We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Chen Rio

Playa Chen Rio
Costera Este Highway 3.5 miles north, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 87 attractions in Cozumel
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Livermore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Chen Rio is located right next to a beautiful cove where you can snorkel and swim. There are also rocks you can climb on to watch the waves come crashing in. We didn't eat here, but purchased a $3 beer which we enjoyed in the bar.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    15
    9
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, OR
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The East Coast of Cozumel has some of, if not the most, beautiful beaches I've seen in our travels. But you can't swim there, because the current is so strong.

But here you can!

Chen Rio is a protected bay on the East side. You can swim as long as you want, hang out all day with beers and nachos in the sand like many of us did.

Do: rent a Jeep. Enjoy a beautiful afternoon here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Was not blown away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I liked it, but was not really blown away. If I went back, I would park on the far right (south) side. The beaches are nicest there, and no one will hassle you to buy trinkets. You can walk to either cantina for beers or food. We ate at El Pescador, and it was very nice. It is on the north side. Jesus was very nice, and speaks excellent English. The beach is not as nice on that side, though. The other cantina looks nice as well, we just didn't have time to visit it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury-on-Thames, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“amazing conch salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

brilliant beach and excellent food at the restaurant there.
good service and great beach for snorkelling

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach and tide pools”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Chen Rio is on the "other" side of the island. There are tide pools which makes it easier for families with smaller children. This is the most crowded spot on the other side of the island but still really fun. We did not purchase any food while we were there so I cannot tell you how that is. We had rented a car for the week so this made it easier for us as we went to the other side almost daily. Definitely a cool place to stay for the day or even an hour. There are rocks but also a lot of sand. We enjoyed just pulling over on the beach road and watching the surfers and boogie boarding. When we got tired we would go to Chen Rio and just sit in the tide pool and relax. Don't miss spot!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Chen Rio also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Playa Chen Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Chen Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Playa Chen Rio to your Saves list