We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Secrets Aura Experience !!! Just DO IT !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Aura Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Aura Cozumel to your Saves list
Secrets Aura Cozumel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 12.9 Carretera Costera Sur | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings up 40%
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Secrets Aura Experience !!! Just DO IT !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were also on the fence about some of the reviews we had read prior to booking our trip July 8 thru July 13. Our experience was a beautiful one! This was our first trip to Cozumel but not to Mexico. We are quite familiar with travel to the Yucatan, having previously stayed at other AI style resorts such as Valentin Imp. Maya, Excellence Playa Mujeres and Akumal Beach Resort. For such a small airport it was a long process to get thru. We were picked up as promised at the airport by private transfer, there were two other couples on board the van, but we went directly to Secrets, no run around town.

CHECK IN: Standard greeting with the cold freshly scented washcloths and sparkling wine. Check in took a while, especially with the explanation of all the coupon usage at the spa, private dinner etc.. we were also approached about the presentation of other Secrets properties. Of course if you attend, you can get other perks, but we were not interested in spending 90min of our vacation on that, we had pretty much done our research on where we wanted to go anyways. Not to knock these folks who want you to attend, it's their job, we graciously declined and never felt hounded, we stll saw them daily and exchanged pleasantries. Aside from this our room was ready , no waiting. It was around 3:30 pm.

ROOM: We had a great room, 4231. Top floor overlooking the pool and swim up bar. No beach view, except for a thin slice of ocean visible between the palms and other bldgs. The room was at the end of the top floor too, no neighbors on one side ! The balcony was nice, glass panels about waiste high, table , two chairs and a hammock. Very comfy for early morning reading & coffees. There was a group of people who showed up at the pool, almost same time, same place everyday...they kept that swim up bar busy !! I wonder if they ever saw the beach? They were loud sometimes but never out of control and always gone before sundown. The room itself was comfy, no issues with the king size bed, nice, not too hard or soft, it felt like it may have had a padded top. Mini fridge, coffee maker. Bathroom was more private than some resorts, the drain in the shower was slow a few times, but not enough to make a service call. Plenty of hot water. Shampoo, conditioner, SPF 15 sunscreen, lotion etc. The A/C worked flawlessly, it was on 24/7 since we arrived. Room safe and TV all fine. We had a few laughs watching too much Steven Segal one night !haha! We had inquired about upgrading to a beach front room on arrival, but afterall we were quite content. We did see a few tiny ants around some used sugar packettes from the coffee service, cleaned it up, was no big deal, you're in the jungle people.

MAID & STAFF: I believe her name was Martha? She was great, not sure what time she came, but always done when we got back to the room every afternoon / eve. She even left extra regular coffee packs and had the fridge stocked with more beer & water than soda at my request. We tipped her daily. All the employees were very friendly, always a hola or hello.

ROOM SERVICE: Take advantage of this perk ! We ordered breakfasts and late dinners( 9-10pm ). Very polite on the phone taking orders in English or Spanish , and their delivery times were always spot on! 35 min was the average. The food arrived hot and correct. The fajitas were great, also the Texas salad (club salad ) very tasty too. BBQ ribs, Sub sandwhich...all great! Chocolate cake & ice cream too ! Always tipped these guys nicely too carrying that loaded tray up flights of stairs, no lifts !! We were told to leave the trays outside the room after eating, but I had observed a few trays left out overnight and it looked like some of the critters had gotten into them, so we left the tray indoors.

RESTAURANTS: We dined at Windows and Oceana. Breakfasts, lunches, mid day snacks and dinner. All very nice. Service was good, it did take a while to get some dishes though, probably more prep time , for instance the grouper filet was delicious! Try it! Shrimp tacos and scallop ceviche great also. Surprised there were not more seafood selections on the menu. If you're adventurous order some habanero salsa ! WOW ! Go easy Leonard, that stuff will light you up ! I did get a few looks when i requested it, I think most folks stick with the standard guacamole & pico salsa, which were great too! Mix it all up for a spicy treat ! Breakfast buffet was good too, they will make you a special order omlette too. We never went hungry, as a matter of fact it's too easy to feel stuffed all day long with all the food & drinks you want at your beck n call.....pace yourself ! We tried the Mexican buffet over at Sabor one night. Nothing special......we didn't stick around either, family style resort, we went back to the quiet of Aura. Never tried Bordeaux, not even sure if it was open. We're pretty easy to please in the food department, no complaints, if you didn't like it , try something else on the menu or we stuck to our favourites. Portions were just right, maybe some folks are used to US sized portions, with left overs. You can order all you like, appetizers, salads, main course, desserts....really...you won't be hungry. Less waste too. There is also a grill at Oceana for burgers and snacks too, had a burger, was good.

