We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to relax, friendly people, excellent service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Aura Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Aura Cozumel to your Saves list
Secrets Aura Cozumel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 12.9 Carretera Costera Sur | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Washington Township, New Jersey
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to relax, friendly people, excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband and I wanted to try out Cozumel to relax and get away from our hectic life back home.We have traveled extensively throughout Mexico and The Caribbean: mostly 5 star resorts. We thought we'd give Secrets a try. I was skeptical after all the negative reviews I read before we went.I have to say that this resort was special. It has a unique design, the beach was lovely and the staff was excellent. The restaurants were all very nice-Bordeaux being out favorite! (Caladensia was wonderful).If you want something not on the menu, they will try to accommodate. Room service and menu was also excellent and we never had to wait too long. We had the corner swimout in the preferred section. Gorgeous! Our room attendant Juanita was a doll! After a day or so she knew exactly when to come and clean. I only wish the bar service in our room would have had some liquor or wine-I am not a beer drinker-but no big deal. The preferred lounge opens early. We walked the beach every day, some days having lunch at Sunscape and swinging on the swings at their bar near the beach. Plenty of chairs on beach and around pools. The water slides in the back of the resort were lots of fun! We never made it to the club at night as we were in our room early. You can do all you want or nothing at all. We even parasailed.The water sports team hooked us up and the boat came right to the end of the pier to pick us up. Yes, there are renovations going on, but it really didn't bother us. I am looking forward to seeing it upon completion, it is going to be stunning! I would highly recommend this resort for anyone who wants to relax and enjoy the raw peaceful beauty Cozumel along with a pretty boutique style adults only all inclusive property. So glad we went!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear AnitaHN2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are thrilled to hear that your vacation was wonderful and that you were pleased with the service of our relaxing atmosphere, service, cleanliness of rooms, delicious food and drinks and various staff members. Our team is always trying to ensure that we surpass the expectations of each guest so your review served as our reward. To this end, it was encouraging to hear you acknowledge those aspects of our product.


We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    485
    238
    138
    55
See reviews for
74
1,124
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Under new management yet again. We have been coming to the same resort for eight years but this will probably be the last time. We tried all the restaurants but only one was top notch- Windows. Our family booked the Aura with us but we're placed in the Sabor next door. They paid the premium Aura price but didn't get the premium room. The staff insisted the Sabor was now part of the Aura. The last several years we received $100 spa credit and paid an extra $40 for a couples massage. This year we got a $200 spa credit upon booking but when we got here it could not be used entirely for the messages. It could only be used piecemeal for different things. Couples messages cost $249. Construction went on at all hours and late in the evening, but wasn't quite as bad as last year. Our first year at the resort we purchased a membership and used it two years only to find out it was cheaper to book on-line without using the membership. Memberships are a complete rip off. Management would not listen to problems or issues. The best thing about this resort were the servers and workers. We were treated well by them but management will not see us again. It seems since it is now Secrets they are too big for their britches.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear DannyLC,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

It is naturally very disappointing that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us and are very concerned to read that your experience did not live up to our usual level of service. Please accept our apologies it is certainly not our intention to disappoint our guests, however, it is obvious that we failed to meet your expectations on several points. I wish to reassure you, that I have shared and are trying to address your comments with our Department Heads to ensure that we take all the necessary actions to improve our services as well to reduce the opportunity for these mistakes to reoccur in the future with other guests.

We are sincerely sorry the hear that you do not intend to return to our resort but nevertheless hope that we will once again have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel so that we can redeem ourselves and offer you the service that you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I have to say this is the second time we have traveled back to Aura, last yearwas good, but this year was a lot better, the staff, the food, I cant believe that people complain about the portion of the food. it is all inclusive, so you can always order more, never once did I see food left on the plate, which shows you that it is good. We were there for our anniversary and it was nothing but relaxing, never rushed, pool was great beach activities were great, I am sad to see reviews that don't do this place justice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are so happy that you loved your second anniversary vacation with us. Your recommendation to other prospective travelers regarding our relaxing atmosphere friendly staff, food and activities will also serve as our reward.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I were at Secrets Aura October 27 - November 3, 2013. Yes there was a lot of construction noise, but I came to Cozumel to relax and get away from my everyday reality, this place was wonderful in spite of the noise. The weather was fantastic! The food was wonderful! The customer service was by far the best out of other secrets resorts i have been to. The staff went out of their way to make sure our stay went smoothly. My husband and I renewed our wedding vows on the beach at sunset and it was picture perfect. The wedding coordinator Pati was amazing and made our day extra special. The snorkeling off the beach was amazing. saw flounders, and lobsters. They have a 2.5hr snorkeling trip that will take you to 3 reefs for only $33. We also went to Chakanaab park to ride dolphins and that was fun. No need to get special transfers from a company to and from the airport, we used the collective shuttle at the airport and taxi back. cost total $54 round trip for two people. This resort did lack in things to do after dinner, but that was ok. I had amazing quality time with my husband. Definitely worth the investment in your marriage taking a trip like this together!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear canella1,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are grateful for having the opportunity to have served you at Secrets Aura Cozumel, but we are even more elated to hear that we exceeded your standards and expectations during your anniversary and vow renewal. Your compliments of our staff, food, snorkeling, beach and wedding coordinator and customer service means a lot to us and no doubt such comments will serve to encourage our team.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just returned from a 7 night stay. There are good things and bad things about this resort; overall good but here's the lowdown. This is not a new resort, it need a fair bit of repair, nothing that I saw was major but none the less you will see areas throughout the resort that show it's age.
Menu is not changed from one day to the next so same selection every day, every meal. Presentation of the food is like a high end restaurant but I don't like that at every meal and when I'm trying to relax it take a bit of getting use to. Resort wasn't busy, so was very quiet and restful. Like any of these resorts they want to sell (what I'll call time shares) but they don't call them that.
Staff is excellent, 24/7 room service is great; menu for room service is in some ways better than the restaurants. Room is nice and if like to share the shower with your other half its large enough to have a lot of fun. Couldn’t make the radio work but so when we were relaxing on the porch we has no music, not a big issue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Grant M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are thrilled to hear that you love our hotel and that you recommend it to prospective travelers. We are satisfied to hear that you were pleased with your room, service, relaxing atmosphere, delicious food and room service menu options. Our team is always trying to ensure that we meet the expectations of each guest so your review served as our reward.

With regards to your concerns and suggestions I have passed them onto Management for further review, so we can continue to improve our guests overall experience.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

At check in the resort started their sales pitch commercial regarding a vacation club.
Asked about upgrading our room we were able to view, the stench of this room was over whelming. The room thankfully didn’t smell like a sewer. Please note if you are sensitive’s to incense this is not the place for you. Incense is burned everywhere lobby- hallways, rooms daily. The resort was under daily construction in all quadrants of the property, so there was no quiet place to be found. As a result the tennis courts were closed.
The resort allotted us 200.00 resort credits that went unused.
The spa is grade A. The all inclusive was disappointing due to the quality of the food being mediocre the variety being offered was non-existent. The onsite property “Bordeaux”… the food was brilliant. The properties sister site Sea Escape “Portofino” I would suggest not to bother.
The staff was upon reproach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear daram867,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

On behalf of the Management and Staff at the resort I apologize for the lack of service and inconsistency you experienced whilst in house. If you were unsatisfied with any aspect of our resort it is our responsibility to take care of your concerns to ensure that you felt comfortable and satisfied. We however assure you that this not a true representation of our standards of operation or the typical experience of our guests. It is obvious that we failed to meet your expectations on several points, but I wish to reassure you, that I have shared and are going to address your comments with our General Manager so that we can take the necessary actions to improve our services.

We are sincerely sorry to hear that you do not intend to return to our resort but nevertheless hope that we will once again have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel so that we can redeem ourselves and offer you the service that you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband & I just returned (11/1/13)from Secrets Aura &we had the time of our life. The resort was beautiful,the food was delicious,and the staff was friendly, accommodating,and professional. We went to relax and soak up the sun and that's ALL we did! However, we enjoyed walking on the beach-having visited Cozumel several times I knew to pack water shoes, not flip flops! Parts of the beach can be a bit rocky-be prepared&you will have a great time! Be sure to visit MANATEES pool bar& tell Mario,bartender, HI he takes great care of the guests!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Tracy Mrs W,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are so happy that you loved your anniversary trip to Secrets Aura. Your recommendation to other prospective travelers regarding our accommodating staff, food attention to detail and our anniversary package amenities will also serve as our reward.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Aura Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Aura Cozumel

Address: Km 12.9 Carretera Costera Sur | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Secrets Aura Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unlimited luxury now in Cozumel. Not only the perfect place for the celebration of love, if you desire pampering and seclusion in the Mexican Caribbean, look no further than Secrets Aura Cozumel. More than just a place to unwind, this All Inclusive - adults only getaway offers a stylishly contemporary environment for guests accustomed to the best. Each suite indulges with an inviting blend of light and comfort, as well as a private balcony featuring beautiful views to the grounds or the Ocean. Secrets Aura Cozumel has a unique category of rooms with access to the pool from the terrace and slides to the Swim up bar. For those looking for a most intimate getaway, a unique concept of Loft Suites with solarium and a private lap pool with magnificent ocean views is also available only at Secrets Aura Cozumel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Secrets Aura Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Cozumel Grand Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel
Cozumel Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Aura Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.