We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Privilege Aluxes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Privilege Aluxes to your Saves list
Privilege Aluxes
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ave Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Exceptional experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived via the ferry and were delighted to see that the hotel was walking distance from the pier. After checking in, staff brought us to our room.

Ill start with the room. Our room was the nicest room I have ever stayed in for Mexico. I have been to Puerta Vallarta, Cancun and Rivera Maya twice. All resorts being a minimum of 4 stars and I was impressed. Our room had a jacuzzi on the balcony which was amazing and we used almost everyday. The rooms are very clean and the mini fridge is replenished daily, so enjoy whatever you like. There was a bit of a water leak coming from the roof and we were relocated to another room with a jacuzzi.

Onto the food. The buffet is really good and they change the theme each day for 7 days so if you are there a full week, you will get to experience all the buffet has to offer. The sushi a la carte restaurant was very disappointing. I eat alot of sushi and this place a low quality for that. I ended up going to the buffet right after to eat again. There is another a la carte restaurant near the beach which is much better and the food quality is excellent.

This resort is right next to the beach and could not be in a better location. You walk out your doors and you are literally steps away from the beach where you can watch the most amazing sunsets. I highly recommend this resort to anyone who wants to go on a romantic and relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for giving us your opinion and observations.
We are specially glad that you had at Privilege the nicest room you have ever stayed.
We appreciate your comments regarding the sushi as we are committed to get better day by day and listening to you is the best way to change what needs to be improved, on the other hand we are happy that you enjoyed the buffet and Cafe del Mar.

Thank you for your recommendation as a romantic and relaxing vacation hotel and looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    569
    169
    61
    37
See reviews for
187
1,382
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The service was excellent, the staff is incredibly nice, the room was clean and large, the pool beautiful, and couldn't be any closer to the beach. Within walking distance to rest of island. Loved it!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for posting your experience at TripAdvisor.
We are happy that our staff gave you an excellent service, we are proud to have such a fantastic team at the hotel offering great service to our valued guests.

We hope to see you here soon to offer more memorable moments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Everything here is absolutely top notch, except maybe the food which was 4/5. Highly recommended. Our favorite was the spa baths on the balconies! The location was also perfect, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a balcony with the spa bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor, we value your feedback to help us improve the service we are offering.
We were delighted to see you found the hotel to be absolutely top notch!

It is fantastic to know that you would definitely stay with us again and we look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We just got home from a week in PA. We love it there! We love the staff at PA, super friendly and helpful.

We've always met a great group of fellow vacationers there (We wish we would have exchanged some info with some we met ...(Vincent and Natalie from Montreal...if you read this, please contact Jason jraudet79@yahoo.com, we'd love to hear from you!)

It does tend to be more of a couples resort, but not in a bad way. Not a lot of kids, quiet, but fun! You can have a secluded quiet visit, or party it up as much as you like. Always a good time at the pool bar with Enrique and Jaime (Our favorite bartenders).

Cant wait to come back again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We want to thank you for your feedback and specially for your compliments to our staff as we know that an excellent customer service is essential.

Thank you for choosing us on your second visit to the island, we know that loyal guests are largely responsible for our success and we are grateful to you and we are particularly glad to know that there is going to be a third time!

We appreciate your trust and we will do our best to continue giving you the kind of service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We just got back from 9 days at Privilege Aluxes. What a great hotel! It was our 4th time to Isla Mujeres but our first time at this hotel. We had indulged and went the all inclusive route and it was well worth it!

We booked the jacuzzi suite and were first given room 411. Adrian the concierge was extremely helpful and could tell that I wasn't too impressed with the room. We were on the first floor and the outside stairwell looked onto our balcony, leaving no room for privacy whatsoever, making it hard to enjoy our balcony jacuzzi. Adrian had us moved into a much better room the next day, room 434.

The Room
The room was perfect, great airconditioning that would cool up the room almost instantly. Fully stocked mini bar, the bed was a bit hard for my boyfriends liking, but I didn't mind it at all. The only downside was the wifi, we could only get a signal in the bathroom area which wasn't always convenient for us. We did lose power in our room one evening and were moved overnight to the next door room 432 which was a large suite.

