We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Milagro Beach Hotel and Marina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Milagro Beach Hotel and Marina
Save
You added El Milagro Beach Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
MZA.77 SMZA.2 Lote 04 Ave Rueda Medina, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly El Milagro Marina and Villas)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Traverse City, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We just returned from the El Milagro and had a great time. We stayed in the penthouse suite. With views of both sides of the island you can watch the sun rise and set. The location is great just a short walk or cab ride to town. Also right next door to some great local bars. (The Soggy Peso, Iguana and Bahia Tortuga). If you are looking for a quiet place to relax this is it. All the units are very unique and the beach is nice to relax and watch the sunset. We also enjoyed the use of the SUPs (stand up paddleboard) and kayaks as well as the bikes which we used a couple of times to ride over to Mango Cafe for breakfast. A big thanks to Julio, Rosie and Himey for making our stay enjoyable and for cooking a great dinner for anyone who wanted to take part. A great way to meet and make new friends and the grilled snapper and shrimp was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
76
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

One never really knows when they commit to an unknown place if it will pan out as they hoped. Usually it is a relief if it comes close, but it is really something special when a place far exceeds your expectations. This was the happy surprise that came with this adorable little marina. El Milagro is far from a typical hotel experience. It at once feels like you have stepped off the beaten path into the real Mexico and yet at the same time, like you are home... this is your new community, your family.

I stayed at El Milagro Marina for the entire month of February 2012, and I thoroughly enjoyed my spacious, well-equipped apartment. In addition, there were so many amenities that suited the way I like to travel. There is a lovely little dock that was perfect for my morning yoga, there are kayaks and paddle boards, a dipping pool, and bicycles I used almost daily. There is even a cool little movie theater. But the outdoor kitchen really turns out to be the heart and soul of the place (isn't that what every good kitchen is?). El Milagro seems to attract such an diverse crowd of adventurers and, the way the marina is set up with this kind of community area, coupled with the community dinners, you naturally meet the other travelers and soon discover just how interesting other people are again! (Even if you were starting to get burned out on them back home - LOL)

But, in chorus with the other reviewers, the real treasure at El Milagro is the amazing people who work there. I came to Mexico on a mission to learn Spanish and Julio & Jamie were kind enough to set aside their excellent English to patiently encourage me along even when I tried to cheat (no, no Angelina.. no ingles... solo espanol para tu!). I still have a long way to go, but thanks to their support, I'm on my way. It only starts with Julio and Jamie by the way, as down to the last one, everyone who works there is just wonderful. I miss you guys!! But, don't worry, I'll be back!

Room Tip: Every room I saw there was awesome, but the ones closer to the water are, of course, the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We spent two weeks in February, 2012 enjoying the hospitality of El Milagro Marina. Because it has a marina as well as villas, there are lots of opportunities for cruisers and land based visitors to mingle. Julio took care of our Immigration and Customs clearing in arrangements. Jaime (whose English is good) helped us with all sorts of suggestions and help. Good laundry service and book swap, swings on the dock and shady spots to read or use internet. The best times were the BBQ's held weekly - chicken, fish, ribs and once, even lobster, along with a table full of side dishes. The costs varied but were always reasonable. We used the kayaks and paddleboards, lazed in the sun, swam off the dock and enjoyed the proximity to both the town and the big grocery store. El Milagro. Eric worked a little miracle here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I had not stayed at El Milagro in awhile but recently stayed for 8 nights. It's even more awesome than before. The owner, Eric, has made a ton of improvements. The existing rental villas have been renovated and updated and there are several brand new rental villas. There are lots of other additions to enjoy....huge community kitchen, upstairs sun deck, swimming pool, movie theater and improved beach area. Also, there are bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, snorkeling equipment and a game room (with ping pong table) for the use of marina guests. Jaime and Julio are still there and will go out of their way to make sure your stay is a pleasant one. The location is perfect...just far enough from Centro to be calm and peaceful but still close enough to walk. You will get much more of a "Mexican" vacation experience here than you will in a chain hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Spent a week at El Milagro at the beginning of March. What a nice stay, the entire place is very clean and the staff were great! They would drop whatever they were doing to help or answer questions. The staff even offered to give me a ride to the market when they were going shopping for supplies for the facility. Eric, the owner who actually lives in Santa Barbara but spends much time at the Marina, was so welcoming and making the reservations was a breeze! Did not have to worry about sending money to an owner outside of the US. Had a great time and enjoyed the trip to Isle Mujeres. Had one great evening meal (fresh fish) that was prepared for guests by the staff, it was wonderful. Other guests were a treat and the folks staying on boats were interesting and friendly too. This is a great place to stay, a convenient walk to the downtown area and cabs were only $3.00 if you felt like getting a ride to town rather than walking along the ocean front sidewalks. It was easy figuring out how to get to and from the Cancun airport to the island. I definitely recommend the El Milagro!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I recently had the great pleasure of staying at "el milagro" marina and hotel. We are on our sailboat and brought it down from Thomaston Maine this fall. Our stop at El Milagro was certainly the best marina we had visited in our 3,000 mile trip south. We are currently in Belize but plan to sail back up to El Milagro for my my birthday since it was the best stop on the way. For cruisers it is a great marina, you get to meet some nice boaters and some very interesting guests at the hotel. The staff is great and works hard at making sure people have a good time-and they are successful in that endeavor. If you are sailing it is a good place for a crew change-flights to Cancun are cheaper than most other places and if you are late arriving for the change they will not be unhappy to stay at the hotel. In fact they may decide to stay at the hotel and forego the "fun" of the next leg of the trip. The staff is great and the owner is very savvy in allowing this to be a local hotel run by a very competent local staff. If you want a 5 star hotel go to Cancun- you will just take the morning ferry to Isla- but if you want to have a great local place and not have to take the ferry every morning go to El Milagro.

