We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful reprieve from winter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel to your Saves list
Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilometro 17.5, Carretera Sur Cozumel, El Cedral | San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful reprieve from winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This vacation was a spontaneous effort to escape the winter and the lake effect snow of northern Indiana. We had forgotten that we had stayed at the Occidental Grand's Royal Club about 5 years ago (and loved it), so we were delighted to realize that we could upgrade our accommodations to the Club when we arrived. The private dining room alone was more than worth the cost! The food was excellent and the service personal and efficient. Our server, Captain Rogelio, took special care of us and we loved the quiet, the variety on the menu, and the excellent wine. The place was top shelf in every respect.

We loved that there are no plastic bracelets! Our week of respite from the snow even made the wind and snow of Chicago seem not that bad and we enthusiastically recommend the Royal Club!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    65
    16
    11
    12
See reviews for
51
147
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My brother and his wife had attended a wedding last year at the Occidental Grand Cozumel and had only good things to say about the resort so when we planned a wintertime sun getaway, we decided to giving it a go; a wise decision on our part.

We opted for the Royal Club, having been told the extra cost was worthwhile and this was demonstrated immediately upon our arrival. While other guests on our shuttle were ushered to the front desk to check in, Joanne and I were escorted to the Royal Club without delay where we were greeted by Gabriela and invited to make ourselves comfortable in the sitting area of the RC lobby. First things first, we were offered a refreshment before getting down to check-in formalities and a minute later were served ice-cold cervesas with the mandatory lime wedges. Required paperwork was ready and completed in no time and, following an introduction to Nelly, the RC's manager, we were turned over to the bellhop who waited with our luggage. Long story short, easily less than ten minutes after getting off the shuttle, we were in our room and ready to proceed with some fun in the sun.

As we hadn't eaten since breakfast and it was 3pm, we asked where we might get a bite to eat and were directed to the RC private à la carte restaurant where we were quickly served our first fine meal in Cozumel. Thanks to Regelio, Adrian and the rest of the RC restaurant staff, more great meals followed be they breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Throughout the week, we also tried the other resort restaurants and were never disappointed but I must make a special mention of Arturo, who made our visit at the Sonora Grill the most pleasant dining experience of our stay. Arturo gets extra points for introducing us to Agavero, a fine tequila based liqueur which became our staple after-dinner drink.

But, enough about food and drink. What about the resort? No complaints from us, that's for sure. Housekeeping was timely and well done, towels and toiletries replenished and fridge restocked and every day brought a new and impressive towel sculpture waiting for us when we returned to our room. The room was comfortable, the king-size bed more so, the bathroom great with a huge shower and no shortage of hot water. The huge jacuzzi at the Royal Club was a great place to end the afternoon and about ten of us actually spend a couple of hours in there during a torrential downpour on the one day it rained.

The grounds of the resort were very well maintained as were the pools and beach and, compared to other resorts we've been to, we had no rowdy crowds to endure at any time during our stay. A truly wonderful place and highly recommended!

Room Tip: We had been told to request a room on the second floor as humidity seems to be less of a factor than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Well worth the upgrade to Royal Club. Excellent dinners in the Royal Club dining room. So nice to be able to order from a menu for all meals. We ate lunch most of the day's at the Beach Restaurant that had a great variety of foods and nice open atmosphere. Nelly and Staff were always available to answer any questions and accomodating. First class maid service. No rooms with Beach view as the trees are too high. Beach is very nice, busy by early afternoon but many lounge chairs. Grounds are always kept clean. Ask for late check out and it was not a problem. Nothing negative to say about the Royal Club or the resort as a whole.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our second trip to Cozumel and once again we are glad we chose Occidental Grand Cozumel! We had excellent service and superb food. Both buffet and the a la carte restaurants were very good quality and had excellent service. Royal service was second to none in our well appointed and well stocked room. The head waiter/royal club manager Thomas was very helpfull friendly and attentive. Nelly, the Royal Club Manager (both this year and last year) really did treat us Royally! All that we asked for... she provided. The rooms were very clean and in good repair. The king size bed we had was a bit too firm and the Jacuzzi tub in our room was a little small but the large outdoor hot tub made up for that. We will visit again!
Cozumel Island is a taste of paradise and Occidental Grand is probably one of if not the best places to stay while here!

¡Mi esposa y yo disfrutamos de nuestro segundo viaje a Cozumel y otra vez nos alegramos elegimos Magnífico Cozumel occidental! Teníamos el servicio excelente y el alimento magnífico. Tanto bufete como un la carte restaurantes era muy la buena calidad y tenía el servicio excelente. El servicio real era sin par en nuestro bien designado y cuarto bien abastecido. El camarero principal / gerente de club real Thomas era muy helpfull amistoso y atento. Nelly, el Gerente de Club Real (tanto este año como el año pasado) realmente nos trató

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Occidental Grand Cozumel is all around fabulous! The Royal Club is frosting on the cake, but there's nothing to complain about for this resort. The rooms are spacious, clean, and well-appointed. The staff is very friendly and wants only to make you happy. Everyone from the waiters to the groundskeepers smile with a friendly "Hola!" as you pass. The food is wonderful -- even dieters and/or picky eaters can find something to tasty to eat. Be sure to try the breakfast bread with chocolate inside! A beautiful, clean beach has plenty of chaise lounges and enough shade to make the fair-skinned feel comfortable. There's a huge Activity Pool with plenty of entertainment and a Quiet Pool for relaxing under an umbrella with a good book. Lovely grounds surround you -- foliage and flowers are everywhere and iguanas roam freely, posing for the photos that we humans are always taking. There is also a nature preserve that finds turtles swimming, herons and egrets gracefully flying and a baby crocodile who patiently waits for his dinner. This area is totally protected -- you can view it all from the bridge that links the two swimming pools. Take an evening walk and see more stars than you could imagine. Any concerns or complaints are quickly acted upon, although there is occasionally a language barrier -- but that is quickly corrected by one of the always-present staff members. This is a perfect vacation for those needing to relax as well as people who love action and water sports. True value and more pampering than can be expected.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have been coming to the Occidental Grand Royal Club for many years now. The grounds are gorgeous and wonderfully maintained. The rooms are spacious and airy! The staff...well there are just not enough words to describe the wonderful way they treat each and every guest. Nelly who heads up the team in the Royal club is outstanding! She always makes you feel important and will do whatever possible to make your stay perfect! Any issues you may have are quickly dealt with. We love staying on the third floor, but the room we were given had air conditioning issues, we were moved and settled in a new room within 20 minutes! Adrian heads up the restaurants for this resort and does an outstanding job! His days are long, as we see him at breakfast and then again at dinner, but he always has a smile on his face. I made mention that I hadn't seen any Coconut Ice Cream the first couple of days we were there and the next meal he brought me some personally. It's just amazing the attention they give you! The food selections are great, you can always find something to your taste. The specialty restaurants are offer quieter settings with a nice selection. Love the antipasto bar at the Mediterranean!
Getting reservations for them is easy when dealing with Nelly and her team. The beach at the Resort rivals any you will find anywhere else in the world! Gorgeous and smooth, we watched them groom the sand with rakes! Walks down the beach in front of surrounding resorts showed us just how well maintained our beach was. We had been kayaking and decided we wanted to learn to sail. We asked one of the staff that handles this area when the class was to learn. It was a quieter day for them and they were busy, so he took us out right then and taught us how to sail! Loved that!
I could ramble on and on, but suffice to say, it's always a wonderful experience when you upgrade to the Royal Club!!

Room Tip: We ask for a southern facing room as it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is our third visit to the Royal Club. We stayed for the Christmas and New Year time frame. It certainly did not disappoint. It seems to get better and better. I can think of no negative issues, no complaints and no problems which were not resolved quickly and efficiently. We found our suite to be exceptionally clean and stocked fully and daily with emenities. There were always plenty of clean towels and the minfridge was always kept full with water, beer and cold sodas. Maid service was wonderful, beds were turned down in the evening and chocolates placed on each pillow. Our air conditioner worked very well as did our ceiling fan. The room was quiet and a pleasure to return to after a day at the beach.

The main reason we enjoy this resort is the people who service it. Friendly and smiling and always willing help with any requests. We found the food and drink to be delicious and plentiful. Waiters and chefs were always courteous and concerned with customer service. Bar service was quick and tipping did not determine whether one was served promptly or not. We often left a little something in the tip jar because often we were provided a little extra. We were happy to see the large collection of premium liquors were still in abundance behind the bar. All one had to do was ask. How civilized to enjoy a Gran Marnier after dinner.

Now speaking of customer service Nelly Baas the Club Royal Manager again distinguished herself as a lady who makes things happen. This lady looked after all our needs in a competent and professional manner. Her can-do attitude coupled with her ability to make one feel special certainly was evident every time met or when we had a request. Thank you so much Nelly. Her replacement staff were also very receptive to any and all requests. It was very enjoyable to drop in and have a glass of champagne whenever the urge hit. The Club Royal Restaurant again was a highlight. It was nice to see old friends still providing service there and it was also pleasant to see the new and I think improved dinner and lunch menu. If you haven't tried the Mayan Coffee you're mssing out; it was spectacular. We enjoyed the occasional a la carte breakfast pondering the day over hot coffee, orange juice and sweet cakes.

The Occidental Grand worked very hard to ensure we had a wonderful Christmas and New Year's experience. Santa arrived via a Para Sail and hung around for pictures. There were many ballons and lots of neat things for the kids. The set-up for both evenings took an enormous amount of work. Next morning when we strolled past the square amazingly it was all cleaned up.

I could go on and on but I would likely only mirror my last year's review. In the opinion of our group the Occidental Grand is a safe, exceptionally clean and beautiful resort which prides itself on customer service. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor which seemed a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.2 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Occidental Grand Cozumel
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#18 of 53 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 53 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,888 reviews
9.2 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 53 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 2,953 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#34 of 53 in Cozumel
3.5 of 5 stars 3,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel

Address: Kilometro 17.5, Carretera Sur Cozumel, El Cedral | San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Club At Occidental Grand Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Royal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.