We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lolo Lorena

Lolo Lorena
Rueda Medina s/n, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
+52 998 704 4392
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 167 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $2
Cuisines: French, Dessert, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Dinner in a private garden around a communal table. Chef Lolo creates a different menu each night. Please tell the chef of any special needs, dislikes or allergies when you reserve and she will accommodate you
Isla, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Wow, great food, service and ambience........what a great night we had with Lolo and Omar at this quaint, charming and romantic restaurant located in the middle of this beautiful little oasis. Definitely a must while visiting Isla Mujeres, we started our evening with a mango ceviche, fresh mango, apple, ginger and cilantro, followed by mussels steamed with garlic, tomatoes and onions, then the most exquisite risotto filled with several types of mushrooms and for the main course grilled shrimp, sweet potato puree and vegetables. And if this wasn't enough, then came dessert, 8 mini desserts, what a delightful end to a beautiful meal! thanks Lolo!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    26
    17
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Once again, our favorite meal on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

By this point, I feel like I've reviewed Lolo Lorena's so many times, and told so many people about it, that I feel like I'm a commercial. Every time we go, it's simply a fantastic experience.
Amazing food, beautiful setting, fun people, and of course, Lorena herself, who I simply adore.

The basics:
One seating a night. Make a reservation. Communal table. No menus (although if you have special dietary needs - she's very good about accommodating). many small courses (5, 6, 7 - I tend to lose count). Plan on being there for over 2 hours.

Tips: Bring your own wine. My wife and I normally bring two bottles, which carries us through the evening (and allows us to share a glass or two with new friends). Open yourself up to interact with new people, and to try new foods.

It's not just dinner - it's an entire evening experience.

Our favorite place to eat on the island, and Lorena is one of our favorite people. Hard to top that combination.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovelove Lolo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I love this place, it's the 5th time I've been to Lolo's over the years and it's always a highlight of my visit. Lorena has such a warm and generous spirit and it comes through in her food and how she hosts her guests. It's a beautiful space, dining al fresco in her courtyard - it feels like a secret garden. You get course after course of beautiful looking and tasting food, I wish all my meals were this long and luxurious. Bring your own wine and be prepared to have a social evening. The mojito's are really good too. Loved the entertainment, she had a fire dancer performing poolside. You never know what surprises are in store at Lolo's but I have never been disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Another wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We live on Isla for several months a year, so we do not dine out as much as vacationers. However, we always seem to find ourselves at Lolo Lorena when we want a memorable dining experience. Lolo has never failed to please us with her unique, delicious menu choices. On our recent visit, there were a total of 4 couples for dinner. This made for a quite intimate dining experience. The conversation flowed all evening, and the food was, as always, absolutely scrumptious!
Lolo was the perfect chef and hostess. She welcomed each guest individually, then as a group, explaining the menu. The courses consisted of cheese stuffed baby zucchini, followed by a thai salad topped with grilled shrimp, wild mushroom risotto, then cucumbers with yogurt and fresh dill (served as a palate cleanser). The main course was tenderloin of beef with a green peppercorn sauce, atop dauphinose potatoes. Everything was incredibly delicious as well as beautifully presented. I wish l could pick a favorite course, but everything was so good l really couldn't choose one. Dessert was also fabulous! Lolo served 9 mini desserts, all completely decadent. We had another incredible dining experience with our favorite chef on Isla. We will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Some Enchanted Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

After visiting Lolo's last year, we knew to make our reservation well before we left for Isla. I say "visiting" because that is what dinner at Lolo's is --a visit to a private home with dinner prepared and served by a superior cook and hostess. We enjoy the entire experience -- dining with adventurous locals and vacationers from all over the world, having a meal unlike any other on the island, and chatting and sharing with a wonderful, warm, charming personality in her well-appointed abode. The generous and lengthy reviews about the food and experience speak for themselves -- we'll be visiting Lolo whenever we are lucky enough to be in Isla.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lolo Lorena also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Lolo Lorena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lolo Lorena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.