We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Accidental Gem...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Miguel Church (Iglesia de San Miguel)

San Miguel Church (Iglesia de San Miguel)
Avenida Benito Juarez #180 | San Miguel de Cozumel between Ave 5 &10th, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 148 things to do in Cozumel
Attraction details
Rhodelia, Kentucky
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“An Accidental Gem...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

While looking for a specific restaurant, visiting Cozumel for the day..I accidentally found this perfect little church, and was drawn inside. Had to stop for a moment to take in the quaint beauty. So peaceful. Didn't take pictures, it just didn't seem right at the moment. But it was enough for me and my own memory. Historical..a must see.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“If you enjoy historical churches, is a nice place to stop. Pretty church with a serene feeling and some nice architecture.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled on this church while looking for a bite to eat and some wifi. I love Old churches and stopped in to see this one. The architecture is very nice and the feeling is so calm inside. There are some very nice statues and plaques to see and read, and it never hurts to put in a small donation and pray for a safe trip! Overall, a nice break, a nice place to quietly sit and enjoy the surroundings, and close to cafes and things. Taxis are also parked next to here, so we hopped in one to get back to port. Price was very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were walking around the town and stumbled upon this church. I didn't go in as I thought it would be rude to take pictures. But it looked like it has a lot of history.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Typical Mexican Town Church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

If yu're in historic downtown Cozumel, you have to walk into this church. The statue of St Michael the Archangel (patron saint of the island) is on display. Supposedly it was brought over by the Spanish in 1512±

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
594 reviews 594 reviews
369 attraction reviews
Reviews in 239 cities Reviews in 239 cities
692 helpful votes 692 helpful votes
“Typical Mexican church”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The San Miguel Church is a typical Mexican church . We stopped by the church while visiting the village of Cozumel and at 2.H00 of the afternoon , there were 7 people praying ! It was quiet and very relaxing after the chaos of the Main street and the buzz of the markets.
The church itself is very nice and typical of the Mexican architecture .
It is worth a visit specially since it is close to the main plaza

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Miguel Church (Iglesia de San Miguel) also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to San Miguel Church (Iglesia de San Miguel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Miguel Church (Iglesia de San Miguel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.