We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second year for my company management team” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel

Save Saved
You added Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilometro 17.5, Carretera Sur Cozumel, El Cedral | San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 58 hotels in Cozumel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Second year for my company management team”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I visit here regularly with friends or our kids. This month, we brought out company management team back again. Everyone had a fabulous time. The service is awesome. The resort is amazingly beautiful. Fishing boat picked up us at the resort dock for a day of great fishing and unforgettable snorkeling. We will be back again next year with team.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. I actually love the highest level, 3rd floor, because you can see all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    51
    13
    10
    10
See reviews for
45
122
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, CT
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We visited the Occidental Grand late May Early June for 9 days. We’ve been to the Grand a number of times. It is located on the southwest portion of the island.

The Royal Club is a two building gated enclave that separates itself from the rest of the Occidental Grand Resort. As a guest of the Royal Club it has additional benefits and most definitely a feel of personal service.

The Royal Club guests are taken by golf cart from the front entrance of the resort to their own concierge check-in. The check-in is very quick and easy. Your luggage is brought to your room by a staff member.

The Royal Club has its own exclusive restaurant. The wait staff seems to be hand picked and provides exceptional service. The food is prepared and presented in a way that increases the dining experience. They open for Breakfast and lunch (no reservations required). Diner reservations are made at the same office that you check in. They also make diner reservations, for you, at the other a la carte restaurants.

La Carreta (the Royal Club restaurant) serves dinner in five courses. soup, salad, appetizer, main course and dessert. They have a fine selection of entries such as rack of lamb, NY strip, tenderloin, grouper, chicken and vegetarian meals. The house wines and liquors are an up grade as well. Table side flaming desert coffee drinks are available upon request. They are a beautiful end of the meal presentation. No charge, but we tip extra for the effort.

The other a la carte restaurants at the Occidental Grand are Los Olivios with a Mediterranean theme and Sonora Grill with a Southwest theme. Both have nice menus and good service. All Inclusive resorts all have some process for making restaurant reservations. Some are more cumbersome than others. The Royal Club guests simply stop by the office. It’s a couple of minutes and you’re done. Buffets are always available if you prefer more casual dining. All meals are well stocked with a variety of meal choices. Each night has a different theme such as Italian, Asian. Mexican… The resort also has a late night pizza restaurant.

They keep the in room refrigerator stocked daily with soda, beer and bottled water. At the Royal Club every evening they provide turn down service. They arrange the comforter, fluff the pillows and generally leave a treat with the next day’s itinerary.

The Royal Club also has a small private pool. Each of the two buildings has a computer for the guests use at no charge. The Royal Club office is staffed from about 8:00am until about 10:00pm. Mostly we found the Royal Club manager (Nelly Baas) in the office. Nelly is one of the reasons the Royal Club is a definite upgrade. She could be a concierge in a New York City Hotel without the NY attitude. She is calm, confident and most of all sincerely friendly.

The reason we started going to this resort is the diving. The on-site operation (Dive Palancar) is a well run full service dive shop. They schedule 4 dives a day. Also, several times a week they have night dives. Because of the location of the resort it is a short boat trip to the many spectacular dive sites.

I recommend the Occidental Grand and The Royal Club. I’m already booked for my next trip there!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I traveled to the Occidental Grand in April. As per usual, we had a wonderful stay! The food, accommodations, staff and facility were perfect! Planning on going back in 2013 for our 5th stay. Can't say enough about this place!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

What a fantastic place this is!!!!...cant really fault it in any way.....the rooms (although no sea views) are kept spotlessly clean, good beds so a good nights sleep after a hard day around the two pools of which one is the "quiet pool" where you can just relax and soak up the rays.....the food in the restaurants was always good and plentiful with good friendly service which also applies to the bar staff who always greet you with a beaming smile....the grounds are immaculate with flowers and shrubs everywhere....look out for the resident iguanas
The hotel is modelled on traditional Mexican style with bright colours and is a refreshing change from the standard issue large hotels that have no smiles
It is mainly divers who come here for the wonderful reefs...although we dont dive we did go snorkelling on the reefs and saw some amazing underwater life including dolphins and turtles
It is also well worth the trip into San Miguel, the capital town $20 by cab
The only downside of our stay here was the beach....not exactly like the photos but other than that a fantastic hotel, friendly people and the sunsets are unmissable....GO THERE

Room Tip: No sea view rooms available....didnt hear any complaints from anyone about their rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Nancy and David went BACK to Cozumel, Mexico in July 2012. We stayed at the Occidental Grand again. This is our second stay at Occidental Grand and we have already confirmed a third stay in September.

