We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Color de Verano Village Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Color de Verano Village Apartments
Save Saved
You added Color de Verano Village Apartments to your Saves list
Av, Adolfo L Mateos | Centro, Isla Mujeres, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Austin Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have always wanted to stay in the Penthouse, having been given a 'tour' once when we were regular visitors to the Cafe there , now sadly closed.
What stopped us was the 'waiting list'. It is such a great place to stay that in the Season it does get fully booked. However needing a break after an intense and exhausting business trip to Europe we were not put off by the hot and humid weather in September and this was the perfect get away. We did stay in another property in Isla owned by the proprietor and were made to feel so welcome that we looked forward to returning. We were not disappointed. If you have read other reviews then you will know that the apartment is beautifully furnished (much of it made by the owners husband)and has wonderful views out to the Beach across the road and the bay separating Isla from the mainland.
What makes the place so special for us is the beautiful' energy' of the owner Teresa. She made us feel immediately at home and did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible.
Whilst Isla can be very hot and humid this time of year. Don't let that put you off. The temperature of the sea ensures you never get too hot! Some of the plentiful Island's Restaurants are closed off season but most remain open and are pleasantly uncrowded though less so at the weekend.
I was delighted to find that prices on the Island as well as in Cancun outside of the Hotel Zone were most reasonable. Personally I will not be going back to the Hotel Zone again. Too crowded and way too expensive. Why it is so much more expensive than my home town in Texas, I will never know!

Room Tip: The Penthouse suite is exceptional but all the rooms are much nicer than most hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Victoriaville, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We rent studio 1, for 10 days, in august 2012: it was amazing. staff is great, teresa is wonderful, she speaks spanish, english and french which is really useful. She'll help you for anything.The studio was perfect: kingsize bed, really comfy, full kitchnette really helpful, a lot of space. It is a great deal,rates are low, everything's near, 2 minute's walk to the beach, 5 to any restaurants. The room service is also perfect and very respectful. We've found nothing negative, and we recommend it to anyone who's looking for great vacations in Isla Mujeres. Any questions, contact us!
Catherine et Olivier

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I can’t say enough good things about Color de Verano. My two teen sons and I stayed in the penthouse, in July. It is perfect for a couple, and with kids I was afraid it would be a bit crowded, but since we were out and about during the hottest part of the day, asleep at night, and spending our time on the spacious balcony the rest of the time, we fit in just fine. For sleeping, they kindly added a cot for us, which my sons fought for and declared “the most comfortable bed they ever slept on.” The views are amazing, the style is impeccable, and the furnishings are high-end. I am completely spoiled – I wouldn’t stay anywhere else on Isla…

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Color de Verano is a complete apartment for Apt1 and two and Penthouse. Penthouse has a superb view on the balcony. New construction at Jax has not hampered the beautiful view in any way.
From the deck you can see all directions. Nice lounge chairs adorn the balcony and a refreshing hot tub with a view.
Housekeeping staff are very good and the owners are very attentive to your needs. We always have hot water.
Beach chairs are provided for all guests which saves a lot of money at 50 pesos each on beach.
Whichever unit you select you will be happy with it. This a great property with a wonderful location almost on the beach.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Just returned from spending the entire month of May in the penthouse at Color de Verano. All I can say is WOW!! Beautiful, spotless and a perfect layout. The deck is large and includes lounges for those mornings you don't feel like going to the beach. Teresa is a perfect hostess and will help you with anything, just ask.

If you truly appreciate excellent woodwork you will enjoy this place. Cabinets, railings, mirrors etc. are all custom-made and the workmanship is some of the best I have ever seen. The hotel is a perfect blend of nautical and art deco.

We can't wait to return next year!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We just returned from our trip to Isla Mujeres where we stayed at the Color de Verano for a week and loved our stay. We rented both of the first floor studios...one side for the kids...one side for my wife and myself. It worked out wonderfully. First Teresa set up the kids side with two single beds which made them happy. There is not really a price that can be put on having space when you need it. Were the rooms huge...no, they are true studios. But the separate living spaces for us and the kids were appreciated by all. There are doors connecting the rooms that we left open during the week.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We really appreciated having coffee makers and coffee in the rooms every morning so we did not have to run out and grab a cup right when waking up. We stopped at a grocery store on our way to the island and had stuff for breakfast and lunch on hand. It was hard to not enjoy all the great restaurants on Isla for every meal but we managed to do so for a few meals.

Teresa also helped my wife get a cake for me as I celebrated my birthday while down on vacation. It was greatly appreciated!

The location is amazing...just a short walk to the beach or shops/dining. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heyworth, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

The Color de Verano Penthouse is likely the best place we have ever stayed and definitely the cleanest. The say location is everything and Teresa and Louis have it. All of the reviews here are right on target. Sometimes it is the little things that make the difference beyond the standard necessities. Chairs to take to the beach. Complimentary bottle of wine, coffee and water. Beach towels. Can see the beach while showering. Free laundry. Wi-Fi and ethernet connectivity. The hot tub water is changed for each new guest. Kitchen can be used for breakfast and lunches to save a bunch of money after a trip to the grocery store. Can buy food, ice and wine in the office.

This was our 20th wedding anniversary trip. We stayed 7 nights and slept the best we have in months. Everything is in walking distance. Can choose to eat on the water (Bally Hoos or Minnenos) or go to Hildago Street and choose from many fine places to eat. Best yet, Jax right downstairs has a large American/Mexican menu, cheapest beer on island and live sports on Big Screen TVs. The beach across the street is spacious, clean and has to be one of the best in the world. Sunset happy hours are steps away.

The views from the Penthouse deck and the hot tub are ones that will become etched in our minds. After staying at Color de Verano, it would be real hard to choose somewhere else on the island because we would wish we were there the whole time.

Room Tip: Book early and avoid the busy season (Mid December - April)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Color de Verano Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Color de Verano Village Apartments

Address: Av, Adolfo L Mateos | Centro, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Color De Verano Village Apartments Hotel Isla Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Color de Verano Village Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.