.

The rooms were pretty sparsely decorated, which I guess is the definition of contemporary interior design. In spite of the chairs in the room (and pool) looking like something from another planet, they were surprisingly comfortable. The bed was comfortable. Ample space to hang clothes, and a shelf for other clothes. There is a safe in the room to protect valuables, and you must get the locking device from the front desk.

Now let's consider the bathroom facilities. We had concrete walls to define the bathroom from the rest of the room. I didn't see what some have described as the glass wall bathrooms, but I think Rocamar has got the message that all those glass wall bathrooms need to utilize the curtain they make available. I'm not even sure you have to ask for the curtain anymore, I think they do it automatically. Either way, they have it if your room does not come equipped with concrete walls for the bathroom.

The sink area is separate from the toilet and shower area. They are separated by a wood door which we kept closed at all times unless we were actually passing through the door. It's good you can use the sink area without opening the door to the toilet/shower portion of the bathroom. If you were to leave the bathroom door open, you will smell a somewhat foul odor which we believe eminated primarily from the drain in the shower. Understand that all the plumbing on Isla Mujeres is somewhat fragile. There's something going on with the design of the system at Rocamar because the smell was pretty constant.

In the shower/toilet portion of the bathroom, there was a main ventilation shaft for the hotel. It might be the ventilation shaft that causes the odors to come from the shower drain (and possibly toilet trap?) but whatever it is, it's not too nice. We rigged up something to minimize the odor coming from the shower drain so we could make it more tolerable to use the shower and toilet...we put a wet facecloth over the shower drain and then covered the facecloth by turning the wastepaper basket from the other room "upside down" on top of the facecloth. This seemed to work. We just removed the "rigging" when we needed to shower. Evidently this came as no surprise to the housekeeping staff, because they left it exactly as it was. I know we were not the only room having this problem, and someone else told us they did the exact same thing to "plug up" the odor. This is evidently a problem at Rocamar and whoever designed this building needs to go back to the drawing board to figure out a way to correct the problem.

Aside from the bathroom odor, which we made tolerable, we enjoyed our visit to Hotel Rocamar. And as crazy as it sounds, we'll probably stay there again...it's so convenient to everything, the view is beautiful, there weren't a bunch of little kids running around, and the prices were reasonable for Isla this time of year.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baxter, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I had made a reservation with the Rocamar for April 27-30th. But after a bad place in Cancun we ended up going out to the island earlier so arrived on April 23rd. We gave the desk clerk our papers and asked if our room (booked from/through the descriptions on their website) It was so we went ahead and checked in (room 26). the room was cute, quaint and very clean. We did not have the glassed in bathroom as some rooms did. A nice and pretty comfortable(for Mexico) king bed, a nice closet space, bar style table, a couple of funky looking but comfortable chairs and a mini fridge completed the room. No TV and no phones in the rooms so it really was getting away from it all. The view was fabulous!! It would get pretty warm on the balcony until about 11:00 AM then you would have shade and the wonderful ocean breeze for the afternoon and evening. The only drawback to the room was the dribble shower but the water was nice and hot if you wanted that. Coffee is ready at about 7:00 AM and it is good coffee. There is also a TV and free WiFi in the lobby area which was nice if you wanted to catch the weather or log onto the internet. The pool was nice for an afternoon cool down and three out the four afternoons we went down there we had it to ourselves. The view from the pool is nice as well. No beach unless you walk down the sea walkway right between the hotel and ocean (which was a very nice stroll). Everything worked great in the room and the cleaning staff were great!! A little hard with the communication but that was OK The price was very reasonable. Great location as well, close to shops, restaurants and 4 blocks from the best beach on the island. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rocamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rocamar

Address: Calle Nicolas Bravo y Entre Abasolo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rocamar 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable, relaxing escape in Isla Mujeres. Hotel Rocamar in Quintana Roo, Mexico. Reserve our Quintana Roo hotel online and get instant confirmation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Rocamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rocamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.