We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation on a Great Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel to your Saves list
Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilometro 17.5, Carretera Sur Cozumel, El Cedral | San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Kitchener, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Vacation on a Great Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Well worth the upgrade to Royal Club. Excellent dinners in the Royal Club dining room. So nice to be able to order from a menu for all meals. We ate lunch most of the day's at the Beach Restaurant that had a great variety of foods and nice open atmosphere. Nelly and Staff were always available to answer any questions and accomodating. First class maid service. No rooms with Beach view as the trees are too high. Beach is very nice, busy by early afternoon but many lounge chairs. Grounds are always kept clean. Ask for late check out and it was not a problem. Nothing negative to say about the Royal Club or the resort as a whole.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    53
    14
    11
    11
See reviews for
47
129
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our second trip to Cozumel and once again we are glad we chose Occidental Grand Cozumel! We had excellent service and superb food. Both buffet and the a la carte restaurants were very good quality and had excellent service. Royal service was second to none in our well appointed and well stocked room. The head waiter/royal club manager Thomas was very helpfull friendly and attentive. Nelly, the Royal Club Manager (both this year and last year) really did treat us Royally! All that we asked for... she provided. The rooms were very clean and in good repair. The king size bed we had was a bit too firm and the Jacuzzi tub in our room was a little small but the large outdoor hot tub made up for that. We will visit again!
Cozumel Island is a taste of paradise and Occidental Grand is probably one of if not the best places to stay while here!

¡Mi esposa y yo disfrutamos de nuestro segundo viaje a Cozumel y otra vez nos alegramos elegimos Magnífico Cozumel occidental! Teníamos el servicio excelente y el alimento magnífico. Tanto bufete como un la carte restaurantes era muy la buena calidad y tenía el servicio excelente. El servicio real era sin par en nuestro bien designado y cuarto bien abastecido. El camarero principal / gerente de club real Thomas era muy helpfull amistoso y atento. Nelly, el Gerente de Club Real (tanto este año como el año pasado) realmente nos trató

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Occidental Grand Cozumel is all around fabulous! The Royal Club is frosting on the cake, but there's nothing to complain about for this resort. The rooms are spacious, clean, and well-appointed. The staff is very friendly and wants only to make you happy. Everyone from the waiters to the groundskeepers smile with a friendly "Hola!" as you pass. The food is wonderful -- even dieters and/or picky eaters can find something to tasty to eat. Be sure to try the breakfast bread with chocolate inside! A beautiful, clean beach has plenty of chaise lounges and enough shade to make the fair-skinned feel comfortable. There's a huge Activity Pool with plenty of entertainment and a Quiet Pool for relaxing under an umbrella with a good book. Lovely grounds surround you -- foliage and flowers are everywhere and iguanas roam freely, posing for the photos that we humans are always taking. There is also a nature preserve that finds turtles swimming, herons and egrets gracefully flying and a baby crocodile who patiently waits for his dinner. This area is totally protected -- you can view it all from the bridge that links the two swimming pools. Take an evening walk and see more stars than you could imagine. Any concerns or complaints are quickly acted upon, although there is occasionally a language barrier -- but that is quickly corrected by one of the always-present staff members. This is a perfect vacation for those needing to relax as well as people who love action and water sports. True value and more pampering than can be expected.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have been coming to the Occidental Grand Royal Club for many years now. The grounds are gorgeous and wonderfully maintained. The rooms are spacious and airy! The staff...well there are just not enough words to describe the wonderful way they treat each and every guest. Nelly who heads up the team in the Royal club is outstanding! She always makes you feel important and will do whatever possible to make your stay perfect! Any issues you may have are quickly dealt with. We love staying on the third floor, but the room we were given had air conditioning issues, we were moved and settled in a new room within 20 minutes! Adrian heads up the restaurants for this resort and does an outstanding job! His days are long, as we see him at breakfast and then again at dinner, but he always has a smile on his face. I made mention that I hadn't seen any Coconut Ice Cream the first couple of days we were there and the next meal he brought me some personally. It's just amazing the attention they give you! The food selections are great, you can always find something to your taste. The specialty restaurants are offer quieter settings with a nice selection. Love the antipasto bar at the Mediterranean!
Getting reservations for them is easy when dealing with Nelly and her team. The beach at the Resort rivals any you will find anywhere else in the world! Gorgeous and smooth, we watched them groom the sand with rakes! Walks down the beach in front of surrounding resorts showed us just how well maintained our beach was. We had been kayaking and decided we wanted to learn to sail. We asked one of the staff that handles this area when the class was to learn. It was a quieter day for them and they were busy, so he took us out right then and taught us how to sail! Loved that!
I could ramble on and on, but suffice to say, it's always a wonderful experience when you upgrade to the Royal Club!!

