We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Vida Dulce Casitas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Vida Dulce Casitas
13 avenida Benito Juarez, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Back Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Every time I leave Isla Mujeres I think, "It can't get any better than this"...and yet, it does every year. I can say the same for La Vida Dulce Casitas! Steve and Jeri are the warmest, kindest hosts and La Vida Dulce reflects that. From free ice and bottled water, lounge chairs to take to the beach, free wi-fi and calls home, to the soft beds, excellent water pressure and unique decor, they've thought of everything to make your stay a comfortable one! La Vida Dulce has added a rooftop palapa and dipping pool since my last visit, and they continue to make improvements every year. It's been fun to watch my good friends make their dream come true on Isla Mujeres! If you're lucky enough to find a vacancy at La Vida Dulce Casitas, make a reservation. You'll consider it your home in paradise!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
34
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed 14 nights in Unit 2 and we wish we could have stayed so much longer. Jeri and Steve are two of the nicest people you can ever meet who really care about your stay. Plus they put so much thought into what a vacationer would want. The beds were super comfortable, mini splits in both rooms, great water pressure and hot water, cable, well equipped kitchenette, water, ice, roof top palapa, ...and the list goes on. I can't say enough about this little piece of paradise.

Room Tip: All three suites are wonderful. Get whichever is available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed with Steve and Jeri for one week. What a great place to stay! Location is awesome.
Very clean rooms and we had everything we could need! If we didn't Steve and Jeri are wonderful hosts ready to help you with anything you need! We had a couple rainy days but we could still be outside and sit on their wonderful patio and enjoy the warm weather!
We stayed in Unit three with another couple and it worked out perfect!
Hope we can make it back someday! Thanks for everything Steve and Jeri!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for just two nights in November, and pained over how we might be able to extend our stay; so gorgeous was Isla Mujeres and this quaint B&B with wonderful hosts!

Jeri and Steve are so welcoming and accommodating, that you just don't want to leave. Matched with the excellent location of their B&B, the lovely rooms with comfortable beds and the best shower in Mexico, and you have the perfect recipe for an excellent vacation.

We stayed in the front room, which was a small self-contained apartment. The kitchen looked well-equipped, not that we had to use it with all the great eating out options that were so close by (5 mins walk to the market, 5 mins to great beach-side restaurants).

We just loved our short stay here, and would not hesitate to recommend La Vida Dulce!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our first trip to Isla. We stayed with Jeri & Steve only 5 days in March 2012 - not long enough! Heard about them from our Alberta friends who go to Isla regularly and were glad we were able to fit in to their Casita's busy schedule.
Our suite was on the main floor. Large rooms, comfortable bed, very clean, air conditioned, everything we needed for our stay. Fridge, microwave, grille, 2 bathrooms, separate shower, ice, free phone calls - our stay couldn't have been more plesant. Roof top palapa was great to get out of the sun and just relax with morning coffee or an evening drink.
Only one block from Hidalgo with all the food, shopping, nightlife and just generally watching the world go by. Attempted to try as many of the restaurants we could manage and were not disappointed. The beautiful west and north beaches were just a short walk away - warmest, cleanest water and lovely white sandy beaches. Steve & Jeri even loaned us beach chairs for our trip to the beach.
We were kindly invited to an evening barbeque allowing us to meet some of their island friends and mainland friends. Just wonderful hospitality - can't say enough about them and will definitely return to this island paradise.

Room Tip: Upstairs suite is large enough for a family with the palapa is just outside your door. Main floor s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed there in June, 2012 for an anniversary trip. It was perfect! Steve and Jeri are fantastic. They are always willing to help with whatever you need and they know everyone! Helped us set us a whale shark tour, even gave us dramanine to take before we went. Told us some great places to eat, helped with golf cart rental. Location is great, very close to the beach and some great eating places very close. I would much rather stay here than a stuffy all inclusive, you get to feel like you are at home, but also experience some more of the local life. The free calls to US were a life saver as this was the first time we left the kids at home. Also the wifi was great for checking work emails. We stayed in the top unit which was very spacious and certainly enough room for two couples or a family. Comfy bed, hot water, fridge, etc. Perfect vacation. Thanks Steve and Jeri!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have heard of Steve and Jeri and the La Vida Culce for years from John and Melissa,thay make you feel like family. Great hosts!!!! We have found a home.The bedroom was was just right, great air-conditioning, it was very clean, free water it was nice. The best part were the people Steve, Jeri, Chris all the local people, they share everything, its like visting family.We laughed and laughed,had a great time I'm still smiling and laughing, but Im home, making resevation to go back.We could walk to the beautiful beaches with white sand and incredibly blue carribean waters, with the the gently breeze cooling you down sitting under the fantastic big palapa on the roof top with hammocks strung around with all the restaurants and grocery store, little shops and more. What an Awesome location! There's little extras that I didn't expect at all...they have a freezer in the main hall where you can help yourself to the ice (bags of ice are stocked)...free, I'LL be back soon!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Vida Dulce Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vida Dulce Casitas

Address: 13 avenida Benito Juarez, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Central Location - Blocks from the beach & around the corner from downtown shopping/restaurants. Newly remodeled, quaintly decorated w/ton of amenities, including: high speed WIFI, cable TV, bottled water, free calls home (to US & Can), kitchenettes w/microwave/pizza oven/fridge, mini split A/C & Ceiling fans in each room. New pillow top mattresses with high thread count linens. The back unit has 1 and 1/2 baths. Units do adjoin with double dead bolt doors to accommodate renting both units as one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Vida Dulce Casitas Hotel Isla Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Vida Dulce Casitas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Vida Dulce Casitas to your Saves list