We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mango Cafe was perfect on a beautful Isla day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Cafe

Mango Cafe
All'interno Dell'isola | Colonia Meteorológico. Across from Guadalupe Church, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
+52 998 159 2187
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 152 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Mexican, Eclectic, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Horario lunes a viernes de 7:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Friday 7:00am - 3:00pm
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Mango Cafe was perfect on a beautful Isla day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stopped our golf cart at Mango Café to grab a bite to eat after sporting around the island much of the day. We just happened upon Mango, knowing nothing about it. Other than being very hot inside the restaurant, the food was outstanding. I had the fish tacos (fried fish) and they were in my top 3 of all time. The service was great and the environment very cute. They even allowed up to bring in our half-finished beers from the golf cart as our appetizer! I would highly recommend Mango Café!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,414
    186
    46
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Variable - not so good when busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We visited Mango twice, 2 quite different experiences. The first time our order came out reasonably quickly and the food was good enough for us to return, although some of the menu is a bit odd. Would recommend the Maya Scramble. The walls and tables are decorated with paint reminding customers to review the restaurant, waiting staff also remind you, bit OTT. Sadly our 2nd visit wasn't good, we waited nearly an hour, the refillable coffee disappeared and never returned and our bill was wrong, when amended it wasn't clear and as a result we put down money 30 pesos short of the bill. Usually we would tip 15%, but given the service, we didn't feel it necessary. The waitress wasn't particularly nice about the mistake. A decent restaurant would have made some sort of adjustment for the delay and been more civil.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicioso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Lunch was Fish tacos with mango and the Huevos Rancheros. Ginger lemonade and watermelon fruit water made it just about the perfect lunch. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great find in Isla Mujeres!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Small, clean, friendly with lots of local flavor and atmosphere!! And Delicious! Off the beaten path, and worth it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Food was fine, but service can be VERY slow...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was billed by our local guide as a great place for breakfast and lunch (does not do evening meals) and is highly recommended on Trip Advisor (the restaurant remind you on most occasions to review them on Trip Advisor!).

It is situated in the less touristy town south of the airstrip.

We went there twice for breakfast. The first time they only had a couple of tables occupied and service was good and the food was very good and reasonably quickly delivered for a reasonable price. No air-con, but hey, it’s a rustic type place and fine for that. So our first visit left us with a good impression, not great, but certainly good to very good.

The second visit was a real let down though. I have to say that the food was up to the same standard as the first visit. They were busier for sure, but certainly not every table occupied and it wasn’t as though we all sat down at once either. It took about 50 minutes from order for our food to arrive for a table of four. The ‘bottomless’ coffee urn disappeared and did not reappear for the duration of our by now lengthy stay. I am all for a leisurely breakfast but this??

I don’t know what went wrong on our second visit and whether they routinely struggle with a three quarter full restaurant (it is a small place, maybe eight tables in total), but it was a let down on our second visit and they knew it (no reminder on our second visit to rate them on Trip Advisor!!).

By all means eat here if you are happy ‘risking’ a two hour breakfast!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango Cafe also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Mango Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.