We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Casona Real

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel La Casona Real to your Saves list
Hotel La Casona Real
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Juarez 501, Cozumel 77 600, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

A wonderful experience! Thanks for the great service and attention! Great location and prices! Highly recommended! The hotel is perfectly located near all the great shops and restaurants! When we come back to cozumel we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    29
    6
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
43
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Just a few blocks from the ferry terminal and all of the "action" in town, this place is a very good
find at a wonderful price. Rooms very charming and clean and the staff is helpful. There is
a supermarket just around the corner and the walk into the center of things is interesting.
Quiet, even though we had a room on the street. Thought it might be noisy at night, but
that was not the case. For the price, this is a wonderful value. Didn't have water the day
we left, but hey, it's Mexico. I would stay there again, and would recommend it to my more
adventurous (and cheap) friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Just spent 7-nights, after staying at Cozumel Palace last trip (*7-times more expensive per night, but it was a 4-5 star all-inclusive, the best on the island, and I had a hot girl friend to please!) and Bahia Hotel before that. The hotel is very, very clean. A great hotel if you are use to exercising a little every day doing some walking. Very safe area during the day and early evening when it is full of people. For a couple who want to experience the native Cozumel, this is it. Everything you need is less than a one mile walk. The San Francisco Big supermarket is about 100 yards away, just after the Blockbuster. Around the corner is a nice liquor store. Next door to that is a nice La Mission Restaurant. I ate there twice and it is really bargain priced and full of locals and ex-pats. I recommend the chicken as did the hotel front desk manager. I did try the t-bone steak and that was a mistake. Great exercise in chewing. I had the Chicken Cordon Blue which was excellent and about 25% less with a nice XXX Lager. Go before dusk unless if you like to set near the back door beautiful garden or by the font window. I went both times and had to move by the nice garden as 3-bites of the mosquito was enough. They have many fans just not in those two locations and no one else had a problem. Remember to get rid of that fruity sunscreen as the mosquito's loved the smell. Just across the street from the huge supermarket (*With everything from great papaya, liquid yogurt, (*which I bought for breakfast and after diving, to all kinds of clothes, etc. A mini-Wal-mart type store.) is the dirt cheap internet and telephones. About 10-Macs and 4- enclosed phone booths. Internet was less than a $1US an hour with nice cool A/C. There is a bakery next to that, a Pizza Hut on the opposite corner of the Supermarket on the same side of the street just next to the Pemex gas station. The opposite way going to the main square has tons of shopping, a really good ice cream and frozen yogert store and just down that street is a dry cleaners and laundry. I had them put my wetsuit, gloves, boots, socks, hoods, and some clothes in the giant 80kg commercial washer and they laundered and washed my clothes a weeks worth for $14. All folded, bagged, dried, line dried diving stuff and dryer the rest. I could have done it their myself, but for the time and a few dollars I wanted the huge washer it better get the sea out of my dive wet gear. It is open 7-days a week and just 4-doors back towards the harbor, down the slight hill. Las Palmas Restaurant is another real local place. The food was excellent, but it has so much traffic, I would only go back if I sat in the very back wall since I don't like to share my food with passing motorcycles and cars. It is dirt cheaper than The Mission Restaurant, just about a block farther. I walked from the Aldora Divers shop and the Bahia Hotel Pier, which they call the Aldora Pier which is less than two miles after diving several times in less than 10-minutes. I recommend taking a heavy Pep Boys cotton towel, about the size of a bath hand towel to wet and have around your neck to be nice and cool. If you go to the La Casona Real via 25th Sur the last street in the square there are several nice restaurants, bars, and shops to stop at coming from diving or the hotel. I stopped at an ex-pat sports bar and had their lunch special for less than $10. Now the hotel, yes there are hot water issues. Not really problems, I stayed in the 2nd floor end of the hall quietest room # 15. Yes, it took about 2-minutes for the hot water to get there, it is a very, very long run. My apartment at home does have about the same long wait. The last morning the water was off at 9AM for some reason. However, that was no problem for I was rinsing my dive gear and clothes in the shower. No tubs, just shower! The A/C worked great and quiet. The room had a ceiling fan and cable TV 19" Flat Tube. A nice 30" round steel table for my breakfast, but my one gripe was no refrigerator. I worked that out going to the market which was a 2-minute walk. That worked out great, as I really needed to lose a few extra pounds anyway. If you stay by the concrete stairs, you will hear the street noise. You need to bring a clock or just use your cell phone. I did both just in case one did not work and I would not miss my dive boat. They would come and do a wake up call as they did once, they have no phones. They do have wireless internet and a nice courtyard pool. Take some great ear plugs, my favorite are the bees wax, lanolin and cotton ones from outside Portland, OR which you can buy on the net. I would go back as the staff were very, very friendly and helpful at every instance. If you rent a motorcycle you can't beat this location which is right next to the gas station, 5minutes from the Sam's Club, La Perlita Restaurant, and dozens of shops on the next corner by the San Francisco market which is a main shopping store street. The beds were supportive, with real box springs. Not saggy or a concrete foundation like the nasty beds in the Bahia Hotel. I did feel the springs laying on my side, as I had many broken ribs in a nasty tree chute fall in my youth. I would give this 3-stars if it had the option for a refrigerator or a DVD player as the Blockbuster is one minute away. Over all I would and did recommend this hotel, since I like my room ice cold and this room could, and did keep me 18*C. In the 60*F range which I adjusted as needed. A great safety tip, which I learned doing decompression diving on Bikini Atoll, never take a hot bath or jaccuzzi after diving. It pushed the envelope and can and has given divers the bends. Oh, I went to the dive chamber and will do an article on it. So, avoid it take a cool or cold shower and stay un-bent and ready to dive another day. Try or get certified to dive nitrox and be a lot safer and feel a lot better after diving. Try Aldora Divers for steel 120 tanks, less weights to lug around, 15-20 minutes more dive time and Nitrox up to 36%! I have dove with them 3- times for a week out of my 6- one week or more trips to Cozumel over the last 15-years. They are really safe, owned by a Texan who makes most of his money another US business so they don't have to skimp where other do one stuff!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I found this place about 5 years ago and have stayed there several times. The location can't be beat . At Juarez and 25th, 4 blocks from the square, supermarket and 24hr oxxo around the corner and many nearby restaurants. A new restaurant in the hotel with great meals and prices right at the pool. Very clean and safe.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during our Mexico trip. The hotel was very nice especially the staff. Our room was ready when we arrived at noon and we were quickly checked in. The room was very clean and cosy. It has a lot of Mexican charm with well matched decor and the lovely folded towels (elephant, rabbit or swans). The hotel is close to town and we highly recommend it for people who do not want to spend a lot of money and want a cute & clean place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORD
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

