We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made this vegetarian so happy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Qubano Restaurant

Qubano Restaurant
Avenida Hildago | accross from Angelo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
998-214-2118
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 166 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Made this vegetarian so happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We went for lunch on a breezy, rainy day and were thoroughly warmed by Vivian's hospitality - and the mojitos. While the lunch offerings for vegetarians are limited to a vegetarian sandwich and a couple salads, the food is delicious. And Vivian herself is delightful. Don't miss the spicy mayo for the handcut fries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    127
    39
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't miss this authentic Cuban spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were strolling avenue Hidalgo this afternoon looking for a spot to have a bite to eat. We were drawn to the cute outdoor cafe area of Qubano and stopped to look at the menu. We were greeted by the owner, Vivian and decided to give the place a try. We were not disappointed!! We had almost all vegetarians in our party (except me) and the vegetarian torta was a huge hit. I was tempted to have the pulled pork torta but Vivian told me to order the Cuban torta and I immediately changed my mind. Vivian knows what she is talking about. The hand cut fries with the chipotle mayo were outstanding and the mojitos were hand made and delicious. Make sure to make time to get to know Vivian and know that each dish is made to order so the food will arrive at its most delicious moment.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place for Vegi Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Qubano is a wonderful place, and owner Vivian is a no-nonsense sweetheart who will tell it like it is! As soon as I said "I'm a vegetarian" she started writing, and when I finished my question about another menu item she just said "Veggie Torta". She was so right! When another person ordered one sandwich, she said "get the Cuban!" Just do what she says, you'll love it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a must go when visiting Isla Mujeres. Vivian (the owner) is a gracious host and loves to share her cooking. On our first visit we tried the Trio sampler - a cubano, tostano, and pulled pork. All three sandwiches are very good. We also ordered the Hungarian potatoes that are out of this world amazing. Vivian also makes the best Mojito, not to tart, not to sweet, just perfect!! Our second visit, on a rainy day, we settled in for Mojitos and Hungarian potatoes. We also tried the sliders – one stuffed with gouda cheese, one with blue cheese, and our favorite - one with goat cheese. Very good!!! Quabano is a great spot to settle in for some great food, great drinks and a good people watching spot. We also had fun chatting with Vivian, she really makes it great! We can’t wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tostones w/ ropa vieja”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Ate here our first night on the island. The Tostones with ropa vieja were perfectly seasoned but our fish dish was totally bland. Recommend snacking on Tostones with a mojito.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Qubano Restaurant also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Qubano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qubano Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.