We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel on Isla-Excellent Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Xbulu-Ha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Xbulu-Ha to your Saves list
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Vicente Guerrero #4 | Col. Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Little Hotel on Isla-Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Xbulu-Ha for four nights at the end of March, 2009. We had a very good experience there. We were in one of the suites, 4D, at the back of the hotel. It was very quiet and the air conditioning worked well. My wife really liked having the little kitchenette area with a coffeemaker so we could drink our favorite coffee (brought from home) in the mornings. We would sit in the second floor balcony, enjoy the constant breeze blowing through, and watch the town wake up. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The only negative was that the extra bed (cot) provided for our teenage daughter was rock hard like sleeping on a board. She complained so much after two nights I ended up on the cot....trouble in paradise.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    44
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
59
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

Spent 13 glorious days in this hotel that has all rooms located on the second floor. A fabulous breakfast restaurant is downstairs. The hotel is very clean, a short walk to the best beaches and restaurants. The views from the front rooms are amazing. The rooms are either a double bed room with refrigerator, flat screen TV & A/C or an Apartment with one king bed and kitchenette, flat screen TV & A/C. Free WiFi and morning coffee are also included in the "best price" hotel on the island. Already rebooked 14 days for next year.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

Great location for being close to the shops, restaurants and the beach yet the hotel itself is on a quiet street.
The rooms are modest and could reaaallly use a place to hang up clothes but the rooms are kept exceedingly clean and have everything a traveler needs. We chose this hotel over other cheaper options because it had a mini fridge and a/c. Neither were used very much but the option is very nice.
There is a tiny market below so you don't have to go far to get your bottled water (20 pesos for a big jug). There is also a great breakfast joint downstairs that serves Cazuelas (a layered dish of beans, salsa, eggs, tortillas and cheese). It comes out piping hot and topped with pan-fried bananas, the Holbox Cazuela is hard to beat.

We stayed here six nights and would definitely go back but I have two warnings besides the no closet aspect.. 1. The cleaning staff organized all of our possessions daily, so if you don't want your stuff to be messed with put it away in the drawers or in your luggage. 2. The bed is a tad hard and the covers a tad flimsy.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

I discovered Hotel Xbulu-Ha as I wandered the streets of Isla Mujeres. It's tucked upstairs above an internet cafe and a dentist, in a relatively new building. When I inquired about rates, the receptionist was quite welcoming and friendly, and really worked with me to get a good rate for my 5 night stay. (Around $30US, but it was still low season.)

The room was large, very clean, and nicely appointed (flat screen TV, hair dryer, free in-room safe, and small fridge). Some rooms include full kitchens as well. There was also excellent lighting, something I've found lacking in many hotels in Mexico/Central America.

My room was cleaned and tidied every day without fail, and the staff was always very friendly. It was a very quiet location (a block off the main Avenida Hidalgo), yet it was close to everything.

Xbulu-Ha felt like home by the end of my stay - I hated to leave.

  • Liked — Location, price, room amenities, friendly staff
  • Disliked — No complaints at all
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Xbulu-Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xbulu-Ha

Address: Calle Vicente Guerrero #4 | Col. Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Xbulu-Ha 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Xbulu-Ha is like your second home in your vacation. The staff is always ready to help you in what you need. The hotel is located in Isla Mujeres downtown. Both the ferry and north beach are no more than 5 min walking from the hotel. Also in two blocks you are in Hidalgo street where the restaurants and bars are. So you are close to have fun, but far to do not be disturbed with the noise. Hotel Xbulu-Ha has WiFi, beach towels and chair for the beach as complimentary service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Xbulu-Ha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Xbulu-Ha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.