Room Tip: We ask for a southern facing room as it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is our third visit to the Royal Club. We stayed for the Christmas and New Year time frame. It certainly did not disappoint. It seems to get better and better. I can think of no negative issues, no complaints and no problems which were not resolved quickly and efficiently. We found our suite to be exceptionally clean and stocked fully and daily with emenities. There were always plenty of clean towels and the minfridge was always kept full with water, beer and cold sodas. Maid service was wonderful, beds were turned down in the evening and chocolates placed on each pillow. Our air conditioner worked very well as did our ceiling fan. The room was quiet and a pleasure to return to after a day at the beach.

The main reason we enjoy this resort is the people who service it. Friendly and smiling and always willing help with any requests. We found the food and drink to be delicious and plentiful. Waiters and chefs were always courteous and concerned with customer service. Bar service was quick and tipping did not determine whether one was served promptly or not. We often left a little something in the tip jar because often we were provided a little extra. We were happy to see the large collection of premium liquors were still in abundance behind the bar. All one had to do was ask. How civilized to enjoy a Gran Marnier after dinner.

Now speaking of customer service Nelly Baas the Club Royal Manager again distinguished herself as a lady who makes things happen. This lady looked after all our needs in a competent and professional manner. Her can-do attitude coupled with her ability to make one feel special certainly was evident every time met or when we had a request. Thank you so much Nelly. Her replacement staff were also very receptive to any and all requests. It was very enjoyable to drop in and have a glass of champagne whenever the urge hit. The Club Royal Restaurant again was a highlight. It was nice to see old friends still providing service there and it was also pleasant to see the new and I think improved dinner and lunch menu. If you haven't tried the Mayan Coffee you're mssing out; it was spectacular. We enjoyed the occasional a la carte breakfast pondering the day over hot coffee, orange juice and sweet cakes.

The Occidental Grand worked very hard to ensure we had a wonderful Christmas and New Year's experience. Santa arrived via a Para Sail and hung around for pictures. There were many ballons and lots of neat things for the kids. The set-up for both evenings took an enormous amount of work. Next morning when we strolled past the square amazingly it was all cleaned up.

I could go on and on but I would likely only mirror my last year's review. In the opinion of our group the Occidental Grand is a safe, exceptionally clean and beautiful resort which prides itself on customer service. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor which seemed a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Royal Club, Occidental Grand Cozumel, December 1 to 8, 2012

This was our 4th consecutive year my Wife and I have chosen the Occidental Grand Cozumel to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary.

We stayed for 2 weeks last year and submitted a lengthy review on our extremely enjoyable stay and our experience this year proved that it just keeps getting better.
We have travelled extensively to Cuba, Dominican Republic and Mexico and this is the only resort that we have continued to return to. In fact, our Son and his Fiancée made their first trip to this resort with us last year and liked it so much they joined us again this year, announcing their plan to get married at the OC Grand.

Their special day was made perfect in a big part due to the planning and attention to detail by the Ricardo Torres, Special Events Coordinator. I expect they’ll be submitting their own review so I’ll leave any further wedding details to them but, suffice it to say that it was a beautiful event that was thoroughly enjoyed by all.

As mentioned above, I reviewed this resort last year so I won’t repeat all the details but I will say that all the positive comments outlined in that report still stand. If anything, everything has gotten even better than previous years.

While this resort offers us everything we would want in regards to rooms, restaurants and facilities, it is actually the staff that makes this place special for us. Everyone in the entire resort goes above and beyond to make you comfortable but, for us, that extra special touch comes from staying at the Royal Club.

With the wedding, we were a larger group than we normally travel with and we all stayed in the Royal Club but that certainly did not diminish the special attention, extra effort and friendly smiles provided by everyone there.