we stayed at La Casona Real during high season (between Christmas & New Year's Eve). Room was nice a bit small but seeing as we were never in the room except to sleep, who cares. Fabrics on the bed are on the cheap side, (low thread count) so can be a bit scratchy to those used to high thread count bedding. Bed was a bit squeaky. We chose an innner courtyard facing room & with the AC unit on, we never heard any exterior noise. With the AC off, one can hear some traffic noise and heels on the tile hallway. There are only two lounge chairs at the pool and those have seen much better days, they are beat up and the seatbacks are wired into position so you can't adjust them. The pool are is actually outside seating for the restaurant so there isn't an intimate pool setting but the restaurant wasn't doing that much business during the day so we had the pool to ourselves. We did dine at the restaurant, I had chilaquiles (my favortie breakfast to have while in Mexico), the food was good but took WAY TOOO LONG to be prepared (we waited an hour and were the only ones there). so our overall experience was quite good and I was pleased at the value we received for our $$. Make sure you try the Peruvian ceviche restaurant which is 1.5 blocks away from the hotel, so cheap & good !!

Room Tip: chose courtyard facing room to cut down on traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

La Casona Real is better than ever , the owners continue to provide excellent service and value. I was traveling in the area and came to Cozumel for the Carnival (Cozumel is hands down the best place for Carnival) and to visit with friends. I purposely selected a different room to see what some reviewers claim as noisy and found no problems and this is during one of the two biggest events in Mexico. The hotel is always updating and maintaining it's high standards. There simply is no other hotel on the island that compares to this.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Casona Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casona Real

Address: Av. Juarez 501, Cozumel 77 600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Casona Real 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are going to love the friendly and hospitable atmosphere of the Hotel La Casona Real.Family-owned and operated, the hotel is beautifully painted and decorated with a variety of plants both inside and out. The hotel has a private scuba diving instructor to help our guests who are underwater enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Casona Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casona Real Cozumel
La Casona Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Casona Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.