We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Aura Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Aura Cozumel to your Saves list
Secrets Aura Cozumel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 12.9 Carretera Costera Sur | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
McAllen, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

First...if you are looking for beautiful white sand beaches - Cozumel isn't for you (especially if you've been to Cancun, for example). The beach in front of this hotel is full of rocks. There are parts of this hotel that are lovely and parts that are not. Originally we were put in a room that had an angled view to the ocean. The size of the room was great but the shower components were broken and there were clearly blood stains on the carpet and sofa. So, I went down and made a complaint...turns out there was a room I hadn't heard about called a Swim Up room available for an extra $60 per night. Well, I jumped on that opportunity and it turned out to be the best decision I made. In hindsight, I wouldn't stay at any other room in this resort other than the Swim Up room. And it is exactly that...a room that had its own patio and steps to the pool area overlooking the ocean. Food for me was below standard but better than some other hotels, by far. Lots of Mosquitos at this property, so be prepared. I agree with the loud birds comments also. If you rent a car go to El Cedral...one tiny Mayan Ruin and a very low key but interesting Tequila tour - we enjoyed that a lot. And go to Coconuts to eat. Then you will understand why I made the comment about the hotel food. Coconuts had an amazing selection of very fresh seafood - specifically the Shrimp Fajita plate. Staff at Aura is very nice and accommodating - no complaints there. The sunsets are gorgeous :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear 19171504,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for your objective review. We are enthused to hear that we have successfully met some of your expectations but you still left our property with having mixed feelings. However, we appreciate your suggestions and mention of areas that we maybe overlooking and will work with Management to ensure that future guests do not encounter the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    394
    200
    123
    47
See reviews for
47
902
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My gal pal and I were back to the Aura for the second year in a row on May 4-11 of this year. Had the oceanview swim up suite, booked thru Expedia. Had a Grat time.
Now the bad stuff. We encountered the sales staff for UVC while at the resort and listened to the sales pitch. We were told that if we were preferred members we would have exclusive rooms to book, earn free nights, etc., all sounded wonderful, so we bit. ALL LIES! Now starting the process to get our initial payment back, ( wish us luck ), and now the Aura and AMResorts will lose us loyal customers forever. Their loss, there are more resorts for us to choose from. Do not fall for the UVC scam!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear wrbp13,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We would like to express our gratitude for your kind words including the highlights of your return vacation as facilities and swim up suite. However, we very much regret that we could not meet your expectations with regards to your experience with UVC. Please accept our sincerest apologies for this which obviously does not reflect our usual high service standards which you can rightfully expect at a Secrets Resorts property. We have discussed the problem with their Management to exercise better control.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Spent a week at Secrets Aura, overall most everything was very good, the people, the room and the food. I would suggest that the first day that one should explore the entire campus, go north on the beach. You will find more restaurants to choose from. We did not look around until the day before we left. Want to snorkel go off the end of the pier (be careful on the last rungs of the ladder, slippery). If you have a hard time climbing ladders I would not recommend this, but the fish are the reward. The bottom of the beach (wading area is rocky). Beautiful sunsets! We had an issue with our A/C, reported it, and it was running when we got back from breakfast. Two issues, we were in the 4000 suits, the door was a struggle every time it needed to be unlocked from the outside. The pool near the back of the resort had an issue with rain run off for 3 days, until it was cleaned. They had a force of people working on cleaning it up, once clean it was great. Recommended for a good relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Steven F,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy to hear about your enjoyable vacation spent with us and your comments about our rooms, food, the people, sunsets and snorkeling offered on property will also serve to inform other prospective travelers as to what makes our property so great when visiting the island of Cozumel. We apologize for the lack of maintenance with your A/C and the fact that the pool was green due to the runoff from the Palapas. We are trying our best to find a solution to make this better for future guests.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed there for 5 days in July, I had never been to Cozumel before and the main reason for going there was the snorkeling.
This resort did not disappoint, pretty good snorkeling right in front of the hotel, and the snorkeling further out is simply outstanding.
Saw sharks, barracudas, a ton of star fish, and a wide variety of colorful exotic fish.
Food was great also, there is a good a la cart restaurant with good quality steak, seafood and assorted dishes available, drinks are good, they use good ingredients, wet bar in the pool is also fun, try the fish taco's on the beach.
This hotel also has a bar on the roof, plus some hot tubs, hot tubs were ok, but the sunsets were much better.
We also rented a car to explore Cozumel a bit, the south of the island was quite spectacular, lighthouse, some (admittingly very small) Mayan ruins, salt water alligators and a spectacular white sand beach tucked deep inside a park.
The rooms were large and bright, we had a balcony on the top floor overlooking the ocean, rooms ground level had immediate access to the lazy river and though fun, seemed a bit intrusive to us somehow.
Would certainly go back and would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Top floor has best views, ground level floors have balcony's with immediate access to the lazy r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear tcdehaas,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Our team is grateful for the chance to have shown you our usual warm hospitality. It was most inspiring to see your positive comments concerning our food, room and snorkeling. We have already forwarded your comments to the staff; they will be honored and delighted to know that they were part of making your holidays a wonderful experience.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lgdtexoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the hotel July 4-9, 2013. Staff is excellent. Five dollars goes a long way with the cleaning staff. Bottles of water, extra towels, extra coffee, pretty flowers in the room. We love this place. This is our second stay here at Aura. It seemed better before Secrets took over. There was definitely a change in the food. Before there were not buffets, whereas now there were a couple of buffets. Not too crazy about buffets but these were actually good. The pier snorkeling here is great. Saw spotted rays, crab and lobster!! The beds are comfy (not hard) and the rooms are big. Amir, Gabriel and Manuel at the bar/snackbar are great! Added bonues - No Children at this resort. There were some drunks at the swim up bar pool. Oklahoman's. Not too bad, but heard one night got very risque. Do not get in the water of this pool.

