We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time at Privilege Aluxes, see you in 6 months!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Privilege Aluxes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Privilege Aluxes to your Saves list
Privilege Aluxes
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ave Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Third time at Privilege Aluxes, see you in 6 months!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at Privilege Aluxes but our first trip with a 7 month old baby. We have been so happy and satisfied with this hotel that we cannot possibly stay somewhere else. We booked 14 days and decided we would bring our family with us this time, we had 3 rooms and as always, I emailed Señor Galindo for my room request, so far, Señor Galindo has always been helpful in satisfying my requests and I am very grateful for that.

We had a Deluxe Suite and my family had 2 Superior rooms in the same building. We had a crib in our bedroom as I had requested it in my email.

Our rooms were impeccable except for the fact that our bedroom window leaked when it rained. No problem there, they sent a maintenance guy at 9pm to clean it and put towels. We did get charged twice for bottles of water that we didn't take from the fridge but that got fixed at the lobby, thank you Jesus for being always helpful with a smile on your face.

Every morning at the buffet, the staff were always greeting us with a smile and the minute we stepped through the door, our table of 6 was ready and waiting! They would bring a bowl of hot water every day for me to heat up my baby's food, that was a very nice touch! A big thank you to Alejandro, Jorge and David for being so service-minded and fast! It was a pleasure to see them every morning.
Once it was raining so hard and the manager of the buffet let us go through their kitchen and in their tunnel to our room, I forgot his name but we wanted to thank you for being so considerate! Little things like these makes a whole difference in someone's vacation.

We were happy to see Maria from Quality control, remembering us from the previous year made us feel special.

We had 3 massages while there and hubby and I were always satisfied and relaxed. A big thank you to Roseanna and Orlando! They do a great job at the Spa.

The beach is as spectacular as always and the pool always clean. We're always so impressed how everything is kept so clean and the gardeners are always working around the hotel.
While there, the hotel was being painted and again, their hard work is impressive, starting at 6am and still painting at 7pm!

We would also like to thank Adrian, Guillermo and the older gentleman (also a bellboy) for being so helpful during our stay. Adrian always answered our questions concerning taxis, golf carts, Dia de Los Muertos or whatever we had to ask...he always had an answer for us. This guy deserves a promotion!
The older gentleman (sorry I forgot his name) went out of his way to help us when our baby fell on our last day, he also brought 7 luggages down the stairs from the 4th floor when the elevator broke down.

Just a note to everyone to be extra careful around the pool, it can be very slippery when wet and many people fell in front of us, including myself while holding the baby.

All in all, we all had an unforgetful experience thanks to all the amazing and helpful staff, we always felt welcome! We are already planning our return in April of next year. See you all very soon xxx!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is so flattering to read about experiences like yours.
The whole team at Privilege was so happy to welcome you back and meet your family!

Thank you for giving Privilege Aluxes the chance to offer you such a wonderful experience one more time in this gorgeous destination.

We are honored to be on your favourite places list and it will be a pleasure to welcome you back to your home in Isla in April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    569
    169
    61
    37
See reviews for
187
1,382
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our 2nd trip to Privilege, this time with 3 friends, didn't disappoint.
Jesus and front desk always helpful, Miguel and fellow food/beverage staff excellent!
Love the pool area, private beach is amazing, food delicious. We actually couldn't name somewhere we've enjoyed better food, maybe as good but not better. Staff work so very hard.
Location is perfect and price, compared to others, very good value.
Had All-inc again but maybe just breakfast next time as there R so many other great places to eat at and drinks R cheap anyways.
Dolphin discovery, Whale sharking, and snorkeling R All A must!
Love Mehico and would love to return to privilege.

Room Tip: Both times we've gone for platinum/presidential suite. So good to have private roof top pool wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are grateful for your preference and for sharing your good comments.

Privilege Aluxes seeks to provide experiences and services based on criteria of excellence so we are delighted to read that the food and the service provided by our staff met your expectations.

We remain at your disposal and we will always do our best to continue giving you the kind of service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for our one year anniversary. We'd been to Isla Mujeres for our honeymoon and fell in love with the wonderful island. We generally rent condos when we travel to the Caribbean, but beachfront one bedrooms were scarce on short notice. Looking for an affordable trip we chose the Privilege Aluxes largely based on its location downtown and price. We added the all inclusive option because it was a fairly small charge, and honestly didn't expect much from the food going in, figuring we'd get the value in drinks.

First the good:
- The location. The hotel is on the western curve of the famous playa norte beach. The beach is wonderful, soft sand and smooth bottom into the ocean. While a lovely view, it is slightly better from the hotels / condos that truly face the north beach. Being downtown does make the hotel a good base to explore town from. There are many AMAZING restaurants in town, get out and enjoy them!
- The waitstaff. We had consistently great service from the waiters in Sabor, Cafe del Mar and the pool bar. Enrique and Jaime at the pool bar were always smiling and quick to serve.
- The pool. The pool was very nice, as was the pool bar. There were plenty of lounge chairs, at least for the small number of guests. Several palapa beds around the pool were a nice touch. There are two hot tubs, neither heated and only one bubbled.
- Our room. We had a standard room, with a small balcony facing town, and a side view of the ocean. We wanted affordability and got it. The room was updated and clean. The bed was very firm, we requested an egg crate pad, and received it promptly. Several issues arose, that I'll address next.

