We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a neat experience!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphinaris Cozumel

Dolphinaris Cozumel
Av. Rafael E. Melgar Zona 2 KM 1.5 | Col. Cozumel, Centro, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
998 881 30 30
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #13 of 87 attractions in Cozumel
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Dolphinaris Cozumel is a place like no other in Cozumel or in the Caribbean, nestled upon the shores of a glittering turquoise sea, it offers an unforgettable experience where guests can swim and interact with dolphins in their natural habitat, the beautiful ocean coves provide a safe place for you and for our dolphins to enjoy a truly unforgettable experience.Dolphinaris Cozumel guests will be able to choose from a variety of programs like: swim with dolphins, learn how to train a dolphin, participate in the kids program, enjoy a private session with family or friends or have the opportunity to celebrate an anniversary, birthday, engagement with a custom made dolphin session to relay a special message.Each of our programs include fantastic demonstrations of dolphin behaviors and acrobatics, plus information on dolphin physiology, training and habitat.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a neat experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was a little pricey, around $80.00 but well worth it! (We booked this excersion throuhg the cruise ship, so not sure if it would be less or more elsewhere) Interaction with the dolphins was an experience my family will never forget, you get to high five with them, "dance with them", hug them and they even give you a kiss. The dolphins are such smart animals. The trainer does tell you all about dolphins so you learn while you get to play with them! The catch to all this is all the while you are interacting with them pictures are being taken. At the end of the playtime you are hit with them trying to sell you outrageously high pictures. We did buy a cd with 6 pictures of our daughter with the dolphins, it was around $50.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMasterIT, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dolphinaris Cozumel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear visitor, the programs we offer are incredibly awesome; our visitors can really enjoy beautiful activities when swimming with the dolphins. Getting a kiss form the dolphin is something that out visitor remember for all life.

Our trainers are always very willing to share their knowledge and make of your experience even nicer.

The pictures are available for purchase who would like to get them, this is optional.

Thank you for visiting Dolphinaris and you are always very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    168
    44
    23
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pretty great; maybe a little too controlled.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife, 13-yr-old daughter, and I have been looking forward to interacting with dolphins for a long time, so this was pretty exciting to us. It was pretty wonderful. These are amazing animals that humans don't often get to touch, and the fin-hold ride was awesome. That being said, we did feel like it was very restrictive with very little personal interaction for more than a few seconds. Believe it or not, we actually enjoyed the stingray interaction down the road more!

Still, if you've never interacted with dolphins before, and you're going to be in Cozumel, you shouldn't miss the opportunity!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMasterIT, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dolphinaris Cozumel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear visitor, swimming with the dolphins is a great opportunity that everybody should do one day, we are sure your daughter had a great time and that moment will be something she will remember all life. We do our best to make of your visit something incredible.

Thank you for visiting Dolphinaris and you are always very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very nice, well kept facility with Happy Happy Dolphins!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I won't keep recapping the other reviews. You get the general idea. You will pay heavily to get this experience. It is worth it. The dolphins and trainers were amazing. The layout of the place is beautiful. My 9yr old son and I had a great time. I paid $120ish dollars for 8 pictures on a CD. Jeez! This place MAKES some money! If you are coming from a cruise ship, they require you to buy your excursion through Carnival:( It was pricey. BUT....my baby wanted to swim with dolphins for his birthday, and we made it happen. He will keep those memories forever! If I had to do it over again.....I'd go to Dolphinaris.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Swimming with the Dolphins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I would definitely do this again, I loved it, they take great shots of you to choose from and the video was worth buying, I guess it could be considered pricy to some but it was well worth what I paid I had actually expected it to be more expensive from what I had read......This was so a childhood dream come true!!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Dream excursion! Precious animals!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Let me preface my review by saying that I struggle with keeping wild animals in captivity, unless there is a major medical reason they would be in danger in the wild, swimming with dolphins has been on my bucket list since I was a little girl. That being said, it was an experience of a lifetime!! I have been blessed to visit over 20+ countries on 4 continents, and this ranks as one of my very favorite activities. We were in a group of about 10 or 12 adults with one trainer and one dolphin. I felt like we got quite a bit of hands on experience despite the size of the group. It's evident the trainers adore the animals and pamper them! We did all of the tricks, "rode" on the dolphins, and learned a lot about this species. The park is very nice and has a beautiful view of the Caribbean. I splurged and bought pictures plus a DVD, and it was pricey, but made for excellent Christmas cards!! All in all, I have recommended it to friends and family and would do it again in a heartbeat. The joy I feel every time I think of that adventure is evidence of a lifelong memory. Enjoy!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphinaris Cozumel also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Dolphinaris Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphinaris Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dolphinaris Cozumel to your Saves list