This trip we did not take as many pictures for a couple of reasons. 1. We'd seen the resort before and it looked just as marvelous as it did in April 2012. 2. David got an ear infection on the 4th day there and therefore could not dive for the rest of the week. (He's all better now) The on-call doctor Jorge A. Cardenas was fantastic. While the resorts med-tech had poor english skills he was able to put me in touch with the doctor. The doctor had GREAT english skill, a great bedside manner and quickly responded to the resort to see me.

Many of the dive shop personnel, restaurant personnel and other resort personnel remembered us from April. Even the resort's head chef remembered us. That was a nice touch. It was like coming home again!

The Occidental Grand Resort (without our knowledge) upgraded us to the Royal Club. The Royal Club has many very nice amenities that the deluxe rooms do not have. Such as a private pool just for Royal Club guest, a private restaurant just for Royal Club guest and free Wi-Fi for each guest. There are several little things which make the Royal Club unique and well worth the stay.

THANK YOU OCCIDENTAL GRAND FOR THE UPGRADE!!

The resort is an AI (all inclusive) meaning everything, except diving, is included. The food, the room, the entertainment and all the alcoholic drinks are all included. The resort is huge and absolutely beautiful!

The diving was as good as it always was. The current was a little faster than normal but, nothing that we couldn't handle. We dove with a great outfit called DIVE PALANCAR. They are extremely professional and a great dive operation to dive with. Dive Palancar has 4 planned dives per day. A deep dive at 9 am, a shallow dive at 10:30 am, a deep dive at 2 pm and a shallow dive at 3:30 pm. Each dive lasts between 45 minutes to an hour. We like the shallow dives so we did most of our dives at the 10:30 am and the 3:30 pm times.


For more pictures view our trip report here:
http://www.rhodesaz.com/Cozumel%20July%202012/July%202012.htm

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

It is a quiet home away from home now. My husband and I are divers and we are returning for our sixth time next week. We have taken our teens who dive and had a junior suite, and Nelly Baas always makes sure we are well taken care of. Food and rooms are great, service from Tomas and Arturo is excellent and personal. Diving is top notch and staff thereare knowledgeable and take good care of our gear, which is not true in many parts of the caribbean. Teens did get bored after a week, so we prefer to go as a couple... they like larger resorts with more action, but the pace is perfect for us. Good cocktails after a day of diving and the water is warm campared to Ontario lakes! :)

Room Tip: all the rooms are back from the beach - there are no "ocean views" so it doesn't reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I just returned from my 6th stay at the Occidental Grand Cozumel Royal Club (July 6-13). And as always, it's such an awesome experience. Prior to booking our trip, we were in constant contact with Mgr. Marcela Gomez who took great care in making sure all of our accomodations would be met upon arrival and of course, they were! Nelly Baas, the Mgr at Royal Club, is an absolute pleasure and always helpful and friendly. We always stay in Royal Club because we love the few extra perks that come with it...the La Carreta Restaurant, personal consierge, great rooms closest to beach. Our favorite thing in Royal Club is the jaccuzi pool, but we were slightly disappointed this time because it was never working properly the 8 days we were there. :( We love spending the whole day at the beach and then getting in the jaccuzi pool before retiring for the day, but this time, it just wasn't working properly. It was never warm or bubbling. Hopefully they will have it working properly before our next visit! That's a big deal for us!
Food is pretty good, mostly what you'd expect in an all-inclusive resort. However, the specialty restaurants are really good. We tried Los Olivos and it was super good! The Beach Club restaurant has great lunch everyday! We love the Beach Club restaurant and staff! We were so happy to see Crystal, Arturo, Antonio, Jorge and all our friends there! They are becoming like our family!
The beaches are breath-taking and beautiful! But this year, I enjoyed it more than ever because of Sergio Juarez (mi novio)! He took extra great care of us, not only on the beach but at the disco as well! I fell in love with him and I'm coming back to marry him!! :) <<<===== (seriously)!
We are definitely looking forward to our next vacation at Occidental Grand! See you next July, if not before!

Room Tip: Royal Club is the way to go! Great rooms and are closest distance to the beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel

Address: Kilometro 17.5, Carretera Sur Cozumel, El Cedral | San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Club At Occidental Grand Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Royal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.