BARS: We hit the bar at Oceana mainly, nice guys, good service, we also hit one of the swim up bars, wait times were not an issue. We did have service on the beach one day, the girl was busy, looked like she was running her tail off.....there again, order doubles if you can't wait......We were fine, that day got kinda foggy...Mai Tai mania.....damn good ! One night we ventured up to the Sky Bar.....we're not spring break partiers, it doesnt seem like this is the resort for that behaviour either......there was some loud music, coloured lights a hot tub or two....and a group of about 15 people hanging out...my wife described it best..."Bad Prom" hahah! We left, not our scene. We seem to do most of our partying during the daylight hours there.

BEACH: Great beach ! Although we hit the pools a few times and they were nice but, we were there for the ocean. Yes, take beach sandals or water shoes, there are some rocks. Not a big sandy boogie board wave style beach. Pretty calm, but clear enough to do a little snorkeling from the beach or pier if you like. Walk north to the other pier for some great snorkeling too, many fish at this one. They had a hammock hanging partially submerged on the beach too, was a nice touch. No issues with finding a lounger or towels, also beach beds available. There was no issues with seaweed washing ashore daily like the Cancun areas. Very clean beach, no litter. Water was awesome, warm. There are volley ball courts, snorkel gear, kayaks etc. No kids on this beach either. Walk out to the end of the pier, it's plenty deep to jump off or dive, there is a ladder to climb back up too. This is a great place to watch a sunset too! That's another bonus of this side of Cozumel, you will get to see the sunset !! Beautiful and romantic ! Get some !

One thing about the beach that I did find a nuisance was on a couple of days there was several jet skis from another resort racing up and down the coast near our pier, would be nice if they were restricted from Secrets....they were killing my buzz.

SNORKEL TRIP: We booked a trip thru Dive Palancar on premises, three reefs: El Cielo, Columbia & Palancar. This was awesome ! Although it was partially cloudy and rained at times, this did not affect the visibility ! Trip lasted about 2 1/2 hours, if you snorkel, $30...DO THIS !! Our boat was a glass bottom style, The "MARE I" Capitan Carlos and our guide Javier. Both Excellent guys ! Here's a tip for you, go on the glass bottom boat, they have a limit of 10 -12 people...the big FURY catamarans have dozens of people on board...longer wait times and too many people for your experience. We saw incredible colourful corals, starfish, many species of tropical fish, a four foot barracuda and rays !

El CEDRAL Bike Tour: There is a free bike tour from the resort to visit El Cedral ruins and village. If you feel up to a little exercise take this free excursion. It's probably a five mile round trip, burn some of those calories !! The village is quaint and a nice way to see some local habitat. Not much of a ruin here only one small structure. There is also a small church and some other little shops and vendors. Our guide was a young man by the name of Julio. He was by far our favourite resort employee. We had great conversation and he was very knowledgeable of the area as he was a native. Julio is an asset to the Secrets team, we wish him all the best in his future endeavors and educational goals!! Muchas gracias Julio !!!

TRIP to TOWN: If you can split a cab with another couple, the fee to town is @ $15 one way. You can also look into renting a jeep, polaris buggy or scooter, but honestly, there was probably going to be alcohol involved at some point of my day and just didn't want the liability folks ! I'm on holiday !! Cozumel was nice to visit but a bit too much tourista after being secluded in the sanctuary of the resort. We did visit the museum though. Worth a visit if you like that sort of thing, there are some real artifacts from ship wrecks and Mayan ruins. Also some displays of ecologic & environmental topics. Nice old building too. It's on the main drag not far from the cruise ship docking area, check it out. We shopped and bought the customary souvenir or two, we did buy a couple of black coral jewelry pieces , very nice and not too $$ Aside from that, all very normal Mexican tourist environment, plus several high end diamond stores?? and some chain store shops....ehhh , enough of that.....we hit a bar , sampled some tequilas and caught a cab to the Money bar, to see a rock band, but no music that afternoon...oh well a couple more drinks and back to the resort.

WEATHER: We had rain several times, but it was never an issue nor did it keep us from doing activities. It was always fast moving and would become sunny or partly cloudy after that. The temps seemed to be in the eighties during the day, very tolerable, high humidity, not overbearing though. It is hurricane season, however we were lucky ! Do your home work.....check the rainy seasons or dry periods...also one reason we went in July is some people think it will be too hot & muggy, but hey, you're at the beach...usually a breeze and you're in the ocean or the pool with a cold drink...or you're in your A/C room chillin ! Another bonus is the days are very long, lotta daylight hours, versus being there in Nov or Oct...short days .....cooler temps.

MOSQUITOS: No issue for me, but my wife is a target....take some bug spray if you're one of those tasty people.

IGUANAS: Yes !! Great photo ops ! Plus some birds and many beautiful plants.

CONCLUSION: I would highly recommend this resort. Do your home work, weather reports, high tourist seasons, reading reviews and taking in to account what kind of travelers are writing them. I believe this is the only choice for all inclusive and adult only resorts in Coz.. We had no complaints and truly enjoyed our time there. This is not the best resort we have visited in Mexico, but if you're are looking for an affordable complete package with great atmosphere, good food and an awesome beach with sunsets and diving and snorkeling opportunity it would be hard to beat Secrets Aura . We didn't get to sample all of the bars, dining choices or activities only being there five nights but what we did get to try was all great. Maybe a couple more dinig choices and beer flavours would be nice? But hey, you'll never go hungry or thirsty.

SPECIAL THANKS: Justine the concierge was very helpful and kind in acknowledging our birthdays celebration and we look forward to her assistance in future bookings. Also special thanks to Jared for all the info on getting around town! And to our amigo Julio on the bike tour to El Cedral, you helped make it a great birthday celebration!!! Adios amigos, nos vemos!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear ElRey1960

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Your informative review was a real pleasure and we are honored to have been able to host you on your first visit to Cozumel. We are thrilled to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and will make plans to return. Our Management and Staff work tirelessly to ensure that all the needs of our guests are met. To this end, it was encouraging to hear you mention the names of those staff who left a positive impression on you. It was rewarding to learn that you also enjoyed the layout of our rooms, quality of our meals, drinks, room service, snorkeling trip and overall tour of the island.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    514
    248
    143
    56
See reviews for
76
1,181
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed July 8-13 2013.. We read the comments before going and were a little concerned. However we were more then satisfied. We met multiple couples that were friendly and enjoyable to hang out with by the pool and on the beach. The rooms were amazing AC was ice cold, and kept very clean. Staff was friendly and always there to help. The waitress by the pool and beach worked her butt off servicing every one. The different restaurants were all good not one disappointing meal. We drank about every drink you could imagine but some friends that we met pool side turned us on to Frozen Amaretto Sour!! The best by far so if you go have one. The property was well kept pools clean. Beaches clean. Deff go back again. We were able to drink the ice water served with no problems. Oh and we didn't get one mosquito bite. J n T

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Todd B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Your positive comments about our staff, food, drinks, cleanliness and relaxing atmosphere were also inspiring to prospective guests and staff. Our team remains committed to the total satisfaction of our guests, so reviews like yours remind us that we are on the right track.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel has received a lot of negative as well as positive reviews so we went along not expecting it to be great. However, on the whole, we were delighted with the resort.

The vast majority of staff were friendly and very helpful. We had a room overlooking the back pool and although it was very noisy during the day, it quietened down after 6.30 p.m. Unfortunately we had the misfortune to have some extremely selfish guests staying in the room next door to us for the last few nights of our stay. I was not impressed by the man knocking really loudly on the door at 3.45a.m. and shouting to his partner to open up! Nor was I impressed when they seemed to be having their own party with friends in their room until nearly midnight. Why didn't they go to the Skybar?

The food was very, very good, as was the service. The portions are not large, but they were perfect for us. The wine and other drinks were also fine. It was lovely watching the sunsets from the Oceana and the Windows restaurants. A couple of times we went to the adjoining hotel for meals, but we much preferred eating at the Secrets Aura.

Our room was comfortable and well cleaned. The bathroom often had a strong, unpleasant odour in, and they provided incense sticks and matches to cover up the smell.

One day our room was flooded (accidently by staff jet washing the stairs and landing outside). Hotel staff quickly mopped up the water and laundered the clothes that had also got soaked. Management also provided us with a beautiful flower arrangement to apologise for the incident.

There were always plenty of sun beds and towels. The water was clear for snorkelling and we saw a wide variety of fish.

We went diving for 5 of the days of our 14 day stay and booked through Scuba Tony - Brilliant! Small boat with a maximum of 6 divers - I can highlly recommend them. It was a bit tricky rinsing out our equipment on the last day but a guest from the condos adjacent to our hotel invited us to use the rinse tank belonging to the condos!

The most disappointing aspect of the hotel was that a large number of the guests were extremly drunk, loud and foul mouthed for much of the time. Having never stayed in an adults only resort before we were surprised by this behaviour.

We had rain every day, but we still had a great time overall.

Room Tip: I wouold not recommend paying extra for a swimup ocean view room - they were so noisy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear gelandpat,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We have noted your kind words about our property in general and friendly staff, which will certainly serve to encourage our team. However, we apologize for the accident with the flooding, smell and the disturbance from neighboring guests which inconvenienced you during your stay.

Overall your recommendation of our rooms, scuba diving, food, and service to other prospective travelers truly means a lot to us.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed June 29- July 6 2013 at Aura. As others have stated we read a lot of negative comments about the resort but we went anyway with an open mind. While we were there we found most of the comments not true,there were no long wait time in the restaurants,either to be seated or getting our food,wait staff was friendly and food was fresh and hot and numerous items to choose from. Water was very clear and could snorkel right of the beach and saw lots of colored fish.
Plenty of towels, pool chairs and service on the beach and by the pool was was prompt.

The room was wonderful ,spacious,clean plenty of hot water the air conditioner worked great, the maid service always brought us what we needed or asked for. The bed was comfortable also.

We met the resort manager Daniel and Concierge Justine and you could not have met any nicer two people, they really cared about their clients.

Some of the outstanding people that work there besides Daniel and Justine are the below employees:

Francisco (bell person) went above and beyond to help us into our room and took us back and forth in the golf cart.

Arielle(beach and pool wait staff) always had our drinks and food to us in a timely manner and with a sweet smile.

Waldo ( manager of Windows restaurant) very pleasant and knew of my love of mango and shrimp cocktail and he made sure I always had it there even if I did not ask.

Dena ( VIP Services) was so pleasant to talk to and always called us by name greeted us each time she saw us and made sure we were taken care of she really loves her job and is an asset to the Secrets family.

Overall experience at Secrets Aura met our expectations as we have visited other AM Resort properties and others as well all of which were all inclusive in other countries.

Room Tip: Most ocean view has limited view due to palm trees but the higher floors are better and ask for a st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Margaret B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Our team is grateful for the chance to have shown you our usual warm hospitality. It was most inspiring to see your positive comments concerning our rooms and service on the beach and restaurants. We have already forwarded your comments to the staff; they will be honored and delighted to know that they were part of making your holidays a wonderful experience.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

First...if you are looking for beautiful white sand beaches - Cozumel isn't for you (especially if you've been to Cancun, for example). The beach in front of this hotel is full of rocks. There are parts of this hotel that are lovely and parts that are not. Originally we were put in a room that had an angled view to the ocean. The size of the room was great but the shower components were broken and there were clearly blood stains on the carpet and sofa. So, I went down and made a complaint...turns out there was a room I hadn't heard about called a Swim Up room available for an extra $60 per night. Well, I jumped on that opportunity and it turned out to be the best decision I made. In hindsight, I wouldn't stay at any other room in this resort other than the Swim Up room. And it is exactly that...a room that had its own patio and steps to the pool area overlooking the ocean. Food for me was below standard but better than some other hotels, by far. Lots of Mosquitos at this property, so be prepared. I agree with the loud birds comments also. If you rent a car go to El Cedral...one tiny Mayan Ruin and a very low key but interesting Tequila tour - we enjoyed that a lot. And go to Coconuts to eat. Then you will understand why I made the comment about the hotel food. Coconuts had an amazing selection of very fresh seafood - specifically the Shrimp Fajita plate. Staff at Aura is very nice and accommodating - no complaints there. The sunsets are gorgeous :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear 19171504,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for your objective review. We are enthused to hear that we have successfully met some of your expectations but you still left our property with having mixed feelings. However, we appreciate your suggestions and mention of areas that we maybe overlooking and will work with Management to ensure that future guests do not encounter the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My gal pal and I were back to the Aura for the second year in a row on May 4-11 of this year. Had the oceanview swim up suite, booked thru Expedia. Had a Grat time.
Now the bad stuff. We encountered the sales staff for UVC while at the resort and listened to the sales pitch. We were told that if we were preferred members we would have exclusive rooms to book, earn free nights, etc., all sounded wonderful, so we bit. ALL LIES! Now starting the process to get our initial payment back, ( wish us luck ), and now the Aura and AMResorts will lose us loyal customers forever. Their loss, there are more resorts for us to choose from. Do not fall for the UVC scam!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear wrbp13,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We would like to express our gratitude for your kind words including the highlights of your return vacation as facilities and swim up suite. However, we very much regret that we could not meet your expectations with regards to your experience with UVC. Please accept our sincerest apologies for this which obviously does not reflect our usual high service standards which you can rightfully expect at a Secrets Resorts property. We have discussed the problem with their Management to exercise better control.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Spent a week at Secrets Aura, overall most everything was very good, the people, the room and the food. I would suggest that the first day that one should explore the entire campus, go north on the beach. You will find more restaurants to choose from. We did not look around until the day before we left. Want to snorkel go off the end of the pier (be careful on the last rungs of the ladder, slippery). If you have a hard time climbing ladders I would not recommend this, but the fish are the reward. The bottom of the beach (wading area is rocky). Beautiful sunsets! We had an issue with our A/C, reported it, and it was running when we got back from breakfast. Two issues, we were in the 4000 suits, the door was a struggle every time it needed to be unlocked from the outside. The pool near the back of the resort had an issue with rain run off for 3 days, until it was cleaned. They had a force of people working on cleaning it up, once clean it was great. Recommended for a good relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Steven F,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy to hear about your enjoyable vacation spent with us and your comments about our rooms, food, the people, sunsets and snorkeling offered on property will also serve to inform other prospective travelers as to what makes our property so great when visiting the island of Cozumel. We apologize for the lack of maintenance with your A/C and the fact that the pool was green due to the runoff from the Palapas. We are trying our best to find a solution to make this better for future guests.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Secrets Aura Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Aura Cozumel

Address: Km 12.9 Carretera Costera Sur | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Secrets Aura Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unlimited luxury now in Cozumel. Not only the perfect place for the celebration of love, if you desire pampering and seclusion in the Mexican Caribbean, look no further than Secrets Aura Cozumel. More than just a place to unwind, this All Inclusive - adults only getaway offers a stylishly contemporary environment for guests accustomed to the best. Each suite indulges with an inviting blend of light and comfort, as well as a private balcony featuring beautiful views to the grounds or the Ocean. Secrets Aura Cozumel has a unique category of rooms with access to the pool from the terrace and slides to the Swim up bar. For those looking for a most intimate getaway, a unique concept of Loft Suites with solarium and a private lap pool with magnificent ocean views is also available only at Secrets Aura Cozumel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Secrets Aura Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Cozumel Grand Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel
Cozumel Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Aura Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.