Room Tip: We were in marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatoon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

we stayed at el milagro feb 21 to mar 1, with high expectations and i can say we were satisfied with our stay. the staff is what really makes this place great. while we were there they cooked two meals for us and the other guests, one was for everyone the other we asked if they could do a live lobster feast, both meals were exceptional but our lobster supper was the best, they cooked it on wood coals covered with some type of wet leaves and the taste of the lobster was one that i have never tasted before. they served it with all the trimmngs, they do charge you for this but it is very reasonable.
our dock is situated between the old and the new, on one side you have sailing vessels from all over the world, onthe other you have fishemen coming and going bringing in lobster grouper and many other types of fish, this was fun to watch while sitting on the end of our dock with a cup of coffee or tequila depending on what part of the day it was, also to my surprise we would see a variety of fish including stingrays barracuda and lot of other sealife.
we met the owner Eric while we were there, we chatted with him a lot as he stayed in the penthouse above us, great guy
we used the kayaks a lot while we were there that was good except you had to choose your paddle carefully as some were not in good shape, we would go out to el farito snorkelling area and we did snorkel but the days we brought our gear it was very windy and did not get to the good areas.
the property is in a good location not too far from playa norte and not far from their mini walmart(chedraui),
we would come back to this location again and would recommend to others if you want to get a really authenic mexican expierience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Milagro Beach Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Milagro Beach Hotel and Marina

Address: MZA.77 SMZA.2 Lote 04 Ave Rueda Medina, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly El Milagro Marina and Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Milagro is a Specialty Resort Compound and Marina you get much more than Just a Room: Helping Enjoy a Mexican Vacation Experience*Private Sandy Beach with Palapa’s and lounge chairs*Private wooden dock for sitting and relaxing over the water.*16 boat slips at the marina full service, water, power, cable TV, Internet*Free use of bicycles and kayaks *Laundry Service on Site, 24 hour turn around on service*Mini Market on site: beer, liquor, ice, snacks etc for the BYOB bars (locals buy here)*Security 24/7 gated and personnel on site*Huge Community kitchen with refrigerators and stove great for group parties plus out outside BBQ*Three BYOB Bars areas for your use with views decks Palapa’s and more*Second outdoor Cooking area with Wood BBQ* Community Room with ping pong, sharing library, social lounge with WI-FI *Air condition Digital Movie Theater and Cable TV for sports*Sunset /Sunrise Deck looking over the Caribbean to Cancun** Full-time staff to help with all of your needs, cooking, questions, directions Guests and staff regularly host Potluck Fiesta’s (you plan they help)*Fishing co-op next door. Buy your own fish or lobster and staff will help you cook it*Palapa with picnic tables WI-FI and bar*Office- fax, phone, copier and computer access*Dipping pool. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Milagro Beach Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.