We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in February” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cielito Lindo Apts

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cielito Lindo Apts
Save
You added Cielito Lindo Apts to your Saves list
78 Rueda Medina, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Cornwall England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Stay in February”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Cielito Lindo was our 1st stop on a 6 week tour of Mexico. Arriving from the snow at Gatwick Airport 'Isla' gave us a very welcome recovery from jet lag.

The apartment is comfortable and decorated with good taste and character. Joy was very obliging. I mentioned that we were not used to microwave cooking and she surprised us with a newly installed gas 2-burner gas hob.

The circus was in town and had non-stop loud-speaker vans driving up and down but otherwise the appt was quiet for sleeping.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fall River,NS
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Just spent five weeks at this Apt. and it made a good home base. Certainly close to the beach and downtown core. Joy was very accommodating and supplied us with a toaster, iron and large fan when we made an enquiry. She is also very knowledgable, informative and interesting to talk with. Plenty of hot water and bottled water and an adequately stocked kitchen for light meal preparation. It was great to walk across the street and buy fresh fish and have it filleted while you wait. This street is probably the busiest on the island with lots of traffic. However, It is a great spot for Carnival and to people watch. Met very nice neighbours and Adrian in the downstairs store was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I just spent 2 wonderful, laid-back weeks on Isla Mujeres. What made it so, wasn't only the beauty and intimacy of this island, but the beach studio I rented in Cielito Lindo, literally 10 steps (mine) across the street to the beach. My room was spacious, airy, culturally and tastefully decorated, complete with a kitchenette and bathroom/shower, and free WiFi. I didn't opt for A/C, and found the overhead fan and the cross breeze from the patio doors and window on the other side provided refreshing comfort. But that's me, as I personally don't like A/C. The complex (three floors: ground floor has two businesses, second floor houses two studio apartments, and the third is the owner's home) is located on the main street and is busy and lively during the day due to local traffic, tourist golf carts, and tourists from Cancun coming over for a day's respite from the big city. It does make for good people watching while sitting on the balcony enjoying an ice-cold cerveza. :-) At night, however, the street is quiet; from around 9:30 PM through to sunrise at around 7:30 AM. The owner (and her darling dog) is almost always available and accommodating should you have questions or require information; or, just leave her a note! I loved this place and certainly will return. It's central, only steps from a terrific beach, and within a pleasant short walking distance to restaurants, cafes, and a supermarket. I loved this apartment and it suited me perfectly!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

i am just glad to hear good comments about cielito Lindo, good work joy..

Room Tip: always find the position on where you want to be more for to safe.. meet locals around, local food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwalk ct
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

First let me say i know the owner Joy for many many years.And to have someone say the place is dirty,is wrong Joy is a clean freak,she does nothing but clean.Her place is Great and shes one of the few real real true people from isla.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huron, oh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Cielito is the perfect "landing" spot for this wonderul, safe island. It is located across from a great stretch of beach...you can meet fisherman in the AM and buy fresh fish, just be sure to take a bag to put it in. We had coffe each morning, on the balcony, and watched Isla awaken each day. Then I would stroll over to the market, for fresh tortillas, eggs and advocadoes, to make a great breakfast in the cute and well equiped kitchen...once again to enjoy with our balcony view. The unit is in the town, which is full of eateries, and across from lounging chairs....where you can order a beer and snack and hang out all day. If the water gets rough on this side of the island (makes great sleeping), it is a 5 minute walk to the other side, and calm waters. It is the perfect place (decorated in authentic Mexico) and location. Joy, the owner, gave us all kinds of insider tips about great little excursions around town, and around the island. She is so sweet and helpful..... because of this apartment and Joy,....our trip was the best of all of our trips. Cielito is so popular, with people returning each year, contact Joy through her website.......early. There can be cancellations, just contact her and she'll help you out.

Room Tip: Unit 1 has 2 balconies, ocean and garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

I am glad that I did not pay heed to the comment posted stating that Ceilto Lindo was a dirty, noisey disappointment. Upon reading this comment it stuck out that this couple has stayed in three hotels in maybe 6 days and was still looking around. Just didn't sound right. And then complaining about Cats and Dogs seemed to be a bit absurd. What would they like the Island of Isla Mujeres to do about their animals. Tape the mouths shut. .I have just returned from a week at Ceilto Lindo. To call it a hotel room does not do it justice. It is an Apartment which is clean and large ,the pillows and bed are very very comfortable , and it is decorated nicely . A home away from home. Spacious with a view of the Ocean... As for the bathroom I have yet come upon a shower door in any of my travels to Mexico. it is all open, thats the way it is. My room had a private side balcony over looking the Garden which I laid on a comfortable lounger taking the Sun and drinking coffee that I had just brewed in the kitchen. And this was all after a great nights sleep with no disturbances . The birds of the Island not traffic is what I woke up to in the morning. It is situated right in Centro across from a beautiful beach and just minutes to walk to North Beach. Restaurents, bars , beaches all at your disposable with no need of a taxi. All I could say is I believe for some reason this couple viciously attacked Ceilto and spent there time for some reason unbeknown going from hotel to hotel. What where they really in search of ?

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cielito Lindo Apts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cielito Lindo Apts

Address: 78 Rueda Medina, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnished studio apts with kitchenettes, Cable TV, WiFi, across from the main swimming beach, in town, convenient to everything....shopping, restaurants, bank, ferry, all within 4 blocks. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cielito Lindo Apts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.