We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel to your Saves list
Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilometro 17.5, Carretera Sur Cozumel, El Cedral | San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Rock Springs, Wyoming, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Besides the weather, which the resort had no control over, our trip was outstanding. The people, the service, the food and drink were great. Besides the hot tub in the spa not working, the place was great. The Royal Club concierge, Nellie, was more than helpful every time assistance was requested. The Royal Club restaurant was out standing, as was the buffet. The specialty restaurants were good, the seasonal closures threw us off a bit. There was a lack of air circulation in the Lobby Bar area. The beach area was great, not a problem getting chairs. The food at the beach club was good, and a great variety. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Royal club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    64
    16
    11
    12
See reviews for
51
146
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here week of Aug 10th with my husband and children (6 and 8). We all had a great time. I highly recommend staying in Royal Club section of hotel as the rooms are closer to the beach and you have access to private restaurant for breakfast lunch and dinner. Everyone on the staff was welcoming and accommodating. The waiters and bartenders were all awesome and helpful. The entire hotel was so well kept and very clean. Everyone works so hard here. We didn't use the pools very much but it was nice to have the options of the quiet pool and the one by the beach. Beach area was beautiful and snorkeling right off it was so much fun for the entire family! We didn't mind the short walk to beach because it is over a beautiful wooden walkway that takes you thought the mangroves so always cool things for the kids to see. We had no issue anywhere with air conditioning, a good plus was that it is low season the overall the resort was not too crowded. Food was very good, we ate most of our meals at the Royal Club restaurant and they were great about accomodating special requests (my son wanted grilled chicken and fruit one night!).

Met a lot of great people here and would definitely come back again. Absolutely loved Cozumel. Also try the dune buggy tour to see lighthouse and snorkel at Punta Sur. Beautiful place and our guide Victor was incredible!!

Room Tip: Stay in Royal Club section
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I brought our 6 adult kids to Cozumel for a diving trip in July, and chose the Occidental based upon proximity to dive sites, the all-inclusive plan, and overall rating of the hotel. After reading all of the reviews, we upgraded to the Royal Club, and I was really glad we did.

In short, the hotel layout is interesting - the individual 3-story buildings straddle a long pathway from the main lobby to a smaller pool (all outdoors), then you walk across a pretty wood bridge through the mangrove forest and come out at the main large pool and beach. The Royal Club buildings (20 & 21) are closest to the bridge - we stayed in the RC so that was great. The beach is really pretty (large Tiki umbrellas offer plenty of shade), the pool very nice (they need more umbrellas at the pool tho), and there is a bar at the pool which at times has a very long line..needs to be expanded to accommodate more people. We had some challenge getting beach chairs at times - people save them and never show up. Typical resort challenge tho...

The rooms were nice - we had a Junior Suite and two RC Luxury. The suite was spacious - living area, dining area and large bedroom / bath. The Luxury rooms were also nice - good space. Air conditioning in the Junior suite family room area stopped working one night...we called and a guy was there in 15 minutes, but couldn't fix it. They said we had to wait until the next day - we just stayed in the bedroom and shut that door. They fixed it the next day. The AC was never cold though...almost like 1/2 power the entire stay. The other two rooms were fine.

The food situation needs some serious work at this hotel. Thankfully we could use the RC restaurant for breakfast, which we did every day. The AC worked in that restaurant, the food was OK and you could order off a menu. Everyone else has to use the buffet way up by the main lobby, where there is no AC but I hear the breakfast food was OK. Lunch was served at the Beach Club open air restaurant (buffet style) by the beach...no AC (July is HOT), and the food is seriously marginal...we expected to see more traditional mexican food, but there was not a tortilla in sight (except the chips). Lots of various meat dishes which didn't look appetizing, and strange salads that were sitting in the heat...I skipped lunch most days, but my husband and the young adults found various things (hamburgers mostly).

Dinner...OK so the choices are 1) buffet with no AC (food varied ...good one night, bad the next), 2) Sonora restaurant with a reservation and must wear PANTS, and 3) Royal Club restaurant with a reservation and PANTS. Well...our 4 guys didn't bring pants...in 90 degrees with 95% humidity...go figure. Hotel said no exceptions...even though the restaurants were empty most nights!! SO...we did room service from the RC restaurant one night (food was really marginal ...suddenly didn't care that we didn't have pants!), buffet another night (food was good that night - we went later after it cooled down but it was still so HOT in there), and the rest of the time we just went off-campus. We did Alberto's down the beach twice (beautiful walk at sunset...lots of fun at their beach party, fish tacos were awesome..), Kondesa in town has outstanding food ($40 taxi for 8 of us plus a fat dinner bill, but we walked around town and shopped also), and Guido's another night (also very good). That all added up to significantly more expense than was planned...it should not have been necessary...but it really was given the food experience at the Occidental.

Drinks were free flowing...no premium alcohol or wine, and the only beer is Corona, but this was all fine given our troop of 20-somethings. Something to note - they don't allow food on the beach or at the pool...they don't serve it there either. You have to go to the restaurant to eat. Would be nice to have snacks of some type available at the pool/beach.

The diving was great - the dive shop gave us a private boat since we had a large party, and our dive master was really great with our group (Joshua). The diving is so convenient - grab your gear at the shop, walk down the pier and get on the boat. The great dive spots are a 10 minute boat ride...that's why we stayed there! We dove 3 days (2 dives each day) and had an absolute blast. Loved every minute. We also did parasailing one day - they make it easy by picking you up right at the pier.

Another day trip we did was in these little Polaris cars. We made arrangements through Jose at the concierge, and at 8:30 am two of the 4 seater open-air cars were parked outside the resort. We hopped in and followed a lead driver with a caravan around the island all day. We stopped for a tequila tasting (learned how they make it), the Mayan ruins, a lighthouse tour (Punta Sur), and snorkeling / lunch on the south side of the island. Great way to see the whole island (at least the part that has a road around it).

All in all, we had a really great time because we made some adjustments that were not really expected. The Occidental should really take a hard look at their food offerings, maybe take some input from guests....if they would fix that AND ensure the AC worked well EVERYWHERE, I think they would get much higher marks than they do. The property is really pretty - they keep it up very nicely. Such a shame the food isn't as nice!

Room Tip: Royal Club buildings are 21 & 20. Top floors seem to have issues with AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in a hotel suite in the Royal Club. Service at the Royal Club concierge was mediocre at best, but the private restaurant was good (when you could get a reservation). The other specialty restaurants were good, not great. The buffet was good, but no a/c and the mosquitoes were thick. The First Club area was very nice, friendly staff and Miguel was a great manager. WE spent much more time there than in the more exclusive Royal Club. The resort is built over a mangrove swamp so it is not surprising that the mosquitoes are thick at night, but this also leads to a beautiful atmosphere like you are in the middle of a jungle. The dive shop was excellent and has an excellent reputation in the area.

Room Tip: Stick with the First Club, it would be a waste to upgrade to the Royal Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brossard, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

It was our fourth visit to the OGC and I can honestly say that the Royal Club section is a Hotel of its own.
la Carretta restaurant was heaven to us every morning and every night of the week. This place is so relaxing, well managed and the lady chef is quite extraordinary. keep up the good work!
The rooms needs an overhaul but they are always kept very clean.
The grounds are kept in pristine conditions
The pools are clean and well located on the resort
The Royal Club people are simply the best. I will name a few that made our stay memorable: They are Nelly, the RC Manager, Rogelio, Adrian,Thomas, Arturo and Nelly. Dedicated and always smilling even though they work unending hours. They all get a '10'

My wife and I got the massage on the beach from The SPA ladies. My stress and back pain disappeared the next day, they are very professional and skilled at what they do. I would strongly recommend to see them early in the week so you enjoy the rest of the week feeling a whole lot better than when you came in.

I'm a diver, so for me this resort is the best location on the Island, close to the Palancar reef. Its awsome team of Dive Palancar, Divemasters and crew members will make your diving trip simply memorable. Carlos at the Dive shop, always ready, in charge and smily, Gorge, Gustavo, Lobo, Ramiro, Oswaldo who made professional diving at the OGC something you cannot forget. Palancar Gardens is the best dive that I have done so far. I am a Divemaster myself in Canada, I know how professional they are. Don't hesitate to try on and discover Scuba Diving. You'll never be the same after....its a promise!

We just can't wait to go back to the OGC.

Thank you for having us again on your beautiful Island

'Felipe'

Room Tip: we have stayed in the two different buildings of the Royal Club and both are excellent locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We’ve just returned home from a week’s stay at the Occidental Grand Cozumel Royal Club and would like to share certain aspects of our experience with those of you who might be considering the OGC Royal Club as your next holiday destination. While we did, upon arrival meet with a booking / accommodation snafu, the problem was quickly resolved by Marcela Gomés, the Operations Manager who, with a great deal of understanding and professionalism, resolved the situation by assigning us to lodging that, by far, surpassed our expectations. Kudos to this wonderful woman who was instrumental in making our stay at this resort a memorable one.

It took us little time to fully realize that the small supplement for the upgrade from the regular OGC to the OGC Royal Club was well worth it. Since the Club is small, it allows for personal service and attention. No need for special bracelets there. You truly feel as a guest at the Club and people greet you by your name. From one day to the next, the waiters at the Club’s restaurant remember your preferences and litterally go out of their way to please you. Even ask for something that’s not on the menu and they’ll prepare it for you. That, to me, is what the Club is all about: you’re not just a room number or an individual with a certain coloured bracelet. You’re a guest!

A few times during our stay, we ventured out of the “reservation” and tried some of the specialties restaurants and were pleasantly surprised. Both The Senora and Los Olives
restaurants proved to be up to the task of meeting the expectations of an international clientèle, and we found the waiters to be both attentive and knowledgeable. The food wasn’t bad either!

The only disappointment we came across was at the buffet La Poseda. This restaurant is not part of the Club and belongs to OGC. This is not a friendly place. The greetings are cold and mechanical. The air conditioning is insufficient. The food choices are very limited. Even the lighting is inadequate. This is not a place where you want to linger for any length of time. You eat and out you go. It’s a shame that management turns a blind eye to this sore spot in an otherwise pretty fabulous place.

The Mexican hacieda architecture is wonderful and the various areas on the property are spotlessly clean. Here, I’d like to express heartfelt kudos to the great unsung heros of this resort: the gardeners and groundskeepers. Thanks to them, you feel as if you were in a well tended botanical garden: the lawns are manicured and the trees and shrubs are of gigantic proportions, quite an unforgettable sight for Northerners like ourselves.

My wife and I would return there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

After an air conditioner issue in the standard room, we bumped up to the Royal Club. This was absolutely the best decision! Margarita and Monica at the concierge desk were incredible. They always greeted you with a smile and seemed eager accommodate our every need. Tomas and Adrian at La Carreta made each meal a spectacular event with the presentation of incredible food. I am allergic to dairy and they made every attempt to accommodate that. When you stay at the Royal Club you gain the concierge service, wi fi, an additional restaurant, and an additional pool.

The spa was a delight. It was small but very efficient and clean. Erika was an absolute sweetheart as well an incredible massage therapist. The aromatherapy massage I received was one of the best experiences that I have had. It was relaxing and therapeutic.

We also dined at the Mediterranean restaurant, Mexican restaurant, the pizzeria, and the beach buffet. The staff work very hard to make your vacation enjoyable.

The beach and pools were clean and well maintained. However, I think their pool bar is understaffed. The mixologist works very hard and is very gifted but frequently had a 10 minute wait in line for a cocktail. It was also a real treat to snorkel from the beach and see a wide variety of fish as well as Lola, the resident barracuda. I had read about her online but seeing her in person was a fantastic experience.

One night we walked down the beach to enjoy a seafood dinner at Alberto's. They had a live band the night we were there. Our group had a great time, a phenomenal dinner, and no one left thirsty. The Mango Margarita was a dessert in a cup!

This was our 3rd visit to Cozumel, the first to Occidental Grand Royal Club. I hope to return to the Royal Club. I love Cozumel and I love the people of Cozumel! Everyone was very eager to make our vacation a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.2 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Occidental Grand Cozumel
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#17 of 53 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 3,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 53 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,815 reviews
9.2 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 53 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 2,920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#34 of 53 in Cozumel
3.5 of 5 stars 3,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel

Address: Kilometro 17.5, Carretera Sur Cozumel, El Cedral | San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Club At Occidental Grand Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Royal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.