We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great adventure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dune Buggy Tours

Dune Buggy Tours
Calle 7 Sur #49, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
305-767-2779
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #158 of 237 activities in Cozumel
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
atlanta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a great adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Actually, the tour company I used, cozumel-tours.com, package was much more than just dune buggies; it was snorkeling, dune buggies, tour of a light house a stop at a croc sactuary, and an agave farm (hope you get Joaquim the tour guide there - crazy man!) - and if we hadn't been running tight on time, a stop for lunch.

Our boat docked and we took a taxi to the Money Bar (you will want to take a taxi, it's too far to walk and I think they charged the two of us $8), which the tour is run out of. Our guide, Santiago, was super, very knowlegable and lots of fun, and I would highly recommend asking for him if at all possible.

As it was such a small group, my friend and I had our own dune buggy, We followed Santiago in the lead dune buggy up the undeveloped side of Cozumel. Just gorgeous - very rocky with crashing waves.

After our big adventure(s), we followed Santiago back to the dock, so we literally had dune buggy curb service.

My friend and I both agreed that this tour will be remembered as one of the days ever. I couldn't recommend this tour and Santiago more highly!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    11
    6
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dune buggies and history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This trip started with a long fast ride down the highway with several stops to see interesting sites. We saw some ruins along with wildlife, and stopped by a white sandy beach for snorkeling and a Mexican buffet. On the trip back we stopped by a lighthouse and was allowed to climb to the lookout at the top. Our guide was both informative about our sites as well as comical at times. Very good value!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozumel dune buggy tour with our friends May 18,2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

This was the best excursion ever. We had a fun filled day seeing the island which was beautiful and our tour guides was awesome they made sure not to lose anyone and were so helpful in every way. We seen so many beautiful places and we even got rained on during the ride but was so worth it. Would love to come do it all over again. Yous made the best of our cruise and I recommend anyone to go on this tour. It was the time of our life.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toms river
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“ATX-Rail Expedition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

booking, pickup, return all smooth. great time, 51 year old dad and two teenage children, 14 yr boy, 17 yr girl. other party didn't show up so we had VIP treatment, two buggies and a guide. you WILL get dust covered and likely mud soaked. not for the faint at heart. buy the bandana's. Jordan tour guide was aces. whole experience a must do if you have adventure in mind. note: it is a very rough and tumble experience, my helmet hit frame at least 6 times. Don't even think about it if you have any back or neck issues, otherwise, ENJOY.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
“Cozumel Volkswagen Convertible Whole Island Tour and Snorkeling with Omar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We booked this Cozumel Island Buggy Tour through Island Marketing Ltd. over a month before our cruise, because this had very limited availability. The 5 hour buggy tour was in VW convertibles with standard transmission (stick shift).

We disembarked our cruise ship and picked a free map of Cozumel at the tourist information booth inside Punta Langosta Cruise Terminal and Shopping Center. The meeting location for our tour was at the Diver's Memorial located right on the waterfront at Calle 2 Norte and Rafael Melgar. From the Punta Langosta Port this is a 6 block walk. (approx. 20 minute walk) or a $8US taxi for up to 4 passengers. Since we were early, we chose to walk.
Met Omar (who spoke terrific English) at the Diver's Memorial and waited for the rest of our group. Not much shade so be sure to wear a hat. We then walked a few blocks to the business office and signed a contract (who was going to drive, & check their driver's license)
Omar took the lead VW which was loaded with a cooler that had local beers, sodas and bottled water and our lunch ingredients.
Our first stop was to snorkel on the calmer west side of the island just off the Dzul Ha reef. They had submerged clay pots, so the fish could find shelter and Omar had food in a plastic bag which attracted large schools of fish that completely surrounded our group. Unfortunately, I had forgotten to bring the underwater camera!
Our next stop was El Cedral which has a small ancient ruin, a small church and shopping for souveniers. On to a local Tequila factory where we watched a demonstration of how 11 year aged tequila was made & had some samples. The premium 3/4 liter of tequila was $85.
Next we caravaned to the west side of the island, where you can catch more waves. Not many tours in Cozumel get you to this side. They have colored flags to let you know if it is OK to go in the water. Green is safe, yellow & red means use caution and black means don't swim (strong waves and undertoe) The day we were there it was yellow, so we could go in. There were also lifeguards in a raised look-out, but I think they were paying more attention to playing cards.
Omar prepared lunch at an open-aired restaurant called El Diablo. He had Caribbean grilled chicken, tortillas & chips - plus Omar made fresh guacomole and salsa tableside. All was served with the beverages from his cooler. Most of our group had seconds! El Diablo's had a souvenier shop & also a Burma bull with a saddle. Not sure if it was a photo-op or if you got to ride it, but we did neither.

The snorkel gear, coral reef stop, unlimited drinks, Tequila tour, El Cedral stop, a wonderful local lunch and marvelous beach time -all for $74 adult and $48 for kids 4-12.

I shoud note that the VW's had no rear view mirror, nor passenger side view mirror or seatbelts! But, after a Tequila tasting and a few Sol's or Dos Equis - who cares!
This tour is a marvelous way to see most of what Cozumel has to offer! Thanks Omar for a great tour!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dune Buggy Tours also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Dune Buggy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dune Buggy Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dune Buggy Tours to your Saves list