We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bally Hoo

Bally Hoo
Av. Rueda Medina | Behind Gas station Pemex, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
+52 9982145805
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 167 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“nice location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

nice location on the pier, good bar location , fodd and service ok , pricing accordingly................................................................................

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    136
    23
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A favorite every time we go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This place is a favorite every time we go back. It's open early for breakfast and the food and drinks are very good. The service is ALWAYS fast and friendly and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Awesome fish tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Bally Hoo is a bit off the beaten track (but not too off track). A lot of people want to keep this place a secret so they can get a table when they wish, and I can certainly see why. The location could not be more perfect. It's a no frills restaurant on the edge of a pier where local fishermen dock their boats. Google "map chick" and purchase a map from Laura before you come to the island, and you will easily find this spot.

The fish tacos are the best on the island. My husband and I went to a few different restaurants to taste test fish tacos, and Bally Hoo's were absolutely the best. The fresh fish is cooked tempura style and placed inside fresh made tortilla shells with fresh cabbage and limes. The fish was the freshest fish we have ever eaten. The three accompanying sauces are also all excellent, ranging from mild to super hot. Definitely add the tamarind to one of your tacos, with a drop of the hot green stuff.

The margaritas were not bad at all, just a little pricey for what you get. Considering the cost of food, this is not a big deal. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Margarita and seafood Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Margaritas at Bally Hoo are sublime, you will not find any better.
My grouper was cooked to perfection ( they give you several option) and the vegetable rice was delicious. The lobster soup was creamy and full spices, but not spicy HOT. The sound of the waves by the pier, the superb service and great seafood makes think of only one adjective for Bally Hoo: BEWITCHING.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“a little disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I was looking forward to coming here. Might have been just a bad night, but we didn't feel very welcome and the food was just average. It was a late dinner and I think we were the only ones there. We will try it again, as it is a beautiful setting. Next time we'll go earlier.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bally Hoo also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Bally Hoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bally Hoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.