The Grounds
The grounds are lovely, pool area was beautiful. I like how the resort is small and compact, everything in close proximity. We never went in the pool, it was always full of swim-up bar people, some children, not really my scene when there is one of the most beautiful beaches in the world just a few steps away! :)

Restaurants
We only ate at the buffet for breakfast, so I can't comment about lunch and dinner buffet. I'm not a big fan of buffets, and I felt that there were so many other options. We did try the Satay restaurant, and ended up eating most of our meals at Cafe del Mar.

Beach
Playa Norte is such a beautiful beach, and the wonderful thing about Privilege is that even though it was low season, there was always people at Cafe del Mar on the beach. The service here is really exceptional! Sergio, Roberto and Antonio were all 5 star employees and really made this a 5 star experience. We never had to ask for anything and were always treated with smiles and as though they had known us forever.

I would definitely return to Privilege, in fact we tried to rebook for the beginning of November but they were all sold out!

This is not some mega-all inclusive resort that you can find by the masses in Cancun, but instead the perfect spot for someone to come to as a first trip to Isla. It is in such a great location and close to all the bars, restaurants, shopping and beach. Because this is not a mega resort, you really get a much more personal experience here. Well worth the visit!!

Room Tip: our first room 411 (4- means the number of building, 1- means first floor, 1- means room number) no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to offer you a memorable vacation.
We are glad that you found your room perfect and you enjoyed it as well as the grounds and the gorgeous beach where we are located.
We are specially happy to read that you will definitely come back to Privilege Aluxes, we look forward to it!
Once again thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We just returned from our trip to Isla Mujeres and it was an amazing experience, mostly thanks to the hotel. We had never been to the island, my husband had never been to mexico and was very hesitant, but we both fell in love with isla mujeres. The staff at the resort were so helpful and welcoming. We had A+++ service and the restaurant, amenities, spa, pool, etc were exceptional. They really pride themselves in keeping the areas clean and it showed. I would definitely reccommend going the all inclusive route, having drinks and food brought out to us at the beach made us feel like royalty. There is no need to really leave the resort, they have everything. We did venture off and saw many other hotels and Privilege Aluxes really did seem like it was one of the only hotels that had EVERYTHING. They tell you about all of the best spots on the island and helped us rent a golf cart and get a cab when we needed it. We hope to come back every year:)!
PS it was our honeymoon and they did a great job at helping us feel relaxed, we had an amazing couples massage at the spa, and they decorated our room for us:)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we are glad to read that you had amazing experience at Privilege Aluxes.
We are specially glad that we were able to make your honeymoon memorable.
It is great to hear that our staff made you feel right at home, which is always our goal for all our guests.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have stayed at PA four times now. Last time was in May with just the two of us. This Oct - 5- Oct 12 we went back with 12 . Even though we opt for all inclusive , we don't just stay on the resort. The Island is just asking to be explored and we always feel safe. Get a golf cart and get out. Check out the local beach bars and day clubs. Bahia Tortuga , Soggy Peso, The Joint, Day clubs , Capt Dulche's, El Rancharo and Zama beach. If its still there the Cuban refugee ship that washed up on a beach on the south east side is worth a stop. As for the PA. We always get a suite deluxe, One couple we were with got one an actually thought is was to big. The other couples we traveled with got superior rooms that had hot tubs on balcony and they were just fine. We did stay in a roof top Grand platinum suite in May and it was two floors, two bath rooms , pool on the roof with a view to die for and just over the top wonderful. Food at the PA is ok but don't expect to get a steak like you would at a good steak house in the states. Buffet at Sabor changes daily. Fri was sea food and was excellent as was the service everywhere. All restaurants went out of their way to set up tables for 12. We would definitely recommend the PA to anyone looking for a good low key vacation.

Room Tip: Upper floor, Ocean view facing pool, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We are pleased to greet you and at the same time we would like to convey our gratitude for your preference in our hotel and your contribution with your comments.

Thanks for your remarks regarding restaurants and staff as you help us to reiterate our ongoing commitment to improve. Special thanks for your recommendations to other travelers, this is the best prize we can get from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Isla soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Privilege Aluxes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Privilege Aluxes

Address: Ave Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Privilege Aluxes 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privilege Aluxes: Truly a privileged experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Privilege Aluxes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
Privilege Aluxes Hotel Isla Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Privilege Aluxes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.