We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Casona Real

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Casona Real to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Casona Real
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Juarez 501, Cozumel 77 600, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 56 hotels in Cozumel
Boise, Id
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Hotel La Casona Real is in downtown San Miguel. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. The rooms were clean and comfortable, except for the shower in our room. It was very difficult to moderate the water temperature- either too hot or too cold. Otherwise, a lovely stay and a great value. I would strongly recommend requesting a courtyard room as ours faced the street and was fairly noisy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    29
    6
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
42
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MN
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Very nice staff that spoke english well. Rooms were very clean, No critters. large private outdoor courtyard with clean medium size pool lots of sunbathing chairs and covered area available

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Stayed here last year and for the price at 45 a night figured I could do no wrong again. Rooms are spotless and large Staff and owners are very freindly . Very short walk to the square and many nice local restaurants. Small pool in the courtyard to cool off and when they get the restaurant re-opened it will be an added plus ( They had some problems with the local politicos but I believe this has been resolved) Overall just a great little hotel and I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

La Casona Real is a perfect base for a perfect vacation. It is centrally located and within walking distance from the ferry, shops and main plaza.
The hotel is very clean and the staff and owners are super friendly and very helpful. They suggested great snorkeling beaches and organized taxi's for us with set prices so we knew what we'ld be charged ahead of time - which wasn't much, (you can get to most places for under $10).
The room rates are another bonus - I didn't think you could get a hotel room for under $50 but at La Casona Real the prices are a steal and the rooms are very clean.
The poolside restaurant serves delicious food and also has great prices.
This is the perfect way to vacation, why pay big bucks for a Hotel when you're never in your room anyway. It's the best "home" base for exploring this beautiful Island - Enjoy!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Every time that I am at the La Casona Real I feel that I am with family. They are wonderful!!!! The hotel is very clean, the pool area and restaurant by the pool is so very relaxing.The location is close to everything, you can walk or take a cab. High speed internet is available for your lap top at no cost.The rates are very affordable. I can't wait until February when I get to go back for 3 weeks!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Second time staying at this hotel and there have been some fantastic renovations done on the place. The amenities are fantastic and having traveled to Cozumel 4 times now I've found a place I won't soon forget. The staff was incredibly pleasant and the fantastic pool falls short to the wonderful coral reefs and aquamarine waters of the coast. One thing that was extremely comfortable during our stay was the newly added restaurant!! It kept us guarded from all the action and heckling when we just needed a serene traditional meal. The room itself was nice and cozy maintaining a rustic charm, and staying peaceful during all times of day. It is a little refuge from all the touristic action and despite the ever-changing city, it has managed to remain a polished, charming, and romantic getaway for my fiancée and I.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

I just got back from a week on Cozumel and spent most of it at La Casona Real. It was a great value and very clean and quiet. I speak very little Spanish but had no problem communicating with the staff and my room was nice and quiet (on the second floor). The bed was comfortable and the a/c worked great. Also, to note, they have great cable TV with LOTs of English speaking stations to pick from (more than the Wyndham, where I went after this).

The pool area was nice and I used it a couple of days after I got back from diving. Everyone that worked there or that I came across were super nice and chatty and very accommodating. There is a grocery store next door down the block that has cold drinks etc. which was very convenient. Lots of local restaurants and a quick walk to the square and to my dive shop.

I thought it was a great deal for $45/night and will stay there again when I'm diving. I made the mistake of moving to the Wyndham my last two nights for a different experience (see my review there for more) and wish now that I'd stayed at La Casona Real and done a day trip to a beach club instead.

They also have great, FREE high speed internet - and the connection was super fast (almost better than what I have at home).

If you are traveling for diving or need good, clean, basic accomodations in town, close to the square and with a real local, Mexican ambiance, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Casona Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casona Real

Address: Av. Juarez 501, Cozumel 77 600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Casona Real 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are going to love the friendly and hospitable atmosphere of the Hotel La Casona Real.Family-owned and operated, the hotel is beautifully painted and decorated with a variety of plants both inside and out. The hotel has a private scuba diving instructor to help our guests who are underwater enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel La Casona Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casona Real Cozumel
La Casona Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Casona Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.