We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Cafe

Mango Cafe
Payo Obispo #725 | Colonia Meteorológico. Across from Guadalupe Church, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
+52 998 159 2187
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 147 restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Mexican, Eclectic, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Horario lunes a viernes de 7:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Friday 7:00am - 3:00pm
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The coffee is off the chart and the view of an open church is priceless. This place is small but has the best food and a great atmosphere. We dined here several times while on the island.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    1,233
    149
    38
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A very creative twist on Mexican Quisine! Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We found Mango cafe on Trip Advisor and could not wait to try it! Very friendly waiter.....perfect English and suggested we try the West Indies Chicken Tacos and the Fish Tacos with a Mango salsa! Between the three of us we shared the two plates! Lots of food and so Delicious! The Ginger Lemonade was also just perfect on a super hot day! We will be going back one more time before we leave FORSURE!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Do not miss the Mango Cafe when you visit Isla! The Coconut French Toast is out of the this world. We loved talking with the owner. Small establishment, excellent service, fabulous food!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Why can't this place be in my town?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I went here on a day excursion to the island on the recommendation of our Captain, Captain Liam, of the Catamaran Induna. I wish I could thank him again for his reco!

It's a little hard to find if you don't know where you are going. Look for the church spire and head there. It's across the street.

The waiter was very friendly and the place was cozy, with very few tables, yet completely charming. She got the fish tacos and I got the steak burrito with a side of the mango habanero hot sauce (amazing).

Everything was FRESH. So fresh. The presentation was perfect. These guys care about their food and are serious about service.

The fish tacos were delicious. They were breaded perfectly, fried until crispy outside but still moist inside, and topped with a mango salsa. The wife loved them, and she's quite the fish taco fiend.

The steak burrito was loaded with steak. I doused it liberally with the habanero sauce and it was incredible. Almost like a mix between habanero puree, mango juice, and Italian dressing.

We ate every piece of our meals and then decided to force down dessert, figuring it had to be great based on the main course. We got the Mangoes' toast n' creme. Get it. No excuses, just get it. I don't care how full you are. It may have been the best dessert I've ever had. No kidding.

Vanilla ice cream, caramel sauce, on something that tasted like warm French Toast. Isla Mujeres heaven.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Believe the hype.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It really is that good. The poblano pepper stuffed with eggs, cheese, bacon, onions and peppers, then coated and fried, is just astonishingly delicious. Portions are huge. It's a small place and I'm sure it gets crazy busy during hgh season, but when we visited in August we were able to get a table right away. It's an open-air place with just fans for cooling, but we weren't uncomfortable even though the morning was very hot. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango Cafe also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Mango Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.