We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Uvas

Playa Uvas
Carretera costera sur Km. 8.5 s/n Carretera a Chankanaab, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
52+011-987-120-1420
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$64*
and up
Playa Uvas Private Beach Pass
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our shore snorkel, resort & certified diving and catamaran snorkel trip are some of the examples of experiences you can live while you are visiting us. Or if you feel like relaxing, enjoy a massage in our lounge area by the pool, where under palm trees you will feel the breeze of the Caribbean Ocean. If you feel like shopping you can browse in our store of typical Mexican crafts.Our specialties restaurant and our bar will complement and excellent day of sun, sea and sand. But above all, let us transmit the pride of serving you in our beach, located in a privileged area of Cozumel, by the marine park of Chankanaab.
Blue Springs, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We've been to this beach on an excursion so the third time to Cozumel, we just reserved our spots with the beach instead of paying a huge amount on an excursion through Carnival. I reserved online and paid the $8.00 per person when arriving. They give you $8.00 per person in drink tickets that you can use at the bar if you'd like. This "fee" also includes a snorkeling tour which was tons of fun. We also bought lunch which was wonderful! $10.00 to and from the resort for taxis but it was so much cheaper than paying for an excursion! We had such a good time!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UvasVago, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Uvas, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thanks very much for your review we are glad that you had a great day at our beach club and that everyone took such good care of you. Thanks again and we hope to see you again sometime!
Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    52
    24
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buford, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Service and Snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband was a little Leary about going to a beach club. We usually go snorkeling by ourselves close to the port. Well he has yet to stop raving about how great Uvas was!! Upon arrival at Uvas we were greeted by Carmen who was very nice and professional. She explained to us the pkgs. they had and what was included. We were then shown where lockers and snorkel gear were located. We got some chairs and an umbrella right on the beach and wanted to get in the Beautiful water to snorkel. We had also reserved a time to have a guide take us out. Best thing we could have done! He showed us fish in the water we would of never seen on our own. The bartender was Awesome also. Everyone was great!! A+ we will be back!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UvasVago, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Uvas, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thanks very much for your review we are glad that you had such a great time with us at the beach club and that everyone took such good care of you during your time with us. We hope that you will visit us again on your next trip. Thanks again and Saludos;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Seas were rough, but a great place to spend the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

On the day we were there the seas were very rough, but that was because of an unusual wind flow . The employees there were very attentive and even offered to help us out beyond the rocks. There was snorkel gear available, showers, food, shade, a pool and lounge chairs. We loved the food and drinks and the employees made our stay delightful. I would totally go again!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UvasVago, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Uvas, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thanks veyr much for your review we are glad that you enjoyed your day with us at Uvas and that the staff made your stay a great one. We do hope to see you again sometime. Thanks again! Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to gets away from the hustle and bustle of the city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This place is a comeplete gem!!!! You feel like this place is your own beach front property, and it is amazing! The people are so great and the food is beyond amazing. They go above and beyond to make sure that you are relaxed and having a great time. All inclusive is the way to go, and if you eat there get the nachos and a drink called a Bob Marley....you WILL NOT be dissappointed!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UvasVago, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Uvas, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks very much for your review! We are glad that you had such a great time at our beach club and enjoyed everything and that all of our great staff took such good care of you. We are more of an exclusive beach club and so not usually as crowded as some of the other beach clubs. Thanks again and we hope to see you again on your next visit to our island. Saludos;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I looked at the reviews of this place before we left for Mexico (we were staying on the mainland but wanted a day on cozumel) and it was also recommended by our Thomson rep. A small and fairly quiet spot it was absolutely ideal for my family (7 of us 4 adults and 3 teens). We all love snorkelling and this was one of the best places we have ever visited. Pristinely clear water and we had a marvellous tour with Raoul who found us plenty of fish,rays,spider crabs etc. You don't need water shoes as there are only a couple of rocks before you are off snorkelling. Our snorkel tour was free but we did tip as it was a fantastic experience.
We paid the $8 entry fee each which then gave us dollars back to spend at the bar. We also stayed for lunch which was delicious and american sized portions! They have everything you need here including taxis to take you back to port. We stayed most of the day and there were a few groups from various cruise ships but none of them were particularly large or stayed for long so it felt quite intimate! Thank you for a wonderful day which we will remember forever.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UvasVago, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Uvas, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thanks very much for your review! We are glad to hear about your experience and that everything went well for you and for your family. I will be sure to commend Raul on his excellent service. Glad to hear that the rocks were not an issue for you as they are for some people but thanks again and we hope to see you and your family again sometime. Saludos;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Uvas also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Playa Uvas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Uvas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.