The bad:
- The food. As I said, we didn't expect much of the food going in and found that to be true. I don't consider us to be snobs or super picky, but we enjoy good food and plan on it for vacation. The best food we had at the hotel were chicken wings and the omelets at breakfast. We tried the dinner buffet once and that was enough. Don't be afraid to use the hotel as a decent place to sleep and go out for every meal besides breakfast. I know there are rave reviews on TA about the food here, either they had a different chef or no taste buds. :) Some of the friends we made on the trip were interviewed by management after filling out a questionnaire, and after saying the food was lousy were answered with "we know". Perhaps then they need to fix it.....
- The WiFi. To some this may seem trivial, however I needed to be able to stay in touch with work and my wife needed to complete online coursework. The hotel website advertises WiFi as an in-room amenity, but it doesn't work in every room. We began asking the front desk about this problem on the first day. They said they'd check it. When told we needed to be able to work, Jesus at the desk responded by saying " most people come here for vacation, not work. You can get signal in the lobby." Seriously? That didn't seem like a real solution, how can you take an online exam in a noisy lobby? Their next solution was to offer to move us to a room with wifi, but no balcony. Why should we have to downgrade to get wifi? Their next solution was to offer to let us "work" in an unoccupied room with until quote "it becomes booked". That wasn't good enough either. By that time, thankfully we'd become friends with a couple whose room was one floor above ours, interestingly the wifi signal was great in their room, so my wife worked there. I know it may seem trivial, but when it's necessary and advertised, you expect it.
-The desk staff. Through the wifi issue and any other interaction the front desk staff was never friendly, never really helpful. Not the smiling, bend over backwards to help, front-line staff you expect at a higher end resort. Once as we walked through we were fairly certain one of them said "there go a couple of bi&#hes" in Spanish. I guess they don't realize more and more Americans can speak Spanish.
-The drinks. Yes the all inclusive was cheap, but the mixed drinks were bad. We had a few decent one on the beach, but the lousy alcohol just couldn't cut it. The draft beer was passable, and better bottles were available at the beach, Corona light cans were available at the pool.

Overall if you want a decent room/ price downtown on a great beach then by all means use this hotel a base to explore the island. It's not 5 star, maybe 3 star. In fact we joked about popping a few stars off of the hotel sign out front, since it's got 5. Don't expect good food. Don't expect good drinks. The island has some great restaurants, go find them. Isla Mujeres is a wonderful, slower paced, uncrowded destination. We'll be back for sure, just not at the Privilege Aluxes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I went to Isla Mujeres for our 5th wedding anniversary. We stayed 8 days and 7 nights... Loved the resort and loved the island. We chose the all inclusive package and booked the honeymoon suite with an ocean and pool view... it also had a jetted tub on the balcony for watching the gorgeous sunsets. AMAZING VIEWS!!! We ate at Cafe del Mar every day and Sergio went above and beyond to cater to our every request (including bringing us a bag of beers, limes and ice to take with us when we rented a golf cart for the day). The food was incredible, the "fried red snapper" and "surf & turf" for lunch and the "beef medallions" and "coconut shrimp" for dinner was excellent. The island is totally laid back and relaxed... I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I recommend the honeymoon suite. We were in room 152; it was a beautiful ocean and pool view with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your 5th wedding anniversary with us.

It is fantastic to read that you loved your room view and the amazing sunsets that you can enjoy from your terrace.
Thank you for the compliment about our staff. Providing a high level of hospitality is one of our key elements and it will be a pleasure to share your opinions with them.

We would be happy to welcome you again at Privilege Aluxes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This place was amazing. Super clean, super friendly, staff was always very helpful, I miss it already!
We stayed 4 nights all inclusive (the only things not included are spa services and some of the drinks - e.g. bottles of wine), and we enjoyed fabulous meals, good (strong!) drinks, minibar, room service, jacuzzi on the balcony, spa, pool, beach. Even though it rained everyday we were there, it was warm and the staff at Cafe del Mar were amazing and so catering to our every request!
We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool/beach. We had the rooms overlooking the cemetery, which was real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and feelings as they are of great importance to us and we count on those in order to achieve the highest level of service possible.

We are delighted to learn that you had a amazing experience at Privilege Aluxes.
Special thanks for your comments about our staff, we are very proud because we know that the guest experience depends on the good personal contact.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was my first time staying on the island and I thought the room was perfect. It was very clean with a view of the water. We were in walking distance to many restaurants/bars and the golf cart rental that we used. The beach was great and the bar service on the beach was accommodating. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your time and your comments.

We are glad to read that you found your room perfect, that you enjoyed our location in the lively heart of the island and next to the finest beach.

It is great to know that you would definitely stay here again as this is the best prize we can get from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Privilege Aluxes in March. We chose the all inclusive package and it was fantastic! We ate lunch at Cafe del Mar every day, the shrimp tacos were delicious. We've stayed at various hotels several vacation cities in Mexico and this hotel had the best security by far. The beach was beautiful and the servers would bring food and drink right to your chair under your umbrella. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
We want to thank you for your time sharing your experience.
It is a pleasure for us to know that your stay at Privilege Aluxes was an incredible experience because our principal aim is to give you our best service, make your stay unforgettable and reach your expectations.

We are specially glad to know that you will definitely return and we will be looking forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Privilege Aluxes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Privilege Aluxes

Address: Ave Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Privilege Aluxes 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privilege Aluxes: Truly a privileged experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Privilege Aluxes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
Privilege Aluxes Hotel Isla Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Privilege Aluxes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.