Room Tip: 4131 is third floor, all stairs. 4121 is second floor, two flights of stairs. 4111 has a swim up sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear lgdtexoma,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are so happy that on your return visit we were able to accommodate your and make your vacation great! Your comments about our friendly staff, food and service and snorkeling offered on property will also serve to inform other prospective travelers as to what makes our property unique. We hope that when planning your next vacation in Cozumel you will make our hotel your destination of choice.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coodinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed at Secrets Aura the week of the 4th of July and want to commend Deena (VIP desk/spa coordinator), Fernando (Concierge Express) and Miguel (Bordeaux Restaurant). They were all fantastic and remembered our names, interests and anticipated our needs. Unfortunately, I can’t say the same about the activities programs (and Jordan in particular). Many of the announced events just simply did not take place. The 9 am stretching class was cancelled one morning due to slight sprinkles of rain. There was not enough moisture in the air to even wet my clothes while I sat out in it waiting to find anyone from the activities team to ask where the class was going to be. The resort also has a covered deck that looks perfect for yoga or stretching, so I don’t understand why they wouldn’t move it under there if the rain was really an issue. Anyway, for two days in a row, there was no 9am stretching class as advertised. I have no idea as to why it was cancelled the 2nd time as there was no rain at all and no actoivites people to be found. The evening at the Sky bar that was advertised to be “80’s Disco” never occurred either. The activities team would be better off not putting events in the daily calendar since there is no consistency in the likelihood that they will occur. The three activities that did take place were Casino night, Karaoke and bungee-trampoline. They were all fun, too bad more events didn’t take place.

The rooms were nice, but stay away from 1130 (solarium with roof top pool) as it is next door to a VERY LOUD generator that goes off at 6am every morning. Room 1133 was much better, but the birds are very loud and start chirping around 4am (way before sunlight, I am not sure why – just be prepared). Also the roof top pool door doesn’t have any covering or a curtain, so the sunlight pours in down the stairs at 7am each day, even if you have the drapes closed on the main floor. The roof top pool filter is a bit loud, so I’d suggest bringing your own music to drown it out.