First and foremost………Nelly Bass. The Graceful and seemingly ever-present “face” of the Royal Club. She never fails to impress us with her hard-work and attention to our every request, often offering us something before we’d even ask! She is truly a gem and honestly one of the reasons the Royal Club is so impressive to us and why we continue to return without hesitation.

The entire staff at La Carreta (Royal Club Restaurant) are simply outstanding. The Room Service, the morning cappuccinos, the outstanding meals, the drink service by the hot-tub or the spectacular Spanish Coffee in the evening, they are always there with a smile. At the risk of mistaking a name or missing someone, a very special gracias to; Tomas, Mayorico and Adrian. (My apologies if I’ve missed anyone).

As in previous years, we used the services of Palancar Dive shop and, as usual, they were very good. The majority of our group were not certified divers so took advantage of the Scuba “lessons” in the pool and subsequent shore-dive. Their instructor was Alfonso Aranda who was instrumental in getting my wife into the sport last year and, once again, his calm and patient approach allowed a number of our group to experience their first dive in what many consider to be one of the best dive destinations in the world.

Also, for the third year, we were fortunate to have the same driver/taxi for what has now become our annual island tour including the east-side, shopping in town and anything else we wanted to do or see. His service is outstanding, his prices are reasonable and he is very personable and professional. We would highly recommend to anyone so, if you are interested in his contact information, please PM me.

To summarize; we couldn’t be more pleased with our vacation and certainly will not hesitate to recommend this very special resort.
The charm and character of the Occidental Grand Cozumel and the dedication of Nelly Bass and her staff at the Royal Club is what keeps us return year after year.

Muchas gracias and Hasta la vista

Room Tip: Royal Club is worth the upgrad
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel at midnight, which was a shame as the royal club reception was closed, so no welcome champagne for us. We were given a map and directions and set off in the pitch black to find our room - a challenge when jet lagged!

Our room was 2016 - on the ground floor. Big tip - do NOT get a ground floor room. It was huge, but smelt very badly of damp and even the bed clothes smelt of it. The next morning no light got into the room as outside faced straight onto trees/rainforesty shrubs. However, we asked to change rooms and there was no fuss and we were moved to a first floor room the next afternoon - and it was light, bright and lovely. It was an effort getting access to the nrpew room, but we were sent a bottle of champagne as way of apology which was a nice touch.

The royal club is lovely - two of the accommodation blocks are walled off and have their own pool (with jacuzzi) and restaurant - which was a big factor in our decision to upgrade as we had been concerned about comments on the quality of the food in the other restaurants. No problem we thought, we'll just eat in the royal club restaurant every night - but we soon found out that the menu in there never changes - not ideal when you are staying for 2 weeks and there are only 2-3 menus choices! Really think this should be more clearly explained or, preferably, the menus change every week for more variety.

Because of this we ate in all the restaurants - le olivio was very disappointing, very little atmosphere and poor service, but la sonata (the steak house) was very good, but popular, so you had to book early. The main buffet varied wildly for dinner - food was best on Mexican and BBQ nights - other nights, not so good. Same applies to lunch - simple food, but we could always find something to eat - and the desserts were great.

The beach is a short walk over a wooden bridge across a marsh/mangrove swamp that had masses of terrapins (and a small alligator!), but the sides of the bridge were nearly all taped off with 'danger' on them...

Special mention should go to Adrian at the royal club restaurant - always attentive and really friendly. If you eat there you must order the Mayan coffee - an amazing show!

One last negative - the safe in our room broke 3 times in a week, always when we were on our way out and we had to hang around to let the maintenance man in. Got done - but 3 times??

If you are a scuba diver - we were not Impressed with Dive Palancar - the set up at the hotel. Yes, they are cheap, but the equipment is in poor condition, we were not asked about our experience and got zero briefing - they seemed to just want to get as many people on and out of the boat asap - more like a water taxi. Probably fine for really experienced divers, bit not for us. Pro divers at the neighbouring complex were great and had good, European instructors who filled us with confidence and really looked after us - worth the extra money.

Nelly our concierge was great and always sorted out our restaurant bookings and other requests promptly.

Another downside that you shoulfpd be awa

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel

Address: Kilometro 17.5, Carretera Sur Cozumel, El Cedral | San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Club At Occidental Grand Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Royal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.