We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suggestions for resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Aura Cozumel

Save Saved
You added Secrets Aura Cozumel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Aura Cozumel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 12.9 Carretera Costera Sur | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights!
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Suggestions for resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The rooms were nice and beds comfortable. Staff very nice.

Restaurant needed a better wine selection for its foreign guests. Drank champagne instead.
Also suggest a selection of whole wheat bread.

The timing of the mosquito fogging at dinner was inappropriate. I would suggest the propane mosquito magnets which you can purchase for your outside seating areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear bunny20132013,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Your kind comments about our rooms, comfort of beds and staff means a lot to us. In addition we are deeply appreciative of the reviews by our guests as they assist us in gauging the needs of our property and making improvements where needed. To this end, we were disappointed to learn of your thoughts regarding our fogging time, however we have changed them accordingly. Please be assured that we intend to make every effort to look into your suggestions and make these subsequent improvements happen.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    346
    181
    114
    43
See reviews for
40
781
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lick, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My girl and I traveled from Eastern Kentucky and arrived on August 24 we stayed for 7 days. When we arrived at the airport the timeshare people tried to grab us. So trust me keep going to the front exit doors and look for the Amstar-Apple rep for help. Arriving at the hotel, we received a good reception and our room was ready. We stayed in a swim up sweet beachfront. The room was great and our AC worked terrific. The staff was pleasant and they tried to keep our glasses full. The beach was rocky and was OK for snorkeling. The food was decent but small portions. The breakfast was great (omelets). The spa was nice and I surprised my girl with a massage and they pampered her. I heard other people got some special deals like 89 dollars-and they should always offer this. My opinion is the spa staff was always bored and if they would lower the rates, they would be making money instead of doing nothing and not making any money. I was worried about the weather based on the forecast, but we had great weather all week, I believed it rained only two days for a little bit. We saw a water spout out in the ocean and that was wild. The taxi service was 13 dollars each way and even to town, except when you go back to the airport, this was 29 dollars. Make sure you have cash, cause the ATM wouldn't work anywhere on the island one night. The one place I would recommend is Alberto's on the beach, they go out and catch the seafood fresh and I had the King Crab and my girl had the Lobster. WOW we were so stuffed, we couldn't eat anything but the meat. This was the second best tail that I ever had, if you know what I mean. LOL, I got a shirt that says that and I thought I had a good line.The staff was great to name a few, Julio (events), Wilber (sky bar), Denna (desk was very helpful), but stay away from the timeshare rep Richard (jerk) he wanted us to complain over little things. Tip the people they deserve it. We went to a park on the main island called Xplor and it was excellent, don't go to the zip lines first because you will waste half your day waiting to get started. So we did the rafts first and then the zip lines and we was able to complete all of the 2.5 miles and then did the 4x4 ride and even free lunch. Our friends went to the zip lines first and they didn't get to half of what we did or eat. This was a great park and we would do this again. On the island we did the snorkel tour 3 reefs- with the ChaChoo tour on the Dora doa boat and we saw a sea turtle, lobsters, starfish heaven and the staff was great and we bought the video and pictures for thirty dollars. We just watch it and it was work it.
We also rented a dune buggy from HTL rentals for one day for 62 dollars with collision and went around the island by ourselves and toured the Mayan Ruins. Our friends found a bar Bob Marley's on the beach that served Peanut Butter Tequila and they said it was great, we didn't get to try this one, but we did do a Tequila tour located by the Mayan Ruin Church and our tour guide was Alex (very professional). It was very knowledgeable and we tried all kinds of flavors. We found out only 35 family's can make true Tequila. The Secrets resort has many bars including a Disco and we had no problem finding a good time. Don Julio kicked our butts one night. LOL The resort was being worked on but it didn't bother us. The people on the island was very nice and they did try to sell you stuff, but when you said no that was the end of that. We went to Carlos n Charles in town and the band was great (rock) and the drinks 2 for one. We plan on visiting other secrets in the future but not back here. We did this island and its time to move on. From Eastern Kentucky Go Blue. Let me add the BEDS are amazing...Slept great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear KENTUCKY98,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy to have been able to host you and meet your expectations. It was particularly encouraging to learn that you enjoyed our comfortable beds, Secrets Spa and pleasant staff. Our property takes great pride in providing a good service, and are confident in the fact that this is what makes Secrets Resorts stand out from the myriad of other all-inclusive properties.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I escaped for a long weekend and chose Secrets because of the "all adult" resort status. When we arrived, we were met with an enthusiastic and friendly staff (although did receive a wake up call one morning to "help" us spend our resort credit-which we never did). We were there too early for check in but they allowed us into the resort for lunch and we understood that we were already considered guests. We paid extra for an ocean view room and when we were able to get into our room we discovered if you went out on to the balcony and leaned way over you could see a little corner of the ocean past the neighbor's patio which stuck out in front. We asked about the ocean view (the website showed pictures of the balcony opening up to the sand) and he said they don't have rooms like that on this resort.

The rest of the trip was about the same. The service was extremely slow but once you got your food it was wonderful. They did not have all restaurants open every night so you had to pay attention during the day to make sure you knew which would be closed.

The beach was amazing and we never had trouble finding chairs or towels. The waitstaff on the beach was also perfect and would bring drinks and food/snacks whenever you wanted it. The sister resort had families that were allowed to bring children to Secrets beach so if you truly want an adults only resort, you may rethink your choice if coming here.

The resort had recently been under renovations and we were woken up at 1am the morning before we left with it raining from our bathroom ceiling.

Our time on the beach made this a perfect getaway but everything else about the resort was just average.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the ocean view room unless you don't care about seeing the ocean. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Cathy W,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are disappointed to learn that your recent visit at Secrets Aura Cozumel fell below your expectations. We regret not being able to hear from you prior to your departure as we would have liked the opportunity to make the necessary changes to suit your needs. It is hoped that you will afford us another chance to serve you as we feel certain that you did not experience our usual standards. Please feel free in the near future to inform us of how we can make your vacation experience a resounding success.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We just got back from a 11 day vacation we started out in one room which was a little loud from the workers and they moved us to another room in the perferred club building this was a upgrade but they did not charge us for the upgrade. Room was great the staff was very helpfull and Juanita kept our room spotless. Sandy at the front desk help with our check out with not a problem. Would I go back YES this is our second time back to this resort it was under a different owner then the improments were well noted. They did spray for the bugs every night but we still were attacked by them at Oceana the staff did get us bug spray. The entertainment at night was great but if you are going for all night party this is not the place which was great for us. My husband always went diving each day and I would go snokeling great beach. You have to rent a car just to go to the other side of the island great place to take picture of the waves. The only compaint I have is sometimes you would get this sewer smell on the beach. But I will be coming back for the fishing in April.

Room Tip: Perferred club side quieter and larger corner suites are great go for the swim up rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear MaddieC134,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are grateful for your positive review which you have shared with other prospective guests. It was a pleasure to be your hosts on your second visit to the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in April. We believe that our rooms, beach and warm staff offers the very best value for money. We encourage you can feel free to drop us a line regarding any special needs you may have after doing your booking.


We await your return visit to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This place has phenomenal advantages - probably the best location and the most scenic beach on Cozumel. I got tired of bustling Cancun with high rise hotels and million tourists, I wanted something quiet, secluded and close to coral reefs where I could dive but at the same my non-diving wife would enjoy a nice beach she always craves for. They don't play loud music - another plus for us, always hate loud music on beaches. We stayed in a 2-nd floor room #1127 with ocean views, the room had spa-like features with great bathroom, modern sink, phenomenally large and efficient shower, etc. it was very clean and very tastefully done. The service in the hotel is top notch, waiters like Rolando (he is a true gem!!) and both Miguels were outstanding (they remember your likes/dislikes and greet you by name) and so friendly but everyone was great. The meals are very good though as other noticed portions are small - sometimes I would visit two restaurants for a dinner, my wife ate little so I guess I ate for two of us - after diving I could be real hungry. If you are too timid to order enough food - well, it's your problem. We did not use room service - my wife tried it once and decided the quality is better going down to a restaurant. To get to Bordeaux restaurant men need long pants and something better than a teashirt, my stay would be seriously diminished without access to that restaurant plus Rolando is the main performer there!
Another benefit of the location is the wildlife, you can see iguanas below dinner tables and birds, contrary to some who wrote here birds aren't noisy enough to wake you up, we often slept soundly till 10 am with open balcony doors!
Walked to Portofino restaurant in a nearby hotel (where you can eat too/same ownership) but we weren't terribly impressed with food there and never returned there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Olasek,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for choosing Secrets Aura Cozumel on your return visit to Mexico. Your comments about the location of our property, amenities, friendly staff and enjoyable time spent with us was certainly encouraging to our team. We recognize that there are a myriad of hotels from which you could have chosen to spend your vacation and the fact that you chose our property means a lot to us. However, it was even more rewarding to hear that both you and your wife had a positively memorable stay.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Wi
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A perfect hotel / resort for a quite no kids vacation to relax and rekindle your romance. My wife, and two of our best friends stayed from August 8 through August 14 2013. Everything we saw, did, and ate was better than we could have dreamed of. Julio (event coordinator) and Fermini (bartender) made our stay even better. All the staff greeted us with smiles and good attitudes. This is not a spring break party resort, but still has great music to dance and drink to at night at the sky bar or at the weekly beach party.

Room Tip: Swim up, ocean view is worth every extra penny! The view is exactly as they show on the website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello jason D,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are thrilled to hear that you and your friends had a wonderful time with us at Secrets Aura and that you were pleased with the service of our relaxing atmosphere, service and drinks and various entertainment in the Sky Bar/Beach Party. Our team is always trying to ensure that we surpass the expectations of each guest so your review served as our reward. To this end, it was encouraging to hear you acknowledge those aspects of our product.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband & I just got back from the most amazing anniversary trip to Cozumel. I cannot begin to tell you how much this place rocks! We were checked in quickly & shown to our room, which had a big "Happy Anniversary!" banner on the front door. It's the little things that count, one of the first of many delights Aura had to share with us.

The room was luxurious without being over the top. Jacuzzi tub & rain shower in the well-stocked bathroom, a sinfully comfortable bed, and the swim-up access off the back deck were among many perks we enjoyed during our stay. Turn down service, regular sweeps to re-stock the mini-fridge, fully functioning temperature controls, other "basics" you'd expect from a high-end resort: check. Be sure to look out for mosquitos, they love that pool (and ocean, and wet snorkel gear) just as much as you do :)

Hubby & I couldn't have asked for a better social scene. Even though the resort was a bit on the empty side, that also meant no fighting for lounge chairs, no dinner reservations required, immediate service at the bars-- it worked out in our favor, really. And we got to meet so many other awesome people/couples of all ages from all over the place, which was loads of fun.

The food and service... just thinking about our many delicious meals there makes me hungry! Whether it was room (super speedy) service, the beachfront breakfast buffet or the decadent dinners at Bordeaux, our expectations were met & then some. Great variety of cuisines, foods & flavors for every craving. And for the staff themselves, I couldn’t have asked for more polite, helpful and just plain FUN set of people. Everyone we encountered asked how our holiday was going, or even just a simple “hola!” and a smile. I could say many great things about all of them, but our first of two standouts was Miguel, our server at many dinners. I’m from a large city known for its 5-star dining, and Miguel’s service & genuine hospitality could easily fit in with any high-end restaurant here. I hugged him after our last dinner at the resort! Secondly was Beatriz, who you’ll instantly recognize as the cute-as-a-bug hostess at the beachside restaurants. She always remembered us, even as we passed by on the beach she would smile and say hi. She added that much more sunshine to our mornings 

I could go on & on, but remembering our trip is making me wish I was already back there! Because in case it wasn’t clear, we *will* definitely be back to Secrets Aura.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear LilMissTNT,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are so happy that you loved your anniversary trip to Secrets Aura. Your recommendation to other prospective travelers regarding our accommodating staff, food attention to detail and our anniversary package amenities will also serve as our reward.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Aura Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Aura Cozumel

Address: Km 12.9 Carretera Costera Sur | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Secrets Aura Cozumel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unlimited luxury now in Cozumel. Not only the perfect place for the celebration of love, if you desire pampering and seclusion in the Mexican Caribbean, look no further than Secrets Aura Cozumel. More than just a place to unwind, this All Inclusive - adults only getaway offers a stylishly contemporary environment for guests accustomed to the best. Each suite indulges with an inviting blend of light and comfort, as well as a private balcony featuring beautiful views to the grounds or the Ocean. Secrets Aura Cozumel has a unique category of rooms with access to the pool from the terrace and slides to the Swim up bar. For those looking for a most intimate getaway, a unique concept of Loft Suites with solarium and a private lap pool with magnificent ocean views is also available only at Secrets Aura Cozumel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Secrets Aura Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Cozumel Grand Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel
Cozumel Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Aura Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.