Turndown service was also very inconsistent. Sometimes we got it and sometimes we didn’t, or the level of detail like putting bottles of water and the slipper floor mats by the bed just didn’t happen every night. Maid service was also inconsistent. One day maid service would be at 11am and another day it might be 4:45pm. I had to ask for hair condition and SPF lotion as they don’t put it in the rooms like all other Secrets do. They have it, but just don’t let people know unless you ask. It’s almost like there are some really good and well trained people working alongside some very untrained and lazy people and you just don’t know who you’ll get and when. Even little touches like the tray that held paper to take notes by the bed was missing a writing utensil.

My biggest complaint of all is that even though this is an all-inclusive resort that serves sparkling wine at all the bars for no additional cost, they try to charge you for it if you ask for it to be included with room service. Room service is free and so is white wine, but if you want sparkling wine, they will charge you for a bottle. We’re talking the same brand that is free throughout the rest of the resort. Rules that defy logic just infuriate me and unfortunately things like this will be what I remember long after the trip.

All in all, the hotel was nice. The views were great. The food was pretty good (but not as good as the 3 other Secrets that I’ve stayed at). If you don’t set your expectations too high, you’ll have a nice time.

Room Tip: Avoid 1130 - loud generator is next door and goes off at 6am, 1215 is a swim out that smells musty i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear ATLTraveler60898,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are certainly pleased to understand from your wonderful comments that you had an overall experience with us and enjoyed the resort staff, hotel and accommodating experience at Secrets. We sincerely appreciate you mentioning your concerns about your experience with our entertainment team and inconsistency with turn down as it has given us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our ability to continually improve on our services with regards to becoming a highly regarded resort in Cozumel.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have stayed at a number of Secrets but when they bought Aura Cozumel I really wanted to go there knowing that it might not be up to the standards yet of all the other Secrets. We were pleasantly surprised. We paid for oceanview and had a lovely corner room with a large balcony overlooking the pool and ocean. The only problem with the room was that when the toilet flushed it made a loud groaning noise (which we laughed about everytime). This property doesnt have as much nightlife as Maroma does but they strive to have something entertaining after dinner somewhere (beach party, casino party, trivia etc). We knew that the beach wasnt going to be a beautiful swimming beach but with Chen Rio just a 15 minute ride away we were happy to pack up and go spend the day there. We were totally fine with every meal and had read reviews that service was slow but we did not experience slow service at all. Bordeaux meals were excellent. Only suggestions are: More servers for pool and beach since there isn't a swim up bar at the pools overlooking the beach. Men should be allowed to wear nice shorts and collared shirts to dinner (its freaking hot there and I was allowed in to the restaurant with nice shorts and shirt and sandals.) My husband looked great in golf shorts and collared shirt and nice shoes but had to go put on long pants. Sitting next to us is a guy in ratty blue jeans and a tee shirt and flip flops. That rule definitely needs to be refined..........for ALL of the Secrets properties

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear KathiKSL,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy that even though it was your first time to Cozumel you had a wonderful time, we appreciated your kind comments about our staff, room, dining experience and overall relaxing ambiance . We have noted your comments about more servers on the beach and the lack of entertainment It is certainly our intention to make improvements accordingly. In addition to that we have recently revised the dress code in the evenings for the restaurants as per Management. Bordeaux will be the only casually elegant restaurant where Men will be required to wear long pants and collared shirts. You are not able to dine at Oceana and Windows in a more casual dress code.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Aura Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Aura Cozumel

Address: Km 12.9 Carretera Costera Sur | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Secrets Aura Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unlimited luxury now in Cozumel. Not only the perfect place for the celebration of love, if you desire pampering and seclusion in the Mexican Caribbean, look no further than Secrets Aura Cozumel. More than just a place to unwind, this All Inclusive - adults only getaway offers a stylishly contemporary environment for guests accustomed to the best. Each suite indulges with an inviting blend of light and comfort, as well as a private balcony featuring beautiful views to the grounds or the Ocean. Secrets Aura Cozumel has a unique category of rooms with access to the pool from the terrace and slides to the Swim up bar. For those looking for a most intimate getaway, a unique concept of Loft Suites with solarium and a private lap pool with magnificent ocean views is also available only at Secrets Aura Cozumel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Secrets Aura Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Cozumel Grand Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel
Cozumel